We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple sushi and the all-you-can-eat can't be beat.”
Review of Cabin Sushi

Cabin Sushi
Ranked #290 of 703 Restaurants in Riverside
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Waitstaff
la
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple sushi and the all-you-can-eat can't be beat.”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The sushi here is simple. There are not a lot of rolls on the menu, and they don't tend to use many sauces. The rolls they do have are good, the portions are ample, and the chefs are very friendly. Sit at the bar. The restaurant does tend to get slammed occasionally so you will get better service at the bar rather than a table. Also the restaurant is "no frills" so come to eat not to look at decor. Ask the chefs for their specials, All of them do something a little different and not on the menu, and don't forget your orange at the end of the meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kryptoknightxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Favorite Sushi”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

As a Riverside local i stop by Cabin Sushi all the time. Still my favorite sushi place for the price. On Sunday's they could use a little more help. 1 server for the entire packed restaurant is a lot to put on one person.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sushi is just ok...”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you are not a sushi snob like me the all you can eat sushi is ok. I was not impressed with the sushi chefs who had no time to chat with me but who had plenty of time to talk to the scantily clad girls next to me. When I want sushi in Riverside I drive the 5 miles to Ooka, even though I could walk to this place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DianeM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Still my favorite in Riverside”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This place gets very busy. Owners are fantastic and the sushi and Hite beer is always fresh. They are no longer located next to the porn shop so you people that were scared away before..... It is in downtown Riverside so you might need to pay for parking at certain hours.The fish is cut when it is served so it is not dried out like other sushi places..... I have tried other sushi places around and I think this is the one for me.....

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cary_c9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Not recommended!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I was absolutely aggravated by this place. First off, no free parking. Had to pay the meter $1.00 an hour. I let that slide since this is downtown Riverside afterall. When I walked inside, I stood there waiting to be seated. No host/hostess to greet you here. I saw a short lady rushing about, but no acknowledgement from her. I was contemplating leaving but I really wanted to try their AYCE sushi. After 10 minutes of standing there, I hailed a gentleman who looks like the owner and he YELLED at the short lady to seat me which she did hurriedly. She ushered me to a table and left. After 5minutes, I was wondering if she forgot about me. Then I saw her serving the tables next to me 2x before I hailed her over and told her I wanted AYCE and hot tea, pls. She nodded and left. Again, she did not come back. Another 5 minutes went by, no show from her. So, I did what I had to do, I moved myself to the bar. This is where I added 1 star to their rating. James, one of the sushi chef somewhat saved the day for me. Albeit slow, he fed me! I ordered Salmon Sushi, Rainbow roll, Spider roll, Crispy Salmon roll, Unagi and tempura roll. Everything was mediocre (from taste to portions). I also ordered Siomai and quite frankly, I was disgusted when I saw the siomai served to me. It look pale and sickly - see pic. Taste was not up to par. I don't know what I ate but it did not taste like Siomai. After my 2nd roll from James, the short lady came by, tapped my shoulders and almost chastised me for moving to the bar without letting her know, and then she smiled sweetly and served me my appetizer. I was truly confuse and scared for my life. I did not want to touch my appetizer then. And still, no tea... I didn't even bother to ask her for it again. After my third roll, I had to ask James for ice water. Imagine that. I also had to get up, waited by the kitchen for my bill. Otherwise, I would most likely waste another 10 minutes waiting for the lady to give me the bill, and another 10 minutes to complete the transaction. And even with that, I still had to wait!

Overall, a very, very weak 2 stars rating!!! The service here is absolutely terrible, the worst I've ever experienced! I really felt ignored at this resto! Mind you, I was not even expecting a top service or attention. Rudeness and unnecessary LOOOONG wait is not acceptable for any establishment. The yelling need to stop too. They yell at each other from one corner to the other. Asian Ghetto! To make matters worse, the food was only mediocre at best - for almost $20.00 lunch buffet (that's without beverage). Totally, not worth it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Thor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabin Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing