We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff in a rather basic motel”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Small, typical motel with good rooms which are rather dark. We had a room on the first floor and a huge light from the corridor shining all night in our room. Apparently they good not switch it off during the night.
Our washbasin was blocked and there was no soap. The safe did not work and the access to WiFi was very irregular and difficult. Internet access was fine.
The breakfast was average but, as often in the USA, served on plastic plates with plastic knifes and forks that are hardly usable. This is really distasteful and not ecologic way of having a meal.
On the positive side we have to mention the very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed I, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our services. As our valuable guest, our goal is to make sure we provide a complete satisfaction for your stay at Quality Inn. I am terribly sorry for any inconvenience you faced with the hallway lighting and the washbasin. For security reasons we must keep the corridor lights on. However, your comment gives us a way to new ideas for us to improve. As for the breakfast, we try to keep it simple for everyone to make it standard. With that in mind, it is essential for the staff to contain plastic spoons and heavy duty paper plates for the purpose of hygiene and accessibility. We try to accommodate everyone in the best way possible. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 223 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

my family stayed here for 2 days on a small vacation during spring break. very nice motel and the breakfast was great.the beds were very comfable. motel is to far from shopping and resturants. the front desk is very nice

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about this place following some other motels we had stayed in earlier in the trip but this place was way better than we expected.

The room was clean and comfy and came with free fast wifi. The bed and the shower were good. I got the impression that they were still refurbing the rooms from the previous Comfort Inn as there were signs saying "coming soon" for certain things. The room was fine however. The bed in particular was very comfortable and we had a great night's sleep.

Similar to other places we had stayed the breakfast was terrible. As I mentioned in a previous review of another motel I am not sure how a plasticky bagel and a bowl of cheap cereal served in a cardboard bowl with lukewarm milk and a plastic spoon is "quality". Maybe it is because I am a foreigner and have different expectations but it meant another trip to Starbucks after we checked out to get a 'proper' breakfast.

Breakfast is not a deal breaker so would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here after driving through Death Valley from Vegas. It's a quiet hotel, with spacious clean rooms and good for an overnight stay. I had some trouble checking in but I'm not sure if that is due to Expedia or the hotel, that being said I was on the phone for 30 minutes trying to sort it out as the receptionist didn't know what to do which ended up costing me a lot (more than I paid to stay at the hotel) as I was on an international mobile phone. Included breakfast is good, but the breakfast room is extremely small and gets really crowded.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spazwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've been stopping at the Quality Inn, which used to be a Comfort Inn, for the past 6 years each Spring on the way to Death Valley. The property has never failed me -- always friendly service, clean and comfortable rooms at my idea of a fair price for the area, and a decent hot breakfast.
Breakfast includes eggs/sausage/waffles/hard-boiled eggs/yogurt/cereal/ packaged danish. Sets you up fine for the trip to the park, which takes about 2 hours.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowflyingowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here on the way back from Death Valley. (On the way in, I stayed at Best Western Plus, you can check out my other review). The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. A little bit of noise from the road but not too much.

The breakfast here starts at 5am as well. The only thing is the breakfast room is very small and they had to set up some tables outside the reception area. (Best Western Plus has a very nice dining area).

Service are good at both hotels and I will no hesistate to stay in either one of them next time I come through Ridgecrest.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank codebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel when it was Comfort Inn. When the management changed and converted this to Quality Inn they took the property and gave it rejuvenation. The bedrooms are comfortable, and the bathrooms are quite clean. Fixtures all work well. Water pressure is fairly strong. The heating unit puts out excessive warmth, so we dialed it down to 64 deg. Morning continental breakfast is great, with many selections. Unfortunately, someone had poured a substance on the belgium waffle griddle, so we couldn't enjoy the fluffy waffles. USA Today and local paper are available free of charge at the reception lobby. Staff is friendly and willing to accommodate requests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ridgecrest hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western China Lake Inn
Best Western China Lake Inn
#3 of 13 in Ridgecrest
465 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Ridgecrest
Clarion Inn Ridgecrest
#6 of 13 in Ridgecrest
118 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ridgecrest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ridgecrest
SpringHill Suites Ridgecrest
#2 of 13 in Ridgecrest
200 reviews
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#5 of 13 in Ridgecrest
107 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#8 of 13 in Ridgecrest
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 507 S China Lake Blvd, Ridgecrest, CA 93555-5005 (Formerly Comfort Inn Ridgecrest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Ridgecrest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Price Range: $84 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn, a Ridgecrest hotel near the Naval Air Weapons Station China Lake. The Quality Inn® hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Ridgecrest, less than two miles from the Naval Air Weapons Station China Lake. Death Valley National Park is 80 miles away and offers vibrant colors of spring wildflowers and sizzling summer heat temperatures often reaching 120 degrees Fahrenheit. This Ridgecrest, CA hotel is also close to Trona Pinnacles and the Joshua Tree Forest. The Quality Inn hotel is close to all major shopping and recreational activities in Kern County. Lake Isabella, Red Rock Canyon State Park and the Kern River are approximately one hour away and offer excellent fishing, hiking and whitewater rafting. Guests of this Ridgecrest, CA hotel will enjoy many full-service amenities including:•Free high-speed Internet access•Free local calls•Outdoor pool with sundeck•Fax and copy services in the lobby. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! This is a pet-friendly hotel. All spacious guest rooms and suites come standard with luxurious amenities like granite bathroom vanities and bathtubs, free coffee, safes, microwaves, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. For the business traveler looking for a relaxing night after a hard day's work, the hotel features luxury suites with whirlpool bathtubs and pillow-top mattresses. Looking for a romantic getaway? Why not upgrade to a romantic suite with a two-person hot tub and a pillow-top mattress? Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn hotel is the perfect place for anyone visiting the Ridgecrest, California area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ridgecrest
Ridgecrest Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing