We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in southern California”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in southern California”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The Mission Inn hotel is a historic treasure in Riverside. The architecture is amazing, you will enjoy just walking around the hotel. Don't miss the chapel. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The food is excellent as well, try the steak tacos in the courtyard. If you are visiting Riverside, this is the place to stay. You will go home with a bit of old California.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NelsonVNile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    392
    122
    78
    87
See reviews for
380
577
66
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A nice historic hotel, just steps away from downtown Riverside's shops, restaurants, galleries, etc. Room was spacious, comfortable, and exceptionally clean. My room (155) faced a boring street, and had some problems with 5:30 AM noise with a beep-beep backing up truck, and one of my friends reported a screaming junkie outside of her window at 2 AM. Staff was friendly & professional. Lobby had lush tropical gardens at the entry - complete with parrots - while the interior felt regal and serene. The only strange part was the predominance of Republican presidents all over the walls of the lobby & bar, a bit of a political overstatement... but Nixon was married here, and that seems to be one of their claims to fame. Kelly's Spa (on site) was exceptional in ambiance and service. The courtyard restaurant was slow in service, average Mexican fare, but pleasant in its setting.

Room Tip: Get an even numbered room to face the lush courtyard. Odd-numbered rooms face the street and assort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toddinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Overall this hotel is excellent. The website indicates the hotel is set on a whole city block and on first glance the hotel does not appear to be set on that much property, but it is. Plus, upon walking around the property and all its floors you will find there is plenty to discover and admire. It is a beautiful historic hotel.

Upon driving up to the front entry valet area the valet attendant is speedy and helpful in assisting and providing for valet and suggesting bell services. And, finding out later in the stay when your vehicle is needed, they are fast with retrieving your vehicle and always friendly.
I
Walking through the entryway of the hotel after valet takes your vehicle is inviting and surrounds you with greenery and the ambient lighting on the towering palm trees and lush garden is beautiful. We approached the front door of the hotel where a doorman was awaiting to eagerly open the main entry doors, inviting us in and welcoming us to our stay. The lobby was adorned with beautiful flooring, photos, statues, a grand piano, historical artifacts, and more. The front desk was helpful and friendly in checking us in. I advised Robert at the front desk that I don't get the opportunity for vacation often and I requested the best possible view, and he took his time searching for a room to give us the best memorable experience.

Part two of this review to come....thumbs are getting tired on this phone

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBANK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at the Mission Inn. We had a wedding to attend and opted to stay right there where the wedding would be. We were able to get a room that was clean and comfortable. The beds were very nice and the service was excellent. Enjoyed a delicious breakfast and had some fun after, touring the beautiful Inn and experiencing all the history of this wonderful place.
Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

What an amazing find! My husband and I celebrated our 16th Anniversary this weekend. We love in Orange County and the weather was just awful. We wanted to get away to dreamy place close by with lots of sun and a pool and spa. We were so fortunate to discover The Mission Inn. Just a 50 minute drive from our home, we were welcomed by a very courteous and professional staff. The Spa is fabulous - villa treatment rooms. The pool reminded us of being in the tropics. The food and drinks were excellent and so reasonably price. Our room was so spacious, luxurious and had a very nice balcony on which to read and relax. Every amenity was provided - not a detail missed. The pasta dinner at the Trattoria restaurant was excellent. We are returning in 2 weeks to celebrate Mother's Day!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Riverside Mission Inn is a jewel! You see its lights at night from afar as you drive up. Rooms restful despite lots of activities going on - lots of weddings and parties happening. In walking distance of downtown restaurants and attractions.

Tour of the Inn is worth the time. Seeing the chapel with its Tiffany windows its a treat. Learning more about the history if the Inn and its creation is interesting.

Room Tip: Higher floors have rooms with more decorative details and unusual size and shape
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranChasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We arrived early and the staff was able to get us our room two hours earlier than check in time. Not only did they get us our room, but it had a great pool view with a large balcony overlooking the pool area! The ambiance within the hotel was amazing: historic nooks and crannies everywhere. Stained glass windows. Antiques throughout. Our room was large and comfortable. We ate at two of the restaurants in the hotel and the food was excellent and plentiful. The hotel location was close to lots of unique shops. We will go back to The Mission Inn if we're ever in Riverside again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Property: The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing