We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Fun Hike for All Ages”

University of California Riverside Botanic Gardens
Ranked #7 of 40 things to do in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Free Fun Hike for All Ages”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Surprisingly discovered this garden today! Cannot wait to visit it again to enjoy the plants, flowers, trees, winding trails, mountains, and city views! Great place for both relaxation and workout!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gooding, Idaho
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Riverside Bontanic Gardens”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just beautiful. We were staying in the area so decided to take in the gardens and we were not disopointed. We spent a lovely day having lunch in the sunshine. I am not sure if children would apprecitate it so you might want to think that over before going. Admission is $4.00 and it does have wheelchair access. Open from 8-5 daily.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank IdahoKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Escape to the Gardens of Eden”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A beautifully landscaped hilly botanical garden. Every plant is labeled - Information provided by noted botany professors from the University. A wonderful place to walk and have a picnic with your family. A lovely little dell is available for parties and receptions.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank adwrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Different Varieties along the way, but Don't expect a lot of Ambiance”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you're "into" plants, this is a great walk. Up some hills and down.
If you're thinking Monticello or Huntington in Pasadena, you're going to be let down. Not that's it not a great walk and interesting, but it's not set against some stunning backdrop except the small "mountains" that surround Riverside.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Take a camera”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We live nearby so we enjoy stopping by a time or two a year. This is a hidden gem. Plenty of parking, price is a donation, and you can spend the day just taking pictures and reading about the vast variety of plant life. We even got a glimpse of some wild life. If you are local and haven’t been, I highly recommend it, and the exercise is free also.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of California Riverside Botanic Gardens also viewed

 

Been to University of California Riverside Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing