We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Gourmet Detective

Gourmet Detective
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Gourmet Detective is southern California's classiest murder mystery dinner show. We offer a carefully crafted evening of murder, elegance and romance. Let our combination of award-winning theater and gourmet cuisine transport you to another time and place. Whether celebrating a birthday, anniversary, date night or a party with out of town guests, we'll make your special night an Evening to Die For. We're also a great choice for your company party or reunion of up to 100 guests! We've been professionals in the food and murder business since 1990. Our talented cast of professional actors will charm and delight you with an intriguing mystery full of magic, music and murder. Our professionally scripted mysteries have won awards and rave reviews: Winner of both the Critic's Choice Award for "Best Dinner Theater" and the "Best Kept Secret" Award from Orange Coast Magazine, and "Best of the West...Best Mystery Dinner Theater" from Sunset Magazine.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

It was so cool! Actors and actresses were amazing! There was funny moments and they really get everybody involved! Overall was a great expierience!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymous2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I was really impressed by the show.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Food was just okay, but the performance was excellent. I was really in shock with how good all of the actors were. All were a perfect fit for the roles...I was really surprised with how good this show was.

Thanks for a nice evening.

Helpful?
2 Thank Charliecutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Something Different”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Texas family visiting CA wanted something different for evening entertainment and chose Gourmet Detective. We enjoyed the actors mingling with the audience and involved us in the "who dun it" Food was served in increments and in a timely manner...but the taste was nothing to write home about. The play was zany with laughs. Value of the evening was a little pricey. Good evening of fun.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1stargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Night of Fun”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Gourmet Detective is the place to go for an entertaining evening when you are in Riverside. The whole evening is based on audience participation, so you have to be willing to join the party that the staff is throwing especially for you. The show is funny, corny, and cheesy, but you'll love it. Expect a raucous good time. Don't expect five-star food, or a quiet evening of romance.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marathonmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun stuff!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We went to their New Years Eve production in Newport Beach and it was all sorts of cheesy goodness and the cast knows how to have fun with an engaged audience.

The food was very good, and the play was more than worth it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Detective also viewed

 

Been to Gourmet Detective? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing