We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

March Field Air Museum
Ranked #1 of 41 things to do in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Living in the area and being a Navy Vietnam Vet Air Crewmen I appreciate the the Museum probably more then most. Good visual experience for children and young adults.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 65David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    84
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“See a Medal of Honor”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

There are dozens of planes to see. You want to go in late Fall or Winter. It is too hot to be outside any other time of year. 95% of the planes are outside. Inside on display is an actual Medal of Honor. This was the highlight of our visit. Every Memorial Day weekend they have a great air show here.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Huskerlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Many Vintage planes”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

A nice indoor museum with many ww2 and later vintage aircraft outside, including an SR 71. Something to see if you are nearby and not expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Mojave2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Little Gem for History and Aviation Lovers”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My family are history and aviation buffs. Last week we gladly paid 10.00 per person to park in the museum's parking lot while we enjoyed the air show at March Reserve AFB. Military Airshows are generally free admission events however we parked at the museum as it offers a smaller, less crazy venue than the full blown (walk til u drop) airshow experience. Additionally, you get to enjoy the museum inside and out, and the scrupulously clean bathroom facilities! I feel my admission fee goes for a good cause, as I have seen this little museum blossom from a being a rag tag of locally attained wartime knick- knacks and souveniers to a full blown well organized and wonderfully presented collection of aircraft, memorabilia and artifacts. Right now the SR-71 or Blackbird takes up a large amount of space inside the museum. To me, this beautiful lady deserves the honor at least for a spell. There are many aircraft to view outside and enjoy some of the memorials honoring veterans. The newly organized vignettes are displayed at the inside perimeter of the museum and opens into another new wing with additional displays, artwork, and vintage items. I see such potential for this "little museum that could". The only downside I could see is that for those not so keen on this type of history, there may not be enough "value" for the price of admission. On the other hand, it is not the kind of place that takes you hours and hours to view everything. It is a wonderful week -end outing that allows for fresh air, exercise, and still have time enough for a nice family meal.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 808czarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Airplane Nut's Haven”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

If you've ever passed March AFB/ARB on the I-215, you've seen not only the base, but a group of parked aircraft near the freeway.

Welcome to the March Field Air Museum.

There are planes on display that were not only based at March AFB/ARB, but were in service with the USAF through the years. There is an SR 71 Blackbird, a Vietnam era B-52, and others. Inside displays will keep the family busy for a few hours. (This includes the museum store).

Best times to visit are spring and fall when outside temps are tolerable. Summer months can be extremely hot. Visit during the summer in the morning hours. Group tours can be arranged by calling 951-902-5949.

Staff is VERY accomodating to our older veterans and there is a golf-cart tour for a few $$$ more. Your driver will chat about the various aircraft on display.

Care and upkeep of the aircraft comes from donations and the price of admission. Some of the aircraft need TLC and you'll see the faded paint. Keep that in mind when you view these priceless historical aircraft.

Admission:

Ages 12 + $ 10
5-11 $ 5
<5 $ n/c

If you're active duty or reservist and visit in uniform, there's no charge. If you are bringing a JROTC or Civil Air Patrol Cadet group, please call ahead for the group tour.

From the I-215, exit at Van Buren.

Enjoy.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to March Field Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing