We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best ,,,Hands down restaurant around!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchos Southwest Grill & Bar

Anchos Southwest Grill & Bar
Ranked #2 of 698 Restaurants in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best ,,,Hands down restaurant around!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This has been a staple in my families diet for over 20 years. The food is amazing. The owners are always on hand and touring around visiting with customers. They make fresh tortillas on the spot, the salsa is roasted then pureed to DIE FOR..get anything steak.. tacos etc.. wonderful mean. I love the fresh seafood as well.. honestly everything is amazing... you will not leave dissapointed..worth the drive if you do not like in the IE... theer can be a wait so be prepared.. you can call ahead if you have a huge party...or eat chips and salsa at the bar area and chill while u wait.its loud... casual and great for families.very kid friendly

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank trish m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    104
    29
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty and bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We saw all the great review so we thought we'd try it out. The salsa was made in a blender and was pink and watery and bland. We ate out in the patio and the plastic tablecloth was clean on top but the sides were crusted with old dried up bits of food. The main dishes were bland. The wait staff was nice and the home-made tortillas were good. I grew up in California and have enjoyed many authentic and excellent Mexican meals - this was not one of them

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarMorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Chiles Rellenos!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great service, food tastes homemade. Always fun for the kids to grab a seat by the tortilla maker machine.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davecarreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Num, num, num! Southwest Tex-Mex cuisine at its finest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Homemade tortillas, chips & salsa and some of the best fajitas I've ever had in my life. The food is just fresh & tasty and the portions are very large. I don't know if the recipes are from the owner's family or not, but they are very different than the usual fair at a corporate restaurant like El Torito, but everything I've ever had there is to die for. A little more expensive than your typical chain restaurant but worth every penny! I'm actually salivating as I'm sitting here writing this review! LOL!

Helpful?
Thank Nopeydacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardsino
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best example of the worst mexican food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Horrible food, served by non family oriented crew.
Expensive pricing for cheap mexican food, you are better off driving to any crappy fast food restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchos Southwest Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Anchos Southwest Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing