We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, but good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived late at night after a long day on the road. Lady at the reception was very friendly and gave us two options as we were travelling as 2 couples (2 smaller rooms or 1 large room). We chose to share a large room to save some money and we were only staying for 1 night. The room looked old, but was very clean. Everything in the room was perfect except for the air-conditioning. Although it worked fine, it was very noisy.

We woke up pretty early and had breakfast (which was included). Simple cereal, muffins, toast, waffles, coffee and juice. For the price we paid, this was all we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tvanhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 107 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

This motel is right outside the main gate to China Lake Naval Base. A big plus for us. And good value. It has a nice pool and picnic area all completely fenced in. Our dogs loved that it had a grassy area. A rare thing in this desert location. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff if very helpful and friendly.
Those are the pluses. Minuses are, the beds are hard and the pillows are almost non-exiistant. I went out to the truck and got pillows for the second night.. There are some places to eat with-in walking distance. but the major portion of Ridgecrest is quite a distance south.
The breakfast is the usual, waffles, cereal, juice and coffee.

Room Tip: This property has several buildings, a bob-tail truck is the only option because the roads between b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanne_F181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Best thing about this hotel is it was clean. One of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in. The bed was hard and it was noisy. Typical late 60"s or early 70's hotel, paper thin walls and a very noisy air conditioner. Sorry excuse for a breakfast. There was very little to eat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goshawk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for one night after landing at LAX having flown in from the UK. Was an hour late landing the got caught in bad traffic leaving Los Angeles. Wish we had stayed about 50-60 miles closer to LA as was really tired. However we had really warm welcome and was given a good room. The room was a little dated but nothing that we didn't expect for the money paid. The swimming pool looks lovely, wish we hadn't been delayed so could have used it. Used the wifi which was fast and worked well. The room had a fridge, microwave and tv. Didn't use the microwave but the fridge was clean and worked well. The tv had a good choice of channels. The only slight negative was the air con was quite noisy. Woke up really early the next morning, this was nothing to do with the hotel but was caused by still being on uk time. Had the free breakfast, this was fine, toast, waffles, porridge oats, juice, coffee and muffins. After here went to death valley. Which was a easy drive from Ridgecrest. It was a great place to stay overnight, didn't see much of ridgecrest, but it looked like a nice place, quite a few restraunts and bars.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The rooms were very good value for a nights stay. They were clean with a complimentary breakfast. The only downside was the air conditioning. You couldnt sleep without it on due to the heat,but it was rather noisy. All in all though it was fine for a night's stay

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Torres9_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just outside Death Valley to the South the town of Ridgecrest boasts several cheap hotel and motel options. From Best Western at the expensive end of the scale and with EconoLodge and America’s Best Value Inn being at the opposite end of this scale.
We selected EconoLodge for our stay in Ridgecrest as it served its purpose if being a place to stay for one night for then to move on early the next day. We paid $69 including internet and a well-equipped continental breakfast. That’s less than half price of Best Western a mile down the street. The room was from another era and I’m sure they loved it back then. The thick, brown wall-to-wall carpet makes it a little warmer in this desert motel. The warm water in the toilet bowl didn’t cool anything down, either. We were glad the noisy aircondition unit actually worked – the room went from desert heat to arctic cold in a matter of minutes.
Despite these few flaws and the free internet being out of order we actually thought EconoLodge was worth every one of the 69 dollars we spent for this one night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Price was OK but my room was shabby and didn't smell so good. A/C only did freezing cold. Free in-room WiFi is a big plus, except that it was very slow the first night and kaput the next. This was very frustrating as I had work to do. That said, the staff were genuinely apologetic and tried to arrange access to another network for rooms close enough to the source (did not work for me). I chose this motel based on price and proximity to Rt 178 but Ridgecrest is small and its only a short drive to chain restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OceanWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ridgecrest hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western China Lake Inn
Best Western China Lake Inn
#2 of 13 in Ridgecrest
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Ridgecrest
Clarion Inn Ridgecrest
#6 of 13 in Ridgecrest
120 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 13 in Ridgecrest
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ridgecrest
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#8 of 13 in Ridgecrest
8 reviews
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ridgecrest
SpringHill Suites Ridgecrest
#3 of 13 in Ridgecrest
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 201 W Inyokern Rd, Ridgecrest, CA 93555-2611
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Ridgecrest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Price Range: $71 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Ridgecrest
Ridgecrest Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing