We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed: Shabby Lobby, Comfortable Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Overall this was a comfortable stay. The beds/pillows were comfortable and room air/temp was good. Slept well. (Which is why I gave it 4 stars because it fulfilled basic needs very well). The room was spacious. Now for the not so good.

We were greeted in the lobby by a very talkative (at 1 am) desk clerk, who bothered to show us the pool, fitness room, etc. We were clearly blurry-eyed and in need of rest. So while this would have been a nice welcome at 1pm, at 1 am not so much. We were given water gratis upon request.

The lobby furniture was worn, stained and shabby. Luckily, the room furniture was a bit better. The room was basically clean. But for $180/night in Riverside WAY overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truthbetold2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Truthbetold2U:

Thank you for taking the time to post your most recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we greatly appreciate the time taken to express it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 446 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had about 8 rooms that were staying at the Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown during Memorial Day Weekend. We had a wedding at the convention center so it was important for us to get an early check-in for at least a few of those rooms. We had been communicating with Jay Koury (the GM) and he explained that the hotel was sold out, but would try his very best to get some of the rooms cleaned and available for an early check-in.

After the wedding, I contacted the front desk and was greeted by Ebony. Ebony explained that she would be able to get most of the rooms checked-in and had preassigned our rooms close to each other. This was very important for us because we had a short window to get ready prior to the reception. When I checked-in, Ebony was extremely professional, courteous, and patient; she quickly got us checked-in and we even got a chance to take a short, well-needed nap. As we were heading to the room, we met the Manager on duty - Silvia. Silvia was equally sweet and polite and was telling us more about the hotel and the area. In fact, all of the Team Members that we encountered at this hotel were top-notch!

The hotel is directly across the street from the Riverside Convention Center and the rooms are spacious, well-kept and decorated wonderfully. I would certainly recommend and stay again at this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Mr Aquachef79:

it was truly a pleasure hosting your group! Thank you very much for the great accolades towards Eboni as well as Silvia. I have already taken the liberty of sharing with the team. We appreciate the awesome Shoutout and will look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I am a southern girl born and raised. I had been warned before my trip to California to not expect everyone to "speak to me" because people in California don't do that. I was really worried. The minute I stepped into the Hyatt Riverside/Downtown all of those fears went away. Bijon, who works at the front desk, is absolutely wonderful. She was so friendly and efficient. I can't think of enough good things to say about her. The house keeping staff was very helpful as well. The continental breakfast is above standard, and the 24/7 grill is excellent. On my next trip to California I will definitely be staying at the Hyatt Riverside/Downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Hello Konica M:

Thank you for your very thoughtful remarks and kudos to Bijon! She is truly a joy to work with. I am very thankful that we were not what you were expecting although I am not surprised:). We will look forward to your next visit to California and continue to hopefully break this misconception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is fairly new and presents an affordable option....the famed Mission Inn is a few blocks away but is more expensive and usually booked due to weddings and events. The Hyatt is right on a Main Street with easy parking and security. Rooms are standard but very clean and nicely appointed. Good breakfasts with many offerings. We tried the pool but on two different stays it was too windy and cold. Overall, this is much better that most hotels in Riverside....stay away from any hotel on University Avenue! Try the Hyatt.

Room Tip: Up high less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terril64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Hello Terril64:

Many thanks for the kind words and nice accolades regarding our hotel. We look forward to next time you are visiting the Inland Empire!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My overnight stay here was very pleasant - clean room, very comfortable bed, easy to adjust HVAC, nice shower. The breakfast in the morning was much better than the average you get in this class of hotel (I especially liked the fresh grapefruit). My only suggestion is that the evening staff could use a bit of help - one person was overloaded by telephone calls and people checking in (about 9:30 PM).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalAstronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear SoCalAstronomer:

Thank you for the kind review as well as the honest feedback. We hope to see you again very soon and will be sure to keep plenty of fresh grapefruit stocked for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I've stayed all over the world and NEVER encountered staff this good in my life! Nothing was too much trouble, always a friendly smile, and everyone was like this. A real credit to their boss (Donna) and to whatever training program they've been through. Rooms are as you'd expect BUT - the MOST comfortable beds ever - so much so, I wrote down the manufacturers name and will buy one! Gym is small but functional - didn't use the pool but it looked nice. Could use some variety at breakfast. Turn down the air con in the reception area - too cold! Located in downtown riverside so expect some traffic noise. Request a room facing the pool to reduce this. Parking located out back

Room Tip: Take one facing towards the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear ian H,

Thank you for your kind words! Donna is pretty great isn't she??? Well, we most certainly appreciate her as well. We are very pleased to hear that you slept so well that you felt compelled to buy the same mattress that we use at Hyatt Places across the world. Until next time... wishing you many restful nights!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I had to stay 3 weeks here for work. Hyatt Staff members Roger, Bijan, Cathy, and Ebony go out of their way to make you stay comfortable. They go out of there way for you. There is a 24/7 restaurant. I had a mobile office in my room (laptops and a printer) and had enough room to comfortably work. They have free wifi, but i found using my ethernet cable (KEY feature in the room) to have a stronger signal (extremely important for remoteing in back to the office) Breakfast here is top notch. I will definitely recommend to the working professional that this place is a small enough hotel with big time comfort and support.

Room Tip: Ask for them not to place you on the floor below or on with sports teams. Had a CIF swim meet the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay K, General Manager at Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Hello Roger619,

It was great having you with us for your length of stay. Thank you for taking the time to extend such wonderful accolades towards Roger, Bijon, Cathy and Eboni. They are true assets to the hotel. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Inland Empire!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown

Address: 3500 Market St, Riverside, CA 92501-2841
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Price Range: $119 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Riverside Downtown, the Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown is a newly built 5 story hotel with 125 guest rooms. The hotel is located walking distance to the Riverside Convention Center, historical Mission Inn Hotel and Spa and adjacent from the historical Fox Performing Arts Center. A short walk from the hotel is the home of the Downtown Pedestrian Main Street Mall; enjoy a walk down the tree-lined courtyard as it comes to life with its unique eateries, museums and boutiques.Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown is ideal for guests traveling for business! Located only a short distance to such major companies as: PepsiCo, Kaiser Permanente, Anheuser-Busch, General Electric, Home Depot, Bank of America and Wells Fargo to name a few. Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown is located only 0.7 Miles from The Riverside County Superior Courthouse. Riverside is the Division 2 home to The Court of Appeals for the Fourth Appellate District. In addition, Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown is conveniently located just 10 miles north of March Air Reserve Base and less than 2 miles away from University of California Riverside.For the sports enthusiast, the Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown is centrally located between the Big League Field of Dreams in Mira Loma and the Blast Soccer Complex in San Bernardino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing