We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining Room Experience”

Ooka Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 702 Restaurants in Riverside
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
San Bernardino, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dining Room Experience”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I don't eat Sushi, so we ate at in the dining room. We have had Teppan in the past. Oriental cook better than Hispanic cook. I had Tempura special and it was excellant- light and flavorfull, not greasy. My husband had Sushi/Shasami for 1-excellant choice- just enough food. Can hardly wait to go back again.
Dining room is quieter- teppan seems to be noiser with families with children.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great sushi, fun teppan!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Just had a lovely dinner and fun times with our adult kids, their significant others, and The Moms, as a mother's day dinner around the teppan table. The food was great, as always, and the service was excellent. Everybody enjoyed the show as well as their dinners - I love that I can order sushi and everybody else can have their teppan! I ordered a red sea roll as well as a lobster dynamite (sub the mango out and do asparagus, please). Everybody's teppan meal came with soup and salad in addition to their entrees, ranging from filet mignon to shrimp to chicken! Oh, and let's not forget your order of either steamed or fried rice as well as the noodles! Lots of great food - had to practically roll us out the door! If you prefer, you can also go directly to the fantastically fresh sushi bar, or regular Japanese dining areas. There's a full bar, of course, do you can totally relax here, have a great meal and a great time!!

Helpful?
Thank TKaz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Get ready to catch your food!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restaurant is similar to Beni Hana. The food is cooked right in front of your. The restaurant atmosphere is very upscale so if you want to impress someone this is the place to go.

The cooks make fried rice and scramble eggs into the rice. The cook will cut up small portions of the scrambled egg and use his spatula to flip a piece to everyone for them to catch it in their mouth. You can refuse, but why not give it a try.

All of the food items are very tasty!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Huskerlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sushi+”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great place for those who don't like Sushi- the options for those of us in that category were tremendous. My husband and friends shared a Sushi platter (recommended by the waitress) excellent! They didn't even have room for hand roll they were so full. Presentation was beautiful, service was ongoing, with empty dishes being removed on a regular basis.
Went for teppan in June, this was a little noisy, but to be expected. Looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Martinis and Sushi”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went there for late lunch with my husband and had the sushi/shashimi for two ($50), which comes with 21 sushi and 15 sashimi pieces, so plenty of food for us. Presentation was very nice and the taste was excellent. We also tried the organic cucumber martini and Georgia peach martini ($9 each). Both very good, but the cucumber martini is a definitive must have.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adrianausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ooka Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ooka Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing