We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place and decent food”
Review of Foster's Bighorn

Foster's Bighorn
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Rio Vista
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun place and decent food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Foster's was recommended by some locals while passing through Rio Vista area. It was a fun place, unique and lots of surprises. The food was decent. It would have been nice if their policy of not taking credit cards was put more upfront or when the waitress is taking an order. Not a good thing to find out at the point of payment. I would go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarylandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    32
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galt
Level Contributor
157 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bighorn, big flavor and big animals!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have been coming here over 60 years, first with my parents, now I bring my grandchildren. Old time saloon type, rustic and always loud and fun. Be prepared (the first time) to be in awe! There is really too much to see and read and learn the first trip. Old timers will smile when they see your early facial expressions. They should charge to get in.
The food has always been good here, from the 1950's til now. Large back room for families and privacy. Please go here and be impressed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sonnybear47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This is a must see in Rio Vista”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a must see in Rio Vista. There is an exceptional collection of big and small game mounted on the walls. Lots of history.

The food is not bad as well.

They do not take credit cards, but there is a bank ATM just 75ft from the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stewart040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Big Game & American style food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We took a friend to Foster's Bighorn (our first time there) and were amazed by the big game exhibit there. Animal heads (mostly exotic) and stuffed animals such as big cats crowd the walls in all the rooms. There's a history of the restaurant on the front of the menu. The place has a very early/mid 20th century feel. The food was very good. My husband had a burger and my friend & I each had the chicken sandwich. Generous portions. The French fries were OK, but the onion rings were great! We talked to the food manager & he has plans to expand the food selection, which could be a great idea since it's a fairly limited menu.
For animal lovers, it may be a difficult environment. We admired the taxidermy skill that had been used in preserving all the different species, but it's definitely not for everyone. After seeing a documentary on elephants the night before, it was dismaying to see a huge elephant head as well as 2 sets of tusks on display. Still, the restaurant captures a period in history quite well and is definitely a unique experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amastelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cash only”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We went in and sat down and waited 15 min and finally started ordering when I told the waitress I forgot my debit card in the car and I will be back. She then told me they dont take debit cards!!! Seriously? I have debit card reader. Get with the program fosters. They suggested I walk to the nearest ATM!!! Im not paying an extra 2.50 to eat at your restarant...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foster's Bighorn also viewed

 

Been to Foster's Bighorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing