We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stroganoff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mon Reve

Mon Reve
Ranked #2 of 68 Restaurants in Ridgecrest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Geyserville, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Stroganoff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Cute little place, needs some help with the decor but there's been effort and love involved. We started with French onion soup and the green salad. Both wre very good. The soup had lots of flavor and the expected cheesy christ. The salad was simple but fresh and nicely dressed and surprisingly generous given it's 3.95 cost. My husband shad the stroganoff which was very good but would loved to have a starch to mop up the wonderful gravy. I had the lentil soup which was highly disappointing. I expected a broth with lentils and veggies instead I got puréed . It even looked unappealing in its drap green color and texture much like baby food. I salted it tring to improve it to no avail. With the exception of the soup though we were pleased and we had very friendly service and welcome.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DiannaC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    27
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“From a small town to Paris!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have had the pleasure of dining at Mon Reve many times. The food is delectable, the service unique for its intimate and thoughtful care by the hosts and servers. It is always a pleasure to dine there. While I wish I had the room to enjoy the divine desserts at the restaurant, yet taking it home can be the icing on the cake so to speak! If you are in Ridgecrest make it a point to make a reservation (sometimes needed on weekends) and be prepared for a taste of the French countryside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VW_Luver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
214 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very fine restaurant find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We weren't planning to stay overnight in Ridgecrest, but we changed our plans after finding that a wonderful french bistro was hiding there. And, we recommend anyone who needs to stay within 50 miles of Ridgecrest, consider staying in Ridgecrest and dining at Mon Reve. The owners can explain why they located their excellent bistro in such an 'out of the way' town. In any case, it is a great food oasis for weary, hungry and discerning travelers. Mon Reve has excellent french bistro cuisine and the owners are very friendly. We obviously highly recommend Mon Reve.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daggertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We go here a couple times a year for special occasions. It's had the same menu for a number of years, but the food is always great and the owner is very hospitable. They recently started serving lunch again and it was really good. It's nice to have a place like this in our small town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Triciammh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gem in the high desert!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We were fortunate to find this gem in Trip Advisor. Everything our party of 4 tried was excellent. Veal, lamb and chicken all done to perfection. A great deal of time put into vegetable sides. Staff was very cordial and efficient. The owner stopped several times to check on us. Overall experience was comparable to the SF Bay area, at 2/3 s the price. Too bad it is so far away. Don't miss this one if you are near Ridgecrest!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Reve also viewed

Ridgecrest, California Desert
Ridgecrest, California Desert
 
Ridgecrest, California Desert
Ridgecrest, California Desert
 

Been to Mon Reve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing