We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel had excellent customer service. Mattress was awsome, I usually complain because of a bad back, but not this time. Very close to downtown but not a good neighborhood to be walking around. Wifi was slow, but the manager made sure I was able to do what I needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anush M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    7
    2
    10
See reviews for
12
15
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Well I stayed at the thunderbird lodge in riverside for their good reviews and great advertisement . I was going to be in town for a few days so I just decited to give it a try. Everything was great clean rooms, comfy bed nothing to complain,... -the Negative side when we arrived I had asked for a non smoking room because I'm truly disgusted with the smell and allergic to it. It turned to be that the Deskclerk was clearly a smoker "she smelled from head to toe like cigarettes " yuck! Even tho I was given a non smoking room It turned to be worse. clerk walked around the lodge smoking another cigarette, great now I have to deal with the smell outside my room. i don't understand why in working hours she would do such thing! only in california im guessing. can things get any worse? Yes .later on that night I stepped out my room to get some ice and I seen the same clerk talking to a guest comfirming on a date!? I was truly shocked to witness such thing. Although clerk was nice when we checked in what kind of prefessionalism is that? I will never allow my husband or family stay at this place again. I know most of it all is non of my business but I just think everything about my stayed was wrong! I will not be returning to this place again. Ill recomend people that If you need somewhere to stay, to keep on driving theirs plainty of vacancy with professional staff around the area.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenniejew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Rooms were nice and tastefully furnished. Close to downtown area which is quite interesting, although hotel appears to be in a slightly run-down area of town. Features complimentary parking near your room, working and free wi-fi, air conditioning, bar fridge and coffee machine. Overall, the price is about right for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, AZ
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in king size bed. Room was large and comfortable. Bed was extraordinary comfortable. Room was not dark at all. Pillows not comfortable. No coffee or breakfast. No tissues in room. Old style 19 inch tv. Service wasn*t good - couldn't get a reciept.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our experience was generally positive during our one-night stay with one major disadvantage. The hotel was easy to find with a colorful neon sign. There is a liquor store across the street and a McDonald's within walking distance but not much else nearby. Parking is within the perimeter of the rooms, so it was easy to keep an eye on your car. It was a little chilly the night we arrived (February). The heat worked well but blew the curtain about until we used the supplied iron to pin the curtain against the window. The shower was nice and the towels were thick. There was shampoo and body lotion but no tissues. The television and coffee maker worked well. Usually hotels offer a continental breakfast but the Thunderbird did not. Perhaps no breakfast is customary in this part of California. There was a small pool and hot tub which we did not use. The wifi worked better with my phone than does my home wifi. The major annoyance was that our key cards didn't work in our room. We either had to let each other in or be let in by staff (staff's key worked fine). I was able to enter once using the key card through vigorous rubbing in the lock. When the manager was made aware of the problem, he offered us a room on the second floor (this room was on the ground floor) but since there were two of us and we were only staying one night it was not a big problem for us, so we put up with it. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sitruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this location earlier this year on Easter weekend for an event at the NOS center. Upon coming in its a nice calm location, we arrived rather early so that we can look around. The Lobby was clean and seemed new. The man at the check-in desk was friendly and got us the room we wanted, on the second floor. The carpet was clean and had a working AC , bonus points. No water bugs found, no roaches, and no bed bugs. Which totally made me fall in love because i am terrified of all three. The bed was pretty comfy and the sheets were clean and soft. There were hangers,a hanging rack, an iron, and a mini fridge available. Everything went great they even didn't mind that we checked out an hour later than planned, no fee was added, nor were we scolded for it.
Only down sides was that there were no matts in the restroom to keep you from falling on your way out of the shower, and the shower only had a cloth curtain and no plastic gaurd to keep the water from drenching the curtain as well as soaking the floor. If we would have had extra towels, I wouldnt have minded, but we didn't want to ask for extra towels so late at night (I would suggest you ask for them on your way in). Also the fridge was not on,nor did I see anywhere to plug it into (we didn't bother letting them know), we didn't use it either way. The tv made the worst noise when turned on but in a way it was nice to spend quiet time with my boyfriend haha so it was a good thing for us.
The lodge is also close to a liquor store, couple restaurants, and a Mc Donald's; we didn't entirely starve during on of our 1am craving kicks.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dee310_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riverside hotels
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
0.8 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Dynasty Suites Hotel
Dynasty Suites Hotel
#11 of 24 in Riverside
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Thunderbird Lodge
Address: 2711 University Ave, Riverside, CA 92507-4237
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Riverside Foundation just awarded us with the Historical Preservation Award. Come see our transformation of one of the few Historical locations in Riverside. Located in the heart of Riverside with restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Come see one of the best value for your money in Riverside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing