We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This marriott needs a renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2007

I recently stayed at this hotel for a business trip. I typically like to stay at major hotel chains like Marriott, hyatt, hilton for the points, and for reliability. This Marriott was not up to typical standards. I have noted on my travels that lots of Courtyards are now starting to renovate. This one should be on the list.

The service was good, but the lobby and elevator had weird smells. I couldn't quite place it, but it wasn't a good smell. The elevator is hydraulic, which for anyone who knows, is slow. What makes it paticularlly slow is the hotel is 6 stories. The room was dated, but clean.

Now a couple of good features. The rooms had a mini fridge and mirowave, which I found to be nice. Also, the internet was not wireless, but it was one of the fastest internet speed I have had at a hotel, which is great for business trips.

Breakfast was fine with buffett, omelet bar, and ala cart. The price was normal for a Marriott. I had an omelet, potatoes, toast, OJ and coffee for $8.95.

Overall it was fine, but probably more expensive then the worth. A Clarion Inn or something like that is next door. I might check the features on that hotel before I would check this one,

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank spoons99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 201 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2007

Marriott Courtyard is a nice hotel, but definitely not worth the price. The price per night was high, so I was expecting a larger room, larger bathroom, and a free continental breakfast for the high price of $139/night, but I was quite disappointed. The room was quite small, and, despite the high (for the area) price, breakfast was not included unless we paid $10 extra per night. I would not recommend the hotel because of its high price, and there was nothing special about the experience. On the positive side, the room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Tracie

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank tilted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

I stayed at the Marriot on business.

It was a very nice and clean hotel. It was upscale. It had a restaurant, bar, and gift shop/cafe area.

The front staff was nice and had a refrigerator put in my room when I requested one.

I had dinner at the restaurant one night. I didn't think they had a big selection on the menu or a variety of foods. I also thought it was a little overproced, but the service was good.

I ordered room service for breakfast. It was the first time I had ever used room service. I left the card of what I wanted on my door knob and it was dleievered at the time I had circled. The room service attendant was very friendly and didn't push for extra tips. ( Gratuity is incldued but you can add more)

The room was modern and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms were also quiet.

There is a wnderful Historic Landmark in walking diatnce called the Mission Inn which is nice to walk around and have dinner. There are also restaurants and a mall about 10 minutes away if you drive.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lisaohh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

I decided on the Marriott Courtyard Riverside based on Tripadvisor review. My stay in the Courtyard was average. The hotel clerk was very friendly and allow us to check in early, at 10:00AM. The room was very average based on the price that we paid, we stayed in much nicer rooms for less. The bathroom door looked like it has seen better days, although the bathroom did appear clean and spotless.
Location was very convenient if you are visiting U.C. Riverside, about 5 minute drive. It was also close to downtown, about 5 minute drive. The Mission Inn was very pretty at night. Overall, an average stay.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank Love2travel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2006

Didn't know where to stay so I did research on the NET and chose the Courtyard by Marriott. We got there around noon and Rene gave us an early check-in. He was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel is located in a nicer, quiet part of Riverside. The Courtyard presents itself very well. Room 334 was very large, had a balcony, refrigerator, iron, microwave, the usual. The bed was awesome, very plush, not the typical hotel cheapie.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RandyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fremont, CA
953
Reviewed October 15, 2003

What a delightful hotel! Excellent, friendly staff who go out of their way to help you. Clean, quiet, spacious rooms. From our 5th floor room we had a lovely view of sunrise over the mountains. The cafe downstairs serves a very good breakfast buffet, although it's a little overpriced ($8.95 for a waffle). The location is very good, with restaurants and movie theaters close by. We would definitely stay here again.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
41304
Reviewed August 26, 2003

This is a relatively new hotel. Therefore, it was very clean and nicely decorated. It is centrally located between the university and downtown with plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. A great place to stay if you find yourself in Riverside for whatever reason. Parking is free.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riverside hotels
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
1.8 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
1.7 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area

Address: 1510 University Ave, Riverside, CA 92507-4468 (Formerly Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range: $104 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of modern amenities and sink into a relaxing guest room with a fresh, modern style when you visit the Courtyard by Marriott UCR / Moreno Valley Area. When you arrive, a front desk Navigator will be nearby to help you on your way as you discover the best things to do in Moreno Valley. Upon entering your recently renovated guest room you can kick back and relax in plush bedding and enjoy the modern décor that will help you feel right at home during your visit. At the hotel, you'll have access to luxurious amenities to elevate your stay. With a full on-site fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, and an on-site bar and restaurant (The Bistro) your every need will be handled with the utmost care by our dedicated and friendly staff. Using complimentary wireless internet, you'll be able to post and share your exciting adventures around Moreno Valley, allowing you stay connected with friends and loved ones during your stay. Check-in begins at 3 pm and check-out is at 12:00 p.m. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Riverside Hotel Riverside
Courtyard Riverside
Riverside Courtyard
Riverside Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing