We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Inexpensive Option in Downtown Riverside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Cruz Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Cruz Inn
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Cambridge, Minnesota
Level Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Option in Downtown Riverside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Considering the hotels directly across the street cost more than $120.00 additional per night, this older hotel is more than adequate to spend a night or two in downtown Riverside. It could be very charming with lots of old world flavor, yet the owners must not want to invest the time or money. The room had a microwave, small refrigerator, and a working air-conditioner. The sheets were clean and the room was fine. This hotel is located on a very busy street, so if downtown noise and such is a problem, this choice might be too noisy. The staff at check in was friendly and helpful, which made it a bit more pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puresynergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    9
    2
    10
See reviews for
5
5
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

No fitted sheets to cover the very stained mattresses. No bathroom mirror. Old, very noisy room air conditioner missing most of the grill parts. Gross bedspreads that looked like were purchased from a garage sale. Paint does not cover dirtiness. No coffee maker. They charged for the ice machine! Paper thin windows equals very noisy from street noise. No extras. They don't even include the basics. We needed a shower after leaving this hole in the wall.

Room Tip: Avoid staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohninPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I figured that if I got a motel room in Downtown Riverside,
what could go wrong?
My room was at the top of the stairs, furthest West, right
next to busy Market Street. I heard every car, bus, & Harley
that drove by. It was like I was out on the city bus bench.
I am not sure, but I think the walls are made out of rice paper
or nylon tent material. The windows are single pane. They
leave a balcony door open right next to my room. When I
went to close it, I found it chained open.
It gets better. The neighbors played LOUD music then started
a house fire. I had to endure smoke, sirens, fire trucks, & police
helicopters with spot lights.
If you like excitement in your life instead of sleep, then the Santa Cruz Inn is for U.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
122 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Booked this hotel to be able to attend the local airshow, however they cancelled the airshow at the last minute and this hotel had a no-show policy of a couple of days so was stuck having to go and stay there.

Really wanted to stay at the Mission Inn, but was way too expensive. So found this place close by so I could at least see the Mission Inn and see what all the fuss was about. This place was a couple of blocks away from the Mission Inn and close by to a the historic downtown. Lots of interesting places to see and all close to each other.

The hotel itself is really a large motel. They have daily room rentals on the building up front and monthly rentals in back. This looks like it might have been something special a long time ago, but appears to have added the parking on site, which takes away from what could be a hidden gem. The interiors are outdated and worn down. The floors and stairs creak and make noise. My room was on the second floor in the main building with the room being off the main corridor. It wound up being a corner room with high windows on the bed wall and a small balcony with double wooden balcony doors. The bathroom was a good size and appears to have been updated fairly recently. The room itself was a good size too as there was a full size and twin size bed. There was also a round table with a couple of chairs, a small fridge, and flat screen TV up on the wall. The sink was also in the bedroom, which is something you see more in European hotels or old historic hotels in the US. The beds were OK, nothing wonderful, but not disastrous.

There's really not much around, though I did go to the CVS across the street late at night to grab some milk and donuts to munch on. The parking lot is small and lucked out on getting the last spot just before checking in.

All in all for the price I knew what to expect and might stay here again if the price is same or lower and only needed to stay for a short while.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to avoid noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This a very cost effective place to stay. If you're looking for updated and contemporary, then this is not the place for you. It's outdated, but clean. The hotel is located on a major street and you definitely can hear traffic and sirens. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Very close to the Mission Inn and next to a pharmacy. Starbucks is next door. There are plenty of restaurants within driving/walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crazycruiser59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed here January 2011 and are making arrangements again for this January 2012. It was clean and comfortable. Some rooms are very small but the one we had was fine. Bathroom was good which is often a problem in economy motels. The grounds were cared for and staff was nice. Not everything was the greatest but for the place and money it was pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 101catpawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Staff was very friendly and accommodating.The room we were assigned was neat,clean and very charming.Santa Cruz Inn is a building of significant historical value which we simply loved!All in all we had a fantastic stay..will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
0.2 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
2.0 mi away
Dynasty Suites Hotel
Dynasty Suites Hotel
#11 of 24 in Riverside
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Cruz Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Cruz Inn

Property: Santa Cruz Inn
Address: 3425 Market St, Riverside, CA 92501-2825
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Cruz Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Santa Cruz Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Cruz Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing