We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Eat on Riverside Mall”
Review of Bella Trattoria

Bella Trattoria
Ranked #22 of 702 Restaurants in Riverside
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is going to be a great review, because the food was great, it's partial outdoors and elegant ambiance.
Riverside, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Place to Eat on Riverside Mall”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This wonderful little restaurant is on the north west side of the Mission Inn directly on the mall. It is charming, wonderful scenery, the staff is attentive and the food is a small menu but very good all around! YOU MUST TRY THE VEAL LASAGNA! It is a very romantic location to eat dinner at right around dusk. Sitting is almost limited to outside only with only one or two table inside. We love this place! (The scenery is looking out onto the mall at ground level, but it is done in such a way is to be very nice.)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CalifVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    49
    28
    18
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“lovely outdoor trattoria”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lovely setting at the Mission Inn on the pedestrian mall. Tasty, reasonably priced food. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pachappa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere, inconsistent food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our first time at Bella Trattoria. You can't find a more beautiful setting and our lunch was delicious. We ordered a salad that included a generous piece of grilled salmon and a pasta dish with a creamy sauce and sweet Italian sausage. It was a great experience overall and we looked forward to going back. Unfortunately, our second time wasn't so good. The food was inconsistent and we had to send it back. Score: 1 great; 1 not so great, but they handled it well. Which is why we decided to give it a third try. Unfortunately, it was inconsistent once again. We haven't been back for a fourth time but we will give it one more try in hopes that they read their press and have made adjustments, i.e., huge changes in the kitchen. Fingers crossed because we love the ambience and want it to be successful. Will keep you posted.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CCB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not worth the time or money”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We just had breakfast here and were very disappointed. While the food itself was average, the entire experience left much to be desired. When we arrived, staff walked past us several times without acknowledging us at all, leaving us to wonder if we were ever going to be seated. We waited 5 minutes before we were taken to a table even though there were several empty tables.

Though there seemed to be enough wait staff, and at least 2-3 people in the kitchen, we had to wait an inordinate amount of time for our breakfasts to be served; unusual since they only have about 8 items on their menu and we were a party of 4, not a large group. The quantity of food was adequate, but not substantial. The toast that came with our breakfasts came several minutes after our egg dishes, and came unbuttered. We had to ask for butter, which came another few minutes later and then did not melt since by then the toast was no longer warm.

I would not go here again or recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We ate at the Bella Trattoria because the Bride and Groom took the entire wedding party here after rehearsal. The food was exceptionally tasty and the service was great. We parked for free at a multi-story parking structure and then walked half a block to the restaurant. Along the way we caught a glimpse of the Mission Inn and saw lots of neat looking shops. There were many street performers and people walking around. The ambiance here is electric.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkySoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Bella Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing