We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a Christmas wonderland at this time of year. The lights are unbelievable. We stayed on a Sunday night and it was very crowded in the public areas of the hotel. Apparently, it was mostly people who had come to see the lights and stay for dinner, but not to stay overnight. Monday morning was very quiet and relaxing even though the hotel was busy. There is so much to see, not only on the grounds of the hotel, but in the surrounding area -- lots of shops and restaurants. The food at the Mission Inn Restaurant was very good and the service was great. Eating in the outside courtyard was very warm and comfortable even at this time in December. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Loved the non-working fireplace and the architecture was different in each room. Our group had five rooms on the 1st floor, which was actually the 2nd floor of the hotel and the views were of the entrance area. Lots of Christmas lights and decorations. We understand that putting up all of the lights begins in August. All in all, a great way to spend a night.

Room Tip: Be sure to overlook one of the gardens or patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2011

We have heard for many years about the "amazing" holiday extravaganza that the hotel puts on in December. Tonight we experienced it firsthand, and I have to say we were underwhelmed. First of all, there is no traffic control so you get stuck waiting light after light going nowhere after you get off the freeway. Then, when you finally get there, find somewhere to park and make your way to the entrance, it is a mob scene - you could barely walk - mostly you had to shuffle along with the rest of the crowd. They advertise "over 3.6 million lights," but the overall effect is haphazard, like someone who goes out every Christmas and buys one more string of lights to add on, rather than being a well thought out and coordinated display. It only takes about 15 minutes to walk around and see everything - less time than it took us to drive the three blocks from the freeway to the hotel. The main objective seems to be to fill their hotel and four onsite restaurants. It's a shame because the hotel is as wonderful as people describe it, but it's hard to appreciate when you are jammed in among a throng of a thousand people. My advice would be to go to the hotel just about any time BUT the Fesitival of Lights.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmichaelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Perfect for a long weekend stay.....we spent at least 2 hours exploring the winding hallways and outdoor spaces of this hotel. I don't have much to add that others haven't said, except:

There's just enough to do in Riverside for a fun weekend. There are about 10 blocks of historic buildings all around the hotel from when Riverside was the richest city (per capita) in the US in 1895. We climbed to the top of Mount Rubidoux, drove around in the beautiful neighborhood just below it, and ate at some nice restaurants in and around the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tennistime18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I'd gone to college in the area, but had never stayed at the Inn. My husband and I so enjoyed the complete experience! Just walking around the grounds is enchanting...and our room had some much-appreciated special touches -- beautiful tile-work and a lovely sitting area. We loved the chair built for President Taft and the other historical aspects of the Inn. We had a really good dinner outside at Las Campanas -- and an elegant breakfast inside as well. Both restaurant locations were a great treat. WE LOVE THE INN!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seegenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We really enjoyed wandering the grounds of the Mission Inn. There is so much history hidden around the buildings. We will be going back to Riverside at the end of the month and plan to stay here once again to continue our exploration.
The room was clean and the bedding was wonderful and cozy. The service good. I will compliment the valet service as our car was right there when we needed it to be. We called from the room, walked straight down, and there were our cars. Great to know for those us with time lines.
The hotel location is great as there are many places to eat and shop within walking distance of the hotel. The rennovations to the area surrounding the Mission Inn make it a very nice area to visit. Also, UC Riverside is minutes away, so the hotel was convenient as well as interesting.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyHiker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The architecture of the Mission Inn is breathtaking,truth many places and rooms to explore. I stayed for business and loved that I could park the car and walk everywhere in the evening and morning.

I had a lovely but noisy courtyard room on the first night. After requesting a quieter room, I was given a slightly less noisy room with a balcony and windows on two sides. I'm not sure any of the rooms are quiet.

There is no wireless internet in the rooms, only in the lobby. There is free coffee in the lobby in the morning. The fitness center equipment isn't the greatest but there is a studio room for yoga and the pool is nice but does not have lanes.

Check out Simple Simons Bakery and Phood on Main.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreenLaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I was expecting a LOT and the Mission Inn surpassed my expectations. Besides being an architectural masterpiece, it is bursting with romance, great restaurant selections, wonderful location, the rooms are charming, and the beds feel like you are sleeping on a cloud. We were well cared for, the staff was extremely courteous, and I would go there again and again and again. Even though we went on Halloween weekend and the place was packed, there was still a feeling of personal attention and professionalism at all times. I give this place an A ++

Room Tip: The roof top rooms are top notch and you have a sense having the place to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverside
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Riverside Downtown
0.2 mi away
Marriott Riverside at the Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riverside UCR/Moreno Valley Area
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Riverside/Corona East
6.5 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Spa Moreno Valley
Ayres Hotel & Spa Moreno Valley
#1 of 9 in Moreno Valley
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa

Address: 3649 Mission Inn Ave., Riverside, CA 92501-3364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Riverside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riverside
#4 Business Hotel in Riverside
Price Range: $198 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This castle-like hotel is next door to the Main Street Pedestrian Mall and a half-mile from the Riverside Convention Center. This historic hotel occupies a city block in downtown Riverside. Guests have included presidents and Pulitzer Prize winners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mission Inn Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Hotel Riverside
Mission Resort Riverside
Inn Mission Riverside Ca
Mission Inn Hotel Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing