We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Las Campanas

Las Campanas
Reserve with OpenTable
Las Campanas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 704 Restaurants in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mission Inn Avenue/Orange Street
Description: Authentic Mexican Cuisine served in a beautiful outdoor garden setting come taste the excitement of Las Campanas Mexican Cuisine & Cantina! Offering authentic Mexican cuisine creatively prepared using the freshest herbs and ingredients. Relax in our beautifully landscaped outdoor garden and enjoy our signature margaritas.
Crestline, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Of all the Mission Inn restaurants, this one has the slowest service, especially when eating in the President's Lounge. The trattoria and the Mission Inn Restaurant are much better choices for lunch.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CrestlineMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    120
    51
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
234 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Don't let the scenery fool you”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The Mexican restaurant Las Campanas at the Mission Inn has got to be one of the most substandard dining experiences (foodwise) that my wife and I have encountered in a long time. Unfortunately, we visited during the "Festival of Lights" and even though it is an amazing Christmas spectacle with 3.5 million lights, turns the place into zoo with more people than a crowded football stadium. We were lucky to have a reservation and got a choice table in spite of being what seemed like a crowded train station during rush hour. They advertise these Mission Perfect Margaritas and I tried one because it looked good on the menu. Only problem is that they make them with sweet n' sour mix, the best way to ruin a good margarita! Haven't they heard that a good margarita is made with real lime juice!? Oh, that's right, we're in Riverside, not Mexico. My wife had the Chile Verde roasted Pork ($17.25) and it was awful, my wife said it was the worst pork dish she'd had in years and ate only to be polite in front of our guests. I had the Chile Rellenos ($18.50) which looked good but were underdone, the cheese tasted like rubber and both us had bad heart burn for the rest of the night. Although our server was a very nice, attentive young lady, we'd never eat there again unless at gunpoint. Skip this place if you value your stomach and your wallet.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rohbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Awesome margaritas and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This place is outdoors and is in a great setting. You are surrounded by the sounds of birds, and the magnificent architecture of the Mission Inn itself. The food has always been great and the Margaritas are the best in the Inland EMpire. I have been here numerous times and highly suggest it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeremyRiverside_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laughlin, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself to a Unique Experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Living in SoCal, one can eat Mexican food every day, and we practically do. So, to treat ourselves to something different within this cuisine, we decided to try Las Campanas Restaurant located at the Mission Inn. It was a Sunday afternoon and we were quickly seated outside in a lovely patio setting. While downtown was busy with locals and tourists out to enjoy the day, the patio is situated so that you have privacy during your meal.

To begin, we ordered the Flautas "starter." It consisted of a sampler that had six chicken and filet mignon flautas. Seriously, this starter was just the beginning of good things to come. As an entree I ordered the Chile Relleno (without chicken), but as a self-described connoisseur of rellenos, they undoubtedly were the best I have experienced (remember..... I eat Mexican food all the time). It was large, filled with a four cheese blend and topped with a delicious red sauce (it could have used slightly more sauce).

The margaritas were super, the beer was cold and the tortilla chips and salsa were tasty. Las Campanas is a step up from your ordinary Mexican restaurant.

The service? It was completely adequate for a busy and beautiful Sunday afternoon. I'm happy that we never felt that they needed to turn over the table to other customers. Though some guests may wish to be attended to more often, we did not.

I am looking forward to our next visit on another special day. One more thing: Parking in downtown Riverside is not the easiest, so go ahead and splurge--use the valet. You deserve it, don't you?

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank libertychief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Calif.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, not so good service.”
Reviewed July 23, 2011

It's a good thing the atmosphere is so nice because the service is sooooo slow. The personnel just don't seem to care. The food is good and sitting outside is awesome. Hopefully they will get their act together so you can get a great total experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1socalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Las Campanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing