We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Marriott I've ever been to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worst Marriott I've ever been to”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Checked in after midnight for a 1 night stay. We got to the room and pretty much passed out right away. Housekeeping was banging on the door at 8am and again at 8:15 trying to turnover the room so we got up and out of there quickly. Barely spent 8 hours there before we had to leave.

If it's the day of checkout, housekeeping isn't supposed to come by until you've left. I tried to talk to the staff about it and they said they would have the manager call me but didn't. I even called back because in the rush i left a personal belonging behind. Still haven't called me back and I guess I won't see it again.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harriswes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback, we have addressed our team regarding this issue and we do apologize for the frustration you encountered. I know we have reached out to you in regards to this and to also make sure we can get your items back to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    64
    39
    6
    10
See reviews for
42
25
22
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Local vagrants were allowed to loiter around the pool. One loud, angry and disturbed individual repeatedly entered the hotel lobby and then slashed the tires of our car parked in the hotel's lot, right next to the building. This was not a family-friendly environment. I would not count on this hotel to lift a finger to safeguard your car. Unfortunately, we did not receive even a basic level of courtesy or customer service from the GM. He has been completely AWOL and non-responsive. He ignored us while we were guests raising concerns. He never responded to letters outlining concerns; and he failed to call despite the commitment by Marriott's Customer Service that he would do so. The young staff were friendly, but Marriott should be ashamed of the management of this property.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TGW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
It is very unfortunate that your travels and stay were disrupted by a random act by someone not affiliated with the hotel. Please feel free to contact me here at the hotel to discuss further. We do take our security very seriously and we do our best to insure everyone has a pleasant and relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I'm not sure why the floors are soo hot and the elevator is like a sauna. I'm not sure if they noticed but they are located probably under sea level with mountains around them, which means no breeze. I've entered my room and it was like walking into a sauna. I was worried there was no AC or if the AC was already turned on, but it was a bad impression that none of the rooms had AC on at room temperature prior to guest arrival. The room was okay, but once out of the room, I sweat all the way to the elevator and then even more in the elevator. The only good thing at this place was the complimentary breakfast. Again, it's okay, if you find a better place go for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We do apologize for the heat in the hallways during your stay. The hotel had various renovation projects going including the elevator vents, which allowed the 106 degree heat to filter into the hotel and the floors. During this heat wave we did start turning on the AC units in rooms, and again we are sorry your room was warm during when you checked in.
We hope to see you again, and we will try to keep it cooler this time for you! And we are 847 feet above sea level and we only get around 10 inches a year in rain, so it does stay warm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you're studying at UCR for a short period and you don't want to share your room, it's a great option. It's near the International students' campus. The pool is small, but enough to relax on a hot day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vmvivs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, and yes we love being so close to UCR. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had a reservation at another hotel, but when I arrived, I knew that I could not stay there for many reasons. Then I remembered I had passed a Courtyard. So I went back. The hotel is in the midst of a major lobby renovation, but the staff was friendly and the room was immaculate. I would have almost eaten off the floor.

The downside to this hotel was the breakfast offered. I have travelled a lot this summer and maybe I have grown used to good hotel breakfast offerings. Or maybe it had to do with the renovation, but this was not up to Marriott standards. The only hot thing offered was tasteless scrambled eggs. No salsa or even catsup to add any flavor. I looked for salt and pepper. One very small packet of each was packaged in with the plastic tableware. No microwave to heat up the breakfast pastries. I saw several people taste them and throw them away. A little heat helps that. Cold cereal....with fat-free milk? Not even a banana to put on the cereal. Apple or orange? Well, this is southern California. There were two people staffing the breakfast area and they were attentive. Just not up to what I expect from Marriott.

And I agree with the person who talked about the neighborhood. Near UCR, but sleazy!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
YES we are past the midway point of our renovation and we are very excited to be done and see our new lobby! We are very sorry that our breakfast set up for the renovation was not satisfactory for you. We did add ketchup and salsa to the limited buffet and I think you may have helped other travelers that followed you, so thank you very much for your comments.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had a family event to attend in Riverside and the Courtyard was the closet hotel. We stood one night and the overall quality was good for the price we paid. Free parking, pool closed at 11 pm and local pizza deliveries were available till 3 am. Only downside is theirs not much to do in Riverside, or at least near the hotel that I saw. But overall they had great customer service and the rooms were comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony view, waking up to the view of the mountains was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SassyCassie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We are very glad you enjoyed the view of Box Springs from one of our balcony rooms, the other side of the hotel has more views of Downtown and Mt. Rubidoux in the distance. Let us know next time you are coming to Riverside and we can help suggest some fun things to do as well as nightlife in the area. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

You can tell this hotel has a GM that really cares about customer service. ALL of the staff that I interacted with (Front desk, Housekeeping and Maintenance) we all very friendly and very helpful. We had a situation where we needed 2 rooms together as my wife's 88 year old grandmother needs extra help with getting around. We had booked our room several week before she did and so they were not a joining rooms. The hotel was completely booked (youth soccer tournament), but they worked it out for us and got us 2 rooms together!

I highly recommend this Marriott if you need to stay in Riverside, CA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRiverside, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We are so glad you had a great stay Larry G and we loved that we were able to accomodate your family needs. We look forward to seeing you again here at the Courtyard Riverside and thank you for the great review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riverside hotels
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
1.8 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
1.7 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
77 reviews
2.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
Address: 1510 University Ave, Riverside, CA 92507-4468 (Formerly Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of modern amenities and sink into a relaxing guest room with a fresh, modern style when you visit the Courtyard by Marriott UCR / Moreno Valley Area. When you arrive, a front desk Navigator will be nearby to help you on your way as you discover the best things to do in Moreno Valley. Upon entering your recently renovated guest room you can kick back and relax in plush bedding and enjoy the modern décor that will help you feel right at home during your visit. At the hotel, you'll have access to luxurious amenities to elevate your stay. With a full on-site fitness center, outdoor swimming pool, and an on-site bar and restaurant (The Bistro) your every need will be handled with the utmost care by our dedicated and friendly staff. Using complimentary wireless internet, you'll be able to post and share your exciting adventures around Moreno Valley, allowing you stay connected with friends and loved ones during your stay. Check-in begins at 3 pm and check-out is at 12:00 p.m. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Riverside Hotel Riverside
Courtyard Riverside
Riverside Courtyard
Riverside Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing