We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Holiday Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Endwell, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enchanting Holiday Experience”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

While visiting Southern Calif over the holidays my daughter surprised my wife and I by taking us to the Mission Inn to see the Christmas Light displays. It was wonderful. The Inn is truly unique and fun to explore. The staff were terrific and the meals were great.
I have no idea how this place would be during the rest of the year, but if you are anywhere near Riverside California around the holidays I recommend a one night stay -- you will love it.

Room Tip: We had a coupon for free valet parking -- it was part of a deal they were running so check their web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hags_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    400
    124
    79
    88
See reviews for
382
587
67
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at the Mission Inn this year in December, for our anniversary. What a beautiful place. We hear they start decorating for Christmas months in advance, and I can believe it. The decorations were stunning. I felt so lucky to be able to stay in such an incredible place during the holiday season. Walking around the hotel at night, bundled up, and viewing thousands and thousands of lights and moving decorations was such a fun experience. I only wish we had little ones to take to experience it...I can just imagine how fun it would be to see this spectacular display through a child's eyes!
Our room was unique, comfortable and VERY nice. It was a great package deal, too. A perfect place to go to get you into the holiday spirit, although the hotel itself is so historically beautiful, it would be nice to go anytime, I think. We plan on staying again next year, for our anniversay...that's how much we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindylane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent New Years at the castle like hotel the Mission Inn. This property is unlike your cookie cutter hotel. The rooms are located around nook and crannings in this castle inspired hotel that gives you a sense of privacy. The suites are outrageous. The service is impecable and restaurants are 1st class.
The staff everywhere always greeted us with a smile.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants something a little different.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyril59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

On a rainy night, we received an upgrade to a jr. suite...and had a delicious dinner. Enjoyed exploring the next morning, roaming around this extraordinary property. Every SoCal resident should be so lucky as to stay here once!

Room Tip: I've heard that weekends can sometimes be noisy due to wedding parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed on the second floor in Room 163 and even though I’ve seen in person and through pictures of other rooms on TripAdvisor and on the hotel website that were even more impressive than ours, we both were quite pleased with our King room with a balcony on the street-view side. The hotel is beautiful and all around you’ll notice charming features and small details that create this impressive property and our room was no exception. Although our bathroom was quite small and I don’t know how anyone over 6’ could stand in our shower (I should have measured for this review but I’m 5’9 and there are seemed to be just a few inches above my head before I'd hit the drop down ceiling in the shower), the room was fairly spacious and had a study alcove with a French door leading to a small balcony with two chairs and a side table. In our room, there were several art niches and a window seat for lounging with a good book. The bed was comfortable and we didn’t have any issues with noise even though the Christmas music was playing outside our balcony and the hotel was crowded. The alcove, window seat, art niches and wood door to the hallway gave the impression of staying in a manor home rather than a hotel room. We chose the Prime Rib buffet at the Mission Inn Restaurant for dinner and the food was good and the ambiance even better as we dined surrounded by holiday lights in the outdoor Spanish Patio. There is small complimentary gym (that would make a great 1-bedroom apartment)and we were able to get a decent workout – a set of dumbells, a flat bench, a couple of leg machines, a chest machine and cardio machines, however for a great workout we found a gym 2 blocks away called City Gym and they only charge a $5 guest fee – the cardio equipment is just ‘ok’ but they have all the weight machines/free weights you’d need – perhaps do cardio at the hotel and weights at City Gym. The best part of the stay was exploring the hotel the next morning and discovering all of the patios, alcoves and architectural details while sometimes getting a peek or two into some of the suites as people were checking out and the maids were cleaning the rooms. From the valet staff to the front desk staff to housekeeping, everyone we encountered was friendly and provided great service. We’ve already recommended this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickstpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I did not stay at the Mission Inn, but I walked all through its nooks and crannies. The place is simply amazing. They don't build things like this anymore! There were so many neat places to discover, and bougainvillea grew everywhere. Mosaics, towers, domes, chapels, buttresses, wrought iron, stained glass, elegant staircases... You could walk around for hours and you are guaranteed to get some amazing photographs!

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MagNEATO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, USA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We had a fabulous time at the Mission Inn, Festival of Lights in Riverside, CA. The King Deluxe room, interior off the Spanish Patio, was spacious, very clean, very comfortable bed and pillows and an excellent visit. We enjoyed walking around the outside of the hotel to see the lights and then because we were hotel guests, we were able to walk all over the hotel. The rotunda area was so beautiful. The lights were very well done and every corridor and passageway was another photo op. The food for breakfast at the Spanish Patio was cooked to order and delicious. I had the Riverside Omlet- very tasty. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and courteous and managed the crowds well. We were glad to be guests of the hotel and to get away from the crowds and see the lights. A great trip-loved the hotel.

Room Tip: Interior room overlooking the patios or interior spaces. We got a special rate with AAA and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wileygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riverside hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 24 in Riverside
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Property: The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing