We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome sushi place”
Review of Asahi Sushi

Asahi Sushi
Ranked #38 of 704 Restaurants in Riverside
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome sushi place”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were looking for a place for dinner on Christmas day. Most places were closed and we were ready to compromise on quality. But this place was open and turned out to be awesome. I highly recommend the lobster roll.
The place was noisy but not obnoxious. Service was good even though the place was crowded.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    17
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
178 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of my all time favorite places for sushi!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

There are actually two restaurants, both with the same name. The original is the one in Riverside and was later sold. I guess the new owners kept the name. The original owner started up a new restaurant in Corona off off McKinley and it is just as good as the original. The sushi is of the highest quality and is very fresh. I've been to both locations for the 'all you can eat lunch' with some of my friends and they keep bringing out the food, as much as you want. I love sushi and this had always been of my all time favorite places to go. I just recently found the other Asahi Sushi in Corona and it was just as excellent as the first one had been. The owner comes out and greets you personally and because the friends that I was with have become friends with him, he sent over 'special orders' for our table, things that weren't on the menu! It is a totally awesome place and I will come back time and time again whenever I'm in the area

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This review is for Asahi in Corona”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The original Asahi began in Riverside on Van Buren until about a year ago. Since it's been sold, I haven't been there. I followed the owner to his new store in Corona off McKinley. So I can't review Asahi in Riverside but I can however review Asahi in Corona. It's as great if not better than it has been in several years since Asahi was first opened. The owners are genuinely grateful for your business. They recognize you and treat you like VIP. Oh, and the Sushi.... Out of this world. I was there yesterday for Friday lunch and it was packed barely got seats at the counter. There were 9 sushi chefs and they were all busy!!! The menu offers sushi and rolls you have to pay extra for at other sushi places. There is little to no rice!!!! The fish is fresh and delicious. If you have never been, you have to go!! You will be repeat customers. Please be aware of their hours since I believe they close in between the lunch rush and before dinner. Congrats on your success, Asahi Corona.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Value and Quality”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

An "all you can eat" sushi place in a strip mall in the middle of Riverside? When I first heard of this I thought "how could this possibly be good?" I was dead wrong. The sushi is excellent and the service outstanding. We must have eaten $70-$80 worth of sushi for only $42 ($21 pp, ) the service was excellent. I accidently knocked over my water glass and before I could even pick it back up, 2 people were there to clean my mess and get us straightened out. Drink glasses never went empty, we never had to flag a waitress to reorder. Yes, the place is crowded (not surprising, considering quality and price) and the tables are close together because it is a small storefront restaurant. But it is well worth it. Go during the week (Mon-Thurs.) to get the green tea ice cream for dessert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The sushi is always fresh and delicious. My only complaint is that it is very crowded and the tables are close together. There is almost always a wait, but it is worth it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ibookmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asahi Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Asahi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing