We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$139
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$157
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,749)
Filter reviews
1,749 results
Traveler rating
981
430
150
94
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
981
430
150
94
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfestival of lightspresidential loungehistoric hotellas campanasthe mexican restaurantcupcakesnooks and cranniesold world charmholiday seasonmillion lightsone of a kindlots of historyevery cornerbeautiful architecturevalet parkingwedding receptionholiday lights
Filter
Updating list...
1,275 - 1,280 of 1,749 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Let me first start by saying that I am not usually in the habit of rating anything as "Excellent".
The Mission Inn however thoroughly deserves it.
The staff were all fantastic, the pool was relaxing, the room was clean and comfortable and the architecture was amazing.
Their are a lot of restaurants close by so you do not necessarily have to dine at the hotel. We tried the Mexican restaurant which although visually stunning was just ok as far as the menu was concerned. Our server was very friendly and their signature addition was that they make the guacamole fresh and at your table.
Parking is available for a flat fee of $12 for 24 hours.
This really is a hotel that has to be experienced though as the place is beautiful. We celebrated my wifes #%th birthday there so she took ful advantage of the spa while i ordered frozen drinks pool side. After an exausting day of pampering, eating, drinking and antiqueing we slep well in maybe the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever rested my head in.
Great place and great staff equal a fantastic time.

Room Tip: They do have a lot of functions especially weddings so if staying on the weekend try to room away from the courtyard or the restaurants.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirkevin1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Mission Inn is a historical hotel. It was fun to roam the hallways and stairways, and appreciate the architecture. It almost felt like I was in Europe storming the castles.

We stayed in a junior suite that is made up of a bedroom, living room and bathroom. The room includes two queen beds, sofa bed, two TVs and checker game table. We had a view of the front entrance and a partial view of the pool. Wifi worked fine. We went to the pool late in the day when the weather was cooler, lounge chairs were available, and less crowded.

The spa area gave off a eucalyptus scent that smelled great. We enjoyed the cupcakes at Casey's Cupcakes.

While walking around the hotel on the public street, we saw a couple homeless people. The hotel security made sure they weren't bothering anyone. The area has restaurants, antique shops and bookstores. We didn't wander off too far since it was hot and humid that day.

For lunch, we ate at Proabition on Main Street near the hotel. Good food at a reasonable price. We ate at Las Campanas for dinner. The food was okay and overpriced, but it was nice to eat outdoors on the patio.

The check-in/out line was long. A sign should be posted to indicate where line forms. A few clueless people just went up to the counter bypassing the long line. I guess no matter what what you do, they'll always be clueless. Anyhoo, only two people were working the counter and clearly should have at least one more person.

We would return again but when the weather is cooler. It would make exploring the hotel more bearable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsianVista2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Mission Inn is THE place to stay in Riverside, CA - but the staff doesn't ever act like it. Everyone seems pleased to see you and there is always service far beyond what you would expect in a hotel this busy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is a wonderful collection of pieces of art and the old mansion is spectacularly kept. The Service is excellent too.Totally worthy if you stop by Riverside! Don't miss the Mexican restaurant and the breakfast in the patio! The amenities in the too are straight from the SPA: another nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CicciaTp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were first blown away by the pictures of the Mission Inn Hotel and Spa which we found by accident looking for a hotel close to Lake Arrowhead. It looked like a magical European style castle. Since our plans fell through over Labor Day weekend, we booked the hotel last minute and we were very glad that we did.

The Good:
1. Beautiful architecture and very peaceful
2. The hotel has 4 restaurants with different cuisines and a restaurant with a beautiful patio
3. Close to Lake Arrowhead - just a 45 minute drive away

The Bad:
1. We really loved this hotel but we did get some flea bites the first night we were there
2. The walls are VERY thin. We were woken in the middle of the night by the guest next door who was very sick next door, coughing and blowing his nose. Almost felt like he was in our room since we could clearly hear him and the television in the middle of the night.
3. Outside of the hotel, we didn't feel very safe as there were lots of homeless people. You really need stay inside the hotel during the weekend and not wander outside.

Tips:
1. Please request a room that does not face the pool as it can get loud and away from the street since there is a late night club that plays music until 2 a.m.
2. On Sundays, the only breakfast options are very limited and the hotel offers Champagne Brunch at $42. Good to know if you are with a large party that does not necessarily want to pay for Champagne Brunch at that price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews