We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Aviation up close & personal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of March Field Air Museum

March Field Air Museum
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Madison, South Dakota
Level Contributor
349 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Aviation up close & personal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful museum that has an expansive collection of planes from all eras; the volunteer staff we came in contact with was extremely knowledgeable & will chat about their area of expertise with you or find data you may be searching for. It's well worth the extra $3 a person to take the guided tram ride as you can cover the entire outdoor static display in a shorter time plus get detailed information on just about every plane/ helicopter. An added bonus is if you visit in a weekday & you will invariably see planes (cargo, refuelers, jets) taking off from March Air Reserve Base which butts up against the museum. My only quibble is hat there should be a discount for active/retired service members; currently only those in uniform can get in for free...not asking for a fre pass for us retired military but maybe a dollar or the off? Otherwise, great way to spend an afternoon & while in the area, visit Riverside National Cemetery, well worth the time, too....enjoy!

Visited June 2013
1 Thank cdenoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
365 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“for the airplane junky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a hidden gem located next an to actual air base right off the freeway. It is large so plan to spend several hours here. Bring water as it can get hot in the summer time. Most of the planes are out doors but you can get up and close with the. Unlike other museums that are cramp, there is plenty of room here for the larger aircraft and visitors.

Visited July 2012
1 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great Family Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A perfect and educational place to take the family to help teach them about our country's military past. We have also viewed the Vietnam Memorial Traveling Wall at this location; a solemn and meaningful experience. Bless All who serve our great country both past, present and future.

Visited May 2013
Thank Bellarose1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Up close experience with historic aircraft!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a nice surprise!! They have a very nice indoor museum, with great exhibits to accompany that planes that are housed inside. Very well informed docents when we were there on a weekend. Outside are dozens of old planes, most of which you can walk right up to and touch. You can wander through the planes on your own, reading the information plaques, or you can take a tram ride with a docent who tells the stories of the planes. There are also a few hangars which house smaller exhibits - I think they are individually operated and therefore aren't always open every time the museum is open. But when they are open, you'll find an expert inside waiting to tell you all about his or her collection. We met a gentleman who flew a P-51 in WWII.

Well worth your time!! I'd caution against visiting on hot days, there is no shade outside. Or at least take an umbrella along for your walk.

Visited April 2013
1 Thank dstravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Big place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lots of planes, indoors and out. Many displays, photos inside with information. Take your time! This is touchable history. Also has a nice, unique little gift shop.

Visited June 2012
Thank GoGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to March Field Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing