We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see a movie!”

Van Buren Drive-In Theatre
Ranked #9 of 41 things to do in Riverside
Attraction details
Twentynine Palms, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to see a movie!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

A great way to get out and see a movie with out a lot of expense. Just get there early if your visiting concession.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eriko18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    12
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“GREAT Affordable Family Fun”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I've been coming to this theater since I was a little girl and I love the opportunity to share it with my family. This theater has had some upgrades and they are much appreciated. The sound comes from your car stereo and the screen is clear. The Snack Bar has had an overhaul and looks nice and is clean. The restrooms aren't perfect, but they aren't gross either, good 'nuff. The playground is gone :( But you really can't beat $7 bucks for TWO current movies. *What to bring: Bring your favorite snacks, anything you like, (FYI) there is a grocery store and a McDonalds at the shopping center right next door. Bring a comfortable chair, one of those neck travel pillows doesn't hurt, BLANKETS, (trust me) and a radio or boombox if you have it, will make it so that you can shut the car/truck doors if you want to and still have nice clear audio. A nice igloo serves as a great ottoman. Chairs are far more comfortable than trying to cozy up on the truck bed, which looks like a good idea but its AWFUL! Downsides, people will leave their lights on, *boo!*People who smoke, they smoke. Hate that. The lot is near operating train tracks and one or two may come by, even on weekends. But other than that, a great experience that doesn't require you to take out a loan for the family to see a movie, bring your comfy chairs, and enjoy the view!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank FonnyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Drive-in!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great place & price for two just released movies! The best for those small children PG movies--You really just have to plan a little before you get here, like when dusk is!! Get there early to check out the spots for the playgraound, snack bar & restrooms. Pack all your own popcorn or healthy snacks, pillow, blankets, lounge chairs & you are good to go! The other requirement is a half-way decent speaker system in your car & a battery that won't die if you let it run for 2 hours--Add Smiles!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great flash to the Past!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I love that there is still a drive-in, let alone one that has GREAT food. Not just popcorn and candy, real food! The lines weren't too crazy (we did get there early). More than reasonable for a family outing, we had a blast on date-night at the drive-in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nostalgic Experience/Great Value”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've been coming here since the good old days and I still love it!
$7 for 2 movies (new releases!)
Outdoor movie entertainment on a summer's evening
Bring all the snacks you want
Only complaints are the people who arrive late and drive around with headlights on (which i do my best to ignore) AND the cigarette smokers (at which times i cover my mouth with my shirt.)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraZ997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Buren Drive-In Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Van Buren Drive-In Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing