We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it All”

Anchos Southwest Grill & Bar
Ranked #2 of 703 Restaurants in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love it All”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

It's not true Mexican but you get frijoles y aroz with every plate. It's not Texan but you get portions for a cowboy. There are many good plates but the Steak Tacos Al Carbon are tried and true every time. Tender pieces of filet grilled with mex style and cover it with what you like. The fish specials every day are a bit pricey but always fresh and always cooked to perfection. My favorite sauce or cooking salsa is the cilantro lime butter! Lots of Tortilla CHips and Salsa to fill you up along with fresh hot tortillas in warm butter! no need for appetizers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostoncalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    108
    31
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perris, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Place for my 44th Birthday”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I chose Anchos for my birthday celebration because I view this restaurant as a celebratory spot. Years ago when I and my 2 girlfriends all bought our houses at the same time, we celebrated at Anchos.

Texas style spare ribs! Bacon-wrapped grilled shrimp!! Freshly made tortillas!!! Deliciously flavored strawberry margaritas!!!! This is the place.

Now usually, I am not a 'ribs' eater because most places don't have tender ones and I don't want to fight with my food.... but WOW! The ones at Anchos are "fallin-off-the-bone" tender! And the sauce that you dip them in...oh my goodness, it is heaven!!! While I was enjoying them, the waitress shared with us that you can get them for half off on Superbowl! (WHAT!?! :-) Order these and your Super Bowl parties will forever be packed!

Everything at Anchos is really super great! The staff is wonderful, helpful, and nice. The freshly made tortillas come to your table with butter that literally melts on top of them. Plus they are all-you-can-eat!!! So delicious, that you can actually make a meal off of just those.

We went during the day and were seated right away. But don't expect this on a weekend evening. There is usually a good wait; however it IS worth it!

Anchos is THE place for memorable celebrations!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kelliducloux1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jacinto, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Oh, man!!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The food was really good. The service was fantastic. Friends told us about this place. It did not disappoint. Fresh hot tortillas, sweet salsa and chips delivered on arrival. Everything was fresh. The ribs, which are not listed as a separate item on the menu, are cut with a fork tender and very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank m_chevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tortillas are made hot and FRESH!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Oh my gosh the tortillas come off the tortilla machine and straight to your table and they are HOT and FRESH !!! The enchilada were tasty and they made them with carnitas (not on the menu). Staff was on top of things and didn't have to try and track them down for anything.

Helpful?
Thank Socaldolfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great southwest cuisine”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is not Mexican food. It's southwest cuisine. Best Chile Rellenos, made with poblano chiles. Fresh tortillas. The queso flameado is different and delicious. A great place for family and friends to eat. Service is friendly and attentive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchos Southwest Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Anchos Southwest Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing