We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel in Riverside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were in Riverside at the hotel for a family wedding. Right from the start we were overwhelmed by the hospitality and friendliness of the staff. The rooms were good and the beds exceptional. Just taking a walk around the inside of the hotel on the upper floors is amazing as there are new and different sites everywhere you look.

Large outdoor pool made relaxing on a hot day nice.

Nice chapel for weddings and very reasonable room cost when booked as part of a group wedding. The hotel is in the center of town with other restaurants within a short walking distance.

Room Tip: We had a single room but for something different opt for ones on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cndirector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

The most charming place to stay. Every room is different. The setting is an old mission and you truly feel like you are in a castle. You can walk around and find hidden treasures for hours. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The third and forth floor rooms have nicest views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fluffydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Beautiful place to stay.

Kelly's Spa is a must while there. They treat you like a queen. And the best caring service.

While there go on the "Historical Tour", through the Museum. You'll get to go where no guests can go on there own.

The GM is social, kind and very personal.

The rooms are unique which add to the special style of the inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ov3rLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Let me first start by saying that I am not usually in the habit of rating anything as "Excellent".
The Mission Inn however thoroughly deserves it.
The staff were all fantastic, the pool was relaxing, the room was clean and comfortable and the architecture was amazing.
Their are a lot of restaurants close by so you do not necessarily have to dine at the hotel. We tried the Mexican restaurant which although visually stunning was just ok as far as the menu was concerned. Our server was very friendly and their signature addition was that they make the guacamole fresh and at your table.
Parking is available for a flat fee of $12 for 24 hours.
This really is a hotel that has to be experienced though as the place is beautiful. We celebrated my wifes #%th birthday there so she took ful advantage of the spa while i ordered frozen drinks pool side. After an exausting day of pampering, eating, drinking and antiqueing we slep well in maybe the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever rested my head in.
Great place and great staff equal a fantastic time.

Room Tip: They do have a lot of functions especially weddings so if staying on the weekend try to room away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirkevin1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Mission Inn is a historical hotel. It was fun to roam the hallways and stairways, and appreciate the architecture. It almost felt like I was in Europe storming the castles.

We stayed in a junior suite that is made up of a bedroom, living room and bathroom. The room includes two queen beds, sofa bed, two TVs and checker game table. We had a view of the front entrance and a partial view of the pool. Wifi worked fine. We went to the pool late in the day when the weather was cooler, lounge chairs were available, and less crowded.

The spa area gave off a eucalyptus scent that smelled great. We enjoyed the cupcakes at Casey's Cupcakes.

While walking around the hotel on the public street, we saw a couple homeless people. The hotel security made sure they weren't bothering anyone. The area has restaurants, antique shops and bookstores. We didn't wander off too far since it was hot and humid that day.

For lunch, we ate at Proabition on Main Street near the hotel. Good food at a reasonable price. We ate at Las Campanas for dinner. The food was okay and overpriced, but it was nice to eat outdoors on the patio.

The check-in/out line was long. A sign should be posted to indicate where line forms. A few clueless people just went up to the counter bypassing the long line. I guess no matter what what you do, they'll always be clueless. Anyhoo, only two people were working the counter and clearly should have at least one more person.

We would return again but when the weather is cooler. It would make exploring the hotel more bearable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsianVista2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Mission Inn is THE place to stay in Riverside, CA - but the staff doesn't ever act like it. Everyone seems pleased to see you and there is always service far beyond what you would expect in a hotel this busy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is a wonderful collection of pieces of art and the old mansion is spectacularly kept. The Service is excellent too.Totally worthy if you stop by Riverside! Don't miss the Mexican restaurant and the breakfast in the patio! The amenities in the too are straight from the SPA: another nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CicciaTp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
Price Range: $165 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing