We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum at Mission Inn”
Review of Mission Inn Museum

Mission Inn Museum
Ranked #4 of 41 things to do in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, California, USA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Museum at Mission Inn”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Good place to get momentos of the Mission Inn. Tours available, but we did our own tour with a book we purchased at the museum.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Wileygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    60
    20
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Unique setting in old town”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Spent the night to enjoy the festival of lights. The hotel is a famous structure built in the 20’s. Expect old school wooden charm not new school marble. Our room was on the main street side of the hotel, which provided an excellent view of the festivities down on the Main street promenade but it was not so good when you wanted to go to sleep. At 1:00 AM there were still people partying on the street. The rooms seemed very good sized. Our parent’s room was on the corner of the hotel with windows on two streets, a couch, chairs and a table, which was very nice. Parking is by valet or you can Self Park on 6th street in an underground garage, which was $8/day. Call early for dinner reservations. We called 3 month ahead and everything was booked. We ended up eating a the Old Spaghetti Factory on the east side of the freeway which is very close and has great food.
We took a carriage ride, which is a very popular attraction. If you take the carriage ride, I suggest only the short ride around the hotel (10 Min.) and not taking the longer ride (30 Min.). On the 30 min. tour, they did not take us around the hotel where the lights and festivities are but they took us through old neighbor hoods, filled with mostly run down houses and little or no lights. We were very disappointed with our carriage ride experience. Note: the carriage companies are not associated with the hotel; I just thought everyone might want to know about our own experience.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank AveJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mission Inn Christmas Lights...”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Went with the whole family to see the famed Mission Inn Holiday Light decorations in Riverside. Parking was a bear, very crowded the weekend after Thanksgiving, so my advice is to go mid week to avoid the crowds we faced. Ice skating rink was very well run and the price was equal to the value... The lights we okay but make sure you look UP! lots of cool figures high up on the walls!
Take the time to end your trip at Gram's BBQ on the corner of 5th and Main (just two blocks North of the Mission) well worth the trip!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Lights”
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Fun little trip, good area to walk around. Touristy, but what else would you expect.

Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go for MIssion Inn Tour only”
Reviewed August 25, 2010

"Museum" itself is under reconstruction (2010) , leaving essentially a historical bookstore and tourist giftshop. There's almost no "there" in it . Offers interesting tour of historical unique Mission Inn: about 75 min. of viewing eccentric 1880-1950 hotel building construction incorporating fascinating art objects and kitsch, Presidential stay anecdotes. Beware, tho: (1) climbing and descending many, often dizzying/open staircases, in part to (2) avoid getting in the way. Lead volunteer docent is shepherd of small flock, 2d is sheepdog herding paid tourers out of the potential way of any possible member of hotel community that could come by. Tour is clearly at sufferance of management and feelis like it may be cancelled at any time. (Odd management view for something that generates business for hotel stays!) Not for those requiring VIP escorted style, but for real folks.

Helpful?
4 Thank smarteconomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mission Inn Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing