We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bet for Business in Riverside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good Bet for Business in Riverside”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Nicely renovated and your best bet if you have business in downtown Riverside. There is not much to choose from in this area. The hotel feels secure, safe, clean, and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    143
    60
    28
    11
See reviews for
80
54
26
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed two nights at the hotel on the concierge floor. Only comfortable seating for one person the other at the desk chair although other rooms had sofas. The bathroom amenities were the same for standard rooms and only one bathrobe for two people. Breakfast room service on Saturday was adequate although they forgot to bring two items ordered and had to telephone room service - but they were prompt. The lounge on the 12th floor was nice with two open rooms. There was no bottled water available on Friday morning and the lounge closes for the weekend Friday noon. The staff didn't know why there was no bottled water available. Coke, Diet Coke and Sierra Mise were the only beverages besides coffee and hot tea available. The breakfast offered in the lounge was good although average offerings. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Overall it was good value for the cost. Hope this helps with you next visit.

Room Tip: Choose floors 10-12
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victorville ca
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The hotel was nice. I like the lobby, the rooms were nice, and it is in a good location. However, the walls are so thin you can hear the conversations in the rooms next to you. You can hear every noise outside-including the train at night. Wow, that was annoying. I felt the staff was helpful and friendly. I would return, however, I would bring ear plugs next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannenavila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I stayed at the Marriott Riverside on Market Street on 4 separate occasions in 2011. Each of my visits was very pleasant, and due to how comfortable I felt every time I stayed is that I kept coming back.

Here are some of the major positive highlights:

- Staff is welcoming and helpful. There wasn’t a visit I had where the staff didn’t go out of their way to assist me with whatever I needed. From Directions, to suggestions of a great place to dine, to helping me with luggage…every person I came across was respectful and mindful of my presence at the hotel. The greeter in the lobby always addressed me by name and the wait staff at the restaurant was equally friendly. I don’t always see such a level of friendliness, so upon my last visit, I met briefly with the manager of the hotel to let him know how comfortable the staff made me feel.

- Hotel grounds are clean and attractive. Cleanliness is on the top of my “must-haves” for positive hotel experiences and the Marriott did not disappoint. There wasn’t a time when the cleanliness dipped below exceptional. I felt very much at home, very comfortable with my surroundings. The Lobby, the rooms and the restaurant were also well-maintained and there were no visible signs of neglect in any of these areas.

- Parking is ample. The hotel is situated literally next door to the Convention Center and I was a bit concerned that I would have a difficult time finding a place to park. However, the hotel has its own parking garage, which residents may access with a hotel room key. This is very safe and convenient. Regardless of how late at night you are planning on arriving, you can count on having enough space to park. My only caveat here is that the parking structure felt a bit cramp for larger SUV’s. If you plan on using a very large car, make sure you take your time to park.

- Surroundings are secure. The Marriott is not too far from some dicey areas of Riverside…such as at the courthouse area which at night draws quite the interesting cast! However, I felt very safe around the hotel. I even walked out a couple of blocks to dine in the trendy, pedestrian areas just south of the hotel.

- Easy access to major highways. The Marriott is just a few blocks from the 60, the 215, and the 91. This gave me great access to move in any direction I needed to. Market Street is also Magnolia Ave, which is a main thoroughfare which can take you into other neighboring towns as well as grant access to a variety of stores and eateries.

All in all, my experience with the Marriott was very pleasant. I would definitely recommend it. Tip: Ask for a West facing room so you can have a view of Mount Rubidoux Park rather than the convention center.

Room Tip: Ask for a West facing room so you can have a view of Mount Rubidoux Park rather than the convention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This is supposed to be a full service Marriott, but when you see the sign on the roof, only the M and OTT are lit up. That's pretty reflective of the experience overall.

The rooms are ok, and the beds fine, but make sure you don't stay on the second floor unless you want to listen to people using the fitness room at all hours. And the freight trains are really great from 4am.

The breakfast menu includes the standard buffet option, but they have no buffet. So then they had 3 manager and one waitress. It took 25 mintues to get food and my colleague needed to order the fast option just to get anything to eat.

Then the bar is in fact the restaurant, which closes at 10pm (and doesn't do lunch) and while you could order a beer through room service, you'd have to go your room, wait for it and then come back down to the lobby to drink it with your friends.

So while I'm a Marriott regular (and they really need to review that program) I will never be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We were kept awake for hours by a drunken brawl outside of our room. Despite three calls to the front desk where they promised security would be sent up immediately, security never appeared. There was yelling, scuffling, a guy assaulting a woman, people pounding on our door, and finally one guy sitting outside our door in his underwear, chanting. The front desk gave us free parking and free coffee, but said they couldn't compensate us for the room because it was a pre-paid room. It's probably not a bad property if nothing goes wrong, but in a hotel that size, the security should be able to handle a problem like that, the front desk people should not lie and say that security will be there (when they won't), and the supervisors should be better trained to deal with irate (and sleep deprived guests). Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel. I was there for a convention. The first morning I couldn't get a cup of coffee to go, the restaurant was to busy and they seemed to be short staffed. Then between meetings I called room service to get some lunch. I had an hour and a half, they said we are an hour behind because we are short staffed, is that Ok? Since was one of the host hotels for the convention I was a little update they weren't properly staffed. This happened all 3 days I stayed there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvilla2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
1.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center

Property: Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
Address: 3400 Market St, Riverside, CA 92501-2826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Riverside
#5 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover home on the California trail at the full service Marriott Riverside hotel located in the heart of historic downtown Riverside nestled in the Inland Empire. The hotel is located adjacent to the newly renovated Riverside Convention Center, and 15 miles from Ontario International Airport. The hotel features 292 luxurious accommodations including 25 spacious suites ideal for the business and leisure travelers. The hotel is within walking distance to the Fox Performing Arts Center, the historic Mission Inn, the Riverside Pedestrian Main Street Mall, and 2 miles from the University of California Riverside. The hotel is also a mile from the Riverside County Superior Courthouse, major corporations, and 10 miles from March Air Force Reserve Base. The hotel offers a business center, a dedicated Concierge lounge with breakfast & evening Hors d'oeuvres, and 14,000 sq. feet of meeting space with 2 ballrooms. The hotel is just minutes from Mt. Rubidoux and 30 minutes to the Temecula wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Marriott Hotel Riverside
Marriott Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing