We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We came to Riverside for a synchronized swim meet and didn't know what to expect, especially at the low price offered to the team. The hotel met and exceeded our expectations! Our room was very clean, bright and large with a pool view. The toiletries were excellent (we continued to use them throughout our CA travels). The beds were very comfortable. The staff was friendly and gracious, especially Sable at the front desk. It was a relaxing five night stay and we wished we could have stayed longer. We spend a great deal of time walking around the Inn which was very relaxing. The surrounding area was a mixed bag, but there was an excellent sandwich shop across the plaza (Simple Simon) and a Coffee Bean close by. Self parking was $12.00 per day but the garage was convenient, safe and clean. No complaints at all!

Stayed: June 2013
Thank North Shore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,252 - 1,258 of 1,693 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Ok, so the downside to this place is that it's old, obviously a historic landmark, but it seems to be diligently maintained and constantly restored. It's not a "shiny new penny" but rather a beautiful, gilded gold coin from times past. Both of our teenage daughters said they have a new dream to be married at this hotel someday. I can't think of a more beautiful venue. Will be back at The Mission whenever we visit Riverside!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aquafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

on June 27, 2013..On my get away week with my wife, she was so excited to go to this hotel. Being a teacher, she wanted to learn all about the hotel. Upon our arrival...BOY.. we were really excited.! As we got to the front desk, we thought they had a line going. One family was signing in..they had (3) workers, but two of them had thier heads down... I guess just hoping we would disappear. Finally one decided to help us. As she was checking us in we asked if they had a King size bed. First she said no, but when I asked if we could up grade "WOW" a room appeared by a miracle. We decided to go to the pool, after we settled in. Thinking we could order pool service, didn't know we had to look for the hidden away phone, to place an order. Then had to wait and wonder as to "WHEN" we would recieve our order. Being that they only had ONE server. I had forgotten I had placed an order, that when they showed up I was surprized.! That evening we changed hoping we could go have some drinks, listen to some music and relax.. forget it, no luck.. Being that we had nothing to do we stopped at the Presidential Lounge,WOW "Presidential Lounge".. for a couple of drinks and appetizers.. "BIG" mis-take... the sampler plate we ordered --thank GOD...there is a GOD..!! We told our server AMBER, about the food.. she did do a good job staring at us as if she was interested..the thing that was wrapped as a tamale, tasted like paste with no flavor.. the chicken wings smelled, dried.. the tacos, were not bad cause they had just made them.. Telling her of the situation thought she would call the manager, or remove the item from the tab. The quisadillas, had about a pound of cheese, but eeh was not bad..! When we got the check everything was on the BILL.. no apologie, NADA... that night I was in the bathroom all night. got up and went down stairs to see if they could help me with a 7 up, or Alka-seltzer.. Marcus nite Mgr.. was not to concerned about my problem.. Not to many people walk around at 5 AM in thier robe, looking like real bad.. telling them what you ate and that it was not cooked well. one thing you do need when you go to the mission, take plenty of money for tips, and everything you do YOU will be paying.. WiFi.. you will pay....Parking..You will pay.. Make sure not to forget anything..comb, tooth paste, tooth brush, what ever..YES YOU will PAY.. It's a nice Hotel, but just to visit.. check it out.. and go to a place that CARES about the GUEST..!!! The bellman....were VERY helpfull along with valet...they do hustle...They have alot of guys in black suits.. but they're just for show..! Except for the valet guy.. WOW it was hot and he was out there helping people park thier cars..with his coat on ...

Room Tip: If you like the sun early in the morning, get the rooms that face the front of the hotel. Nice cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silverio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was recommended by a friend, and was great. There is a tour (open to the public, you don't have to be a guest) that provides lots of information and entry to areas you may otherwise miss. Interesting that the iron fences don't match because they were made from scrap pieces. We learned from a local resident to go 2-3 blocks down the street and visit a Mexican Restaurant called Tio's Tacos - the food was good, and there are 'art' pieces made from recycled trash. Be sure to go to the back of the restaurant, there's about an acre of creations!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SDNativeLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I visited this hotel, it was great!!! The lobby has many old antiques of the Missions in California, With s hall with flowers, an arch, and very nice garden. it also has a bar with the pictures of many presidents of USA. It was really nice. They also have a very nice store and it has a great location in the Center of Riverside, where you can walk, near of museums, of a very nice antique store. The rooms are awesome, very clean and comfortable. Riverside is a small place, but if you stay in this hotel, makes your visit wonderful!! The persons of the frontdesk and housekeeping were very nice, and wanted to give all the information I asked about the place...I definitely could stay in this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tusita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Only had one night here, but we were quite impressed. It really is a neat place with great architecture. Wish we would have time to explore it a little more (heard the bell tower is worth seeing). Room (standard King) was simple but nice. Got a very good rate at te last minute ($110) and found it to be an amazing deal. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtixable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Last minute need for a hotel in Riverside!! Unbelievably surprised by The Mission Inn!!! Get a room on 4th floor includes fireplace and private courtyard with fountain! You'll need 2 days just to tour the 4 city block old Mission with courtyards, fountains 4 diamond restaurants, climb up belfry! Different little antique libraries and sitting areas on every floor..SERVICE A+ food great, I actually enjoyed the Presidential Sports Lounge..Bartenders do a great job!! Plus, the mission inn is built on and around a 100 year old mission and they maintained the integrity of the history..

Room Tip: 423 or in that group but its soo big I didnt get into the larger suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorkyMata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
Price Range: $175 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing