We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Just so-so - this place needs an update” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Ynez, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just so-so - this place needs an update”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a one-night stay here recently, and while some things were good, others were not-so-good. First, the very comfortable Marriott king bed was present, which is always a plus. Our room was roomy and other guests were quiet, which was also good. I also very much appreciate free wifi in the room and a refrigerator for cold drinks - much needed in hot Riverside. The lobby appears to be recently renovated and looks good. The staff was also polite and attentive. However, there were a number of problems. When we arrived, there was an odd guy hanging out just outside the front entrance. We first thought he was talking on his cell phone on a Bluetooth and then realized quickly that he was just having an elaborate conversation with himself. He made an odd comment to me that I won't repeat, but sort of freaked me out. He was still there after we registered and went to move our car and again later when we left for dinner. The staff really should have had him move along. The back parking lot also did not feel particularly secure to me. The property is near UCR, and like most college towns, the people in the neighborhood are a mixed bag. A little more attention to obvious security for guests and their vehicles is warranted, especially when you're a stranger in town and don't know the lay of the land. Other issues were a very loud air conditioning unit in our room - tough when you are in a hot climate and you need to have it on at night, a very cramped vanity arrangement in the bathroom, a cracked bathtub, and a room that clearly needed a remodel. We were hoping to go sit out by the pool for awhile, but the pool area was tiny and had a ton of kids in it. If the pool area was larger, that wouldn't have been a problem (I get that parents need to take the kids to the pool on a hot day to have some fun and blow off steam) but there is no place for other guests to sit outside and relax. The worst problem by far was the fitness room. The elliptical was out of order and one of the two treadmills was making a loud thumping noise that sounded like the belt was coming loose and I decided it was not safe to use. As a result, there was a line for the one working treadmill (the only other equipment was a recumbent bike that I finally used rather than wait) and a few weights. None of the TVs in the fitness room worked - either on the machines or on the wall. The room was hot and stuffy with no way to adjust the temperature and worst of all, they were out of sanitizing wipes to wipe down the equipment. Basically the condition of the fitness room was completely unacceptable.

We chose this place because it was relatively inexpensive and close to UCR, which we needed. I was expecting Marriott Courtyard standards, which this place does not meet. If I had to go back, I'd definitely go elsewhere, even if it meant being farther away from my destination.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pale_Rider27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I truly regret that you did not have a great experience due to your concerns regarding the property and its security. We do have security that patrols the property at night and staff that walks the property during the day. The hotel is also being renovated floor by floor so the whole property is getting a makeover. I would be more than happy to discuss these issues with you if you would like. Please fill free to contact me via email or you can contact the hotel and ask for the General Manager Thomas Long. Our goal is to provide our guest with the best guest experience possible to all of our guests. We know that you have many choices for hotel accommodations when staying in the Riverside area and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your accommodations.
I look forward to speaking with you and wish you a terrific Thursdays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    57
    34
    4
    10
See reviews for
41
23
21
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gardena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Angela was able to handle everything professionally & full of charisma all by herself! Angela took the customer's order, handled the cash register, bartended, chef'd up all the food, & waited tables while serving all the customers! Very well organized, great multi-tasking skills & excellent attention to detail! Angela has the characteristics of great leadership! Her passion & determination will bring her much success & make her a true asset to many. I can keep going on about her qualities.. Need I say more?

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr2spike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are truly grateful to have hotel team members like Angela that enjoy being of service to our hotel guests and make you feel comfortable while staying with us. We know that you have many choices for hotel accommodations when staying in the Riverside area and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your accommodations.
We look forward to your return visit with us and wish you a marvelous Monday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I am a business traveler and Marriott Gold status.
Simply put this place is a dump.
The lobby is up to date, but the rooms are stuffy, musty, old, and dirty.
The mattresses are worn and dirty too!

I have stayed twice here, and will not return.
If Marriott continues to allow these dumps to operate I will switch to Hilton!
Gym is a joke too, tiny with broken obsolete cardio equipment.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank El Cien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I truly regret that your stay experience was affected because your felt the guestroom amenities were out of date. While we strive to keep our hotel and rooms in the best condition possible I understand that you felt it looked out of date. With that said, I have some fantastic news for you. Our rooms will be renovated this year. We plan to start floor renovation next month. As you might have notice our lobby area has already been renovated and our rooms are up next. I know that you will be pleased with the finished product. Our goal is to provide our guest with the best guest experience possible to all of our guests. I believe your feedback will help us reach that goal. Please fill free to contact me via email or you can contact the hotel and ask for the General Manager Thomas Long if you would like to discuss this matter further. We know that you have many choices for hotel accommodations when staying in the Riverside area and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your accommodations.
I look forward to speaking with you and wish you a marvelous Monday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

With all due respect, I don't understand the breakfast service incompetence. I understand it was busy, though how do you keep making mistakes & not giving customers the correct order? This happend both mornings, not just to me personally, also to at least three other customer. The first morning I watched other customers get a wrong order. It was taken away, returned a while later, still not corrected with the same & mistakes. This morning, it took 20 minutes to make a morning scramble. I ordered egg whites, fruit, no potatoes & no toast. I was brought the wrong order. It took another 10 minutes to bring me the same plate with the same scrambled eggs, same potatoes, with toast removed & a small ramkin of fruit. It was set down & the server walked away as I was trying to tell her the order was still incorrect. Nearly 40 minutes & my order could not be made properly. There were other customers who ordered before me, who were still waiting for their order 45 minutes later. I have worked in the food & hospitality industry, both as a server & chef. This is piss poor planning. I don't normally take the time to write reviews, though this was deemed necessary. There needs to be better management & training. On a side note, even when busy during the evening, Angela manages to handle the Bistro quite well all by herself. I will take time to write her a positive review.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr2spike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I truly regret that you did not have a great Bistro experience. I would be more than happy to discuss Bistro experience with you if you would like. Please fill free to contact the hotel and ask for the General Manager Thomas Long. Our goal is to provide our guest with the best guest experience possible to all of our guests. We know that you have many choices for hotel accommodations when staying in the Riverside area and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your accommodations.
I look forward to speaking with you and wish you a relaxing Wednesday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Easy check in, everything was ready when we arrived. Room was very clean. Included a frig & microwave. Lots of places for all kinds if food. Recommend Hero restaurant & brewery. Large food portions & good beer. Also went to Dukes which is a little dive bar but friendly. The bartender made us feel comfortable. Talked to us like we were regulars.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank njules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear njules,
We are so glad you had the chance to experience some of the local restaurants. Riverside is a very friendly place and we all take pride in that. I will pass on your comments to our team here and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Az
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very close to UCR, very convenient to freeway access. Staff was very accommodating, very quick check-in and check-out, clean rooms, modern lobby and amenities. The area is a little rough looking, but I didn't feel unsafe at anytime.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you Michael G. for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are very happy our location close to UCR worked out for you. We hope to see you back here very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was the second time we had stayed at this hotel. As others have said, the desk staff were very helpful and friendly. However, we did have an issue whereby our room wasn't cleaned one day and was very late another day. The room was comfortable and we had a nice view. The bed was great. It is very odd having the bathroom basin outside of the bathroom area and basically in a cubicle within the main room. We did have an issue with the bistro, however. They had nothing on the cooked menu that was vegetarian for breakfast. The first day they did a horrid rubbery patty with some other things. The next day my husband asked if they could do anything else and they offered to do him a vege omelette. He had this for two days. On the third day, they said it was a safety issue and made up all kind of excuses as to why they couldn't do it but ultimately agreed. On the next day, the girl from the bistro was at the desk when we came out of the lift. She literally ran into the bistro and out the back. We were then confronted by the bistro manager who point blank refused to do an omelette. She was completely obnoxious about it. In the end she agreed to do scrambled egg with all the vege omelette fillings on the side - basically an omelette with the fillings separate. She was not at all pleasant about it. After that, we just gave up bothering and had other things. But it was not nice which was a shame because this person's rudeness overshadowed the niceness of others. We probably won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south have better views than those facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Christine D,
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experiences here. We are very sorry for the confusion regarding the menu and the difficulties in getting a vegetarian meal for your husband. We have addressed the issues you encountered with the team for we do pride ourselves on great service throughout the hotel.
We do hope you will come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riverside hotels
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
1.7 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area

Property: Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
Address: 1510 University Avenue, Riverside, CA 92507 (Formerly Courtyard Riverside Downtown/UCR Area)
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of modern amenities and sink into a relaxing guest room with a fresh, modern style when you visit the Courtyard by Marriott UCR / Moreno Valley Area. When you arrive, a front desk Navigator will be nearby to help you on your way as you discover the best things to do in Moreno Valley. Upon entering your recently renovated guest room you can kick back and relax in plush bedding and enjoy the modern décor that will help you feel right at home during your visit. At the hotel, you'll have access to luxurious amenities to elevate your stay. With a full on-site fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, and an on-site bar and restaurant (The Bistro) your every need will be handled with the utmost care by our dedicated and friendly staff. Using complimentary wireless internet, you'll be able to post and share your exciting adventures around Moreno Valley, allowing you stay connected with friends and loved ones during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Riverside Hotel Riverside
Courtyard Riverside
Riverside Courtyard
Riverside Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing