We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“Enjoyable stay...”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Was at the Inn over the weekend for a wedding. Slight complication as check-in is at 4, but the wedding started at 3 and we were driving in from more than an hour away. Oh, and I'm a nursing mom who needed a private place to pump BEFORE the service. We got there around 1 and no room... Also no options for a private place to pump. Frustration starting to build... There isn't a private room in the entire place with a door and an electrical outlet?? The young man at the desk pushed us to the top of the list for the first room available and said they'd call. We were offered the use of the spa in the meantime (although they couldn't give us lockers for reasons I'm still unclear about). About 50 minutes later I checked and a room was available. It was a lovely well-appointed room. Was able to get in, do my thing and get ready in plenty of time for the wedding.

While I do feel like they should have some sort of contingency in place for situations for nursing/pumping moms (since there are laws about that sort of thing) I do want to thank them for making us a priority and working something out. Next time, we plan to bring our kids and enjoy the pool!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly_M1656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    391
    119
    77
    88
See reviews for
377
574
65
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because Riverside was central to a few things we wanted to do and the hotel got great reviews on this website. We were so impressed! It has a great ambiance and fantastic service. It's a historic site - quite interesting informational plaques throughout the hotel.
The rooms were good but the decor could be updated a bit. Having said that, we did not feel like they were lacking. They were comfortable, clean, and there were plenty of towels. The age of the hotel is probably why the price was so reasonable. Everything else was top notch!
We had a half hour before our dinner reservations, so we went exploring - it wasn't nearly enough time to look through all the interesting nooks and crannies - even a rooftop water feature and seating. Very private and serene! I wish we would have been able to take a tour but we were gone during the day when they had them. Next time I would devote a day to just touring hotel and downtown Riverside.
The pool was lovely and even though there was no bar, you could get service with the pool phone. Margaritas were wonderful!
Every meal we had was fantastic. The Mexican restaurant was my favorite - and I'm not usually a Mexican fan - but the guacamole made at the table, the ceviche, and the flautas were heavenly!
The service was always quick and friendly. Did not try the spa.
The only reason it's not a 5 was that the room was a bit noisy on the Saturday night.
Overall, the experience was great! We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtimes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised to find such a fabulous hotel and spa in Riverside, CA. From the moment we arrived until our departure, we were treated like royalty. The spa was beautiful and the staff is well trained. We had lunch delivered to the spa and the ahi tuna salad was delicious!
The food at all the restaurants was superb. We had one issue with a maitre d, but it was handled with complete professionalism by the person I complained to and he made up for the one person's lack of good manners.

The rooms are nice, but the bathroom was lacking. I felt like it should've been a bit more updated and there was nowhere to put your toiletries with only a pedestal sink. They did provide a safe and robes which is always nice.

I do recommend taking the 90 minute tour. We got to see so much more of the Inn and learn about its interesting history.

I definitely plan on returning here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vetski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this charming hotel. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, lot of nooks and crannies to explore. We were in room 275 facing the street. Nice clean room, not much street noise, however the LG TV volume was at 100% and was still hard to hear.

We had dinner at Duane's Steak House and Las Camanas. The steaks were outstanding as were the ceviche and carneros tacos. Their 54 Degree wine bar has an excellent selection, unfortunately it was closed on Sunday leaving us with the stale smelling Presidential Lounge. It smells like old cigarettes. The other downside was breakfast at the Mission Inn Restaurant, $54 for 2 orders of eggs benedict, orange juice and coffee, outrageous! Go to Denny's, Coco's or IHOP down on University Ave.

We'll probably go back when we're down that way, but there's not a lot to see in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Mission Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor. As the Mission Inn Hotel & Spa desires to deliver a superior guest experience every time and all the time, we would like to learn more details about your stay.

Please give us an opportunity to communicate with you directly and contact us via email mbuettner@missioninn.com or via phone 951 341 6744 in order to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I loved this hotel. First, the architecture is stunning and fun to look at. The furniture and artwork in the hotel compliments the architecture and is beautiful. Valet and front desk services were helpful and friendly. The room was bright and clean, the bed was comfortable. The hotel was reasonably quiet. We also ate dinner in one of the restaurants on site and it was absolutely delicious though a little pricey. I highly recommend this hotel for a magical experience. It's also in a great location to walk around and explore downtown Riverside a little bit. But take time, also, to explore the hotel - floor after floor promises beauty, from the multiple plaza fountains to the rooftop herb garden with spectacular views. Take your time and enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taraship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I totally get the need to preserve this historical landmark, it is pretty impressive. Its architecture is marvelous, how it survives earthquakes, considering it was built in the early 1900's, is beyond me. We were there for a conference and got a standard room. You'd swear the furnishings haven't been changed since the hotel was first built. I believe you can keep the old motif while providing modern amenities, but I guess they don't want to go that far. Everything is old and smells funky. The sink backed up overnight bringing up this old filthy mildew and what appeared to be mold, and it STUNK. We were so tired after driving in, we didn't have the energy to try and change rooms. We just closed the door to the bathroom and pulled the sheets over our heads as a filter. And the rates being charged for this place are outrageous, not worth it. Luckily, we're being reimbursed by the people who put on our conference. There's a big, modern place just two blocks away, stay there if you can. One more thing, Downtown Riverside is dead, especially on Sundays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarrioTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently spent three nights at this hotel as my husband had business meetings on the property. What a wonderful experience! The hotel is full of amazing history. Its archetecture is amazing, as well as all the art and furniture that fills every bit of the property. We took some time to explore the different wings as well as a quick visit to the museum and enjoyed ourselves. My kids loved the pool. The front desk, valet, and maid service were all fabulous.
The one negative to our stay was our room location. Our room overlooked main street- the pedestrian walkway to boutiques and shops. We had loud late night screaming from the street (3 am) as well as daily early morning leaf blowers. Also, the constant sound of a cukoo clock anytime anyone pressed the button to cross the street at the light. About 8 am the classical music would start playing across the shopping area. I strongly suggest requesting a room that is in another part of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Property: The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing