We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and delicious wine list!”
Review of Canal Street Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Canal Street Grill
Ranked #7 of 45 Restaurants in Ripon
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Bend, WI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and delicious wine list!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I travel to the area for work and whenever I'm in town I always go to Canal Street Grill. It is never an issue if the food will be great - it always is.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mandyjean8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    13
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SF
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice environment”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Friendly,helpful staff with a variety of fresh food choices and affordable prices. The bar area is nicely done and adequate for groups watching the game. Would go back, again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Radiant360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Wine List in the North Valley”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The food here is always very solid. I can gurantee that if I order a salad like the Canal Street Chop or a sandwich like the Tuna melt it is going to be really good. And at $10-12 the quality is outstanding.

What I do like best is the thoughtfulness of the wine list. While I'm a big fan of old world wines, if I have to drink new workld, the Grill has a great selection of Pinot Noir and Syrah from California. Usually they are righ around retail cost which is also a very big plus.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VinoVigilante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escalon, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Went there a few years ago and didn't care for it. Went there last week and it was delicious. Had the salmon burger.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Upscale food and service”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

When we have driven south to Modesto, we have often seen The Canal Street grill as we drove past on the west side of Ca. 99. Finally, we exited at Jack Tone Rd and had lunch at Canal Street.
What a pleasant surprise. We were promptly greeted by the staff and our experience onlt got better from there. Their menu had a wide variety at very reasonable prices. The food was delicious and served promptly. The deacor was comfortably elegant with excellent acoustics. Not the earm deafing sounds of thr chain restruants. What more can you ask for? Try their Monte Christo, It's to Die for. We now have an afordable, comfortablle "local" place to go. My only suggustion would for them to offer a Sunday Brunch
Kudos !

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Canal Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing