We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I was impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN China Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN China Lake Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I was impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I think $90 for one night is ridiculous but i know if we'd have paid any less i would have been grossed out. The room was nice, a big jacuzzi, a big clean bed, updated amenities, a nice pool with sun and shade and a hot tub it was too hot outside to use. The transaction was painless and i enjoyed the break from driving. The breakfast in the morning was a nice treat. They had cereal, bagels, waffles, biscuits, and gravy, baked goods, and juice. The only thing that bothered me is how easily the door to our room was opened by our toddler. She could unlock the door and squeeze out of the space between the latch on the door and the frame. I moved the nightstand in front of the door when we went to bed, because she usually gets up before me and I was afraid she might wander out. Other than that, i was pleased and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    160
    66
    17
    10
See reviews for
91
149
24
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vidal Junction, California, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Staff was friendly and we got the last room. The owner has a suite above the lobby, and is huge, with great a/c which is needed in the summer. Would stay again, breakfast was very nice but ended at 0930 AM. This is not a bad thing BUT a lot of navy people live there because they have no rooms at the navy air base. Your tax dollars at work!

Room Tip: Ask for the owners suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boots K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
279 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I arrived here around midnight. There was still plenty of parking. The check in went smoothly, and the guy behind the counter was friendly and courteous. We had booked the 2-bed suite, room 201. It was a huge room. The room was clean, and the beds comfortable. The air conditioner worked well. You need it during the summer months! The downside is that this room is next to China Lake Boulevard, so at approximately 5:30 a.m., the traffic noise begins. We ate the free continental breakfast in the morning. It was an average breakfast. Though we did not use the gym at this location, it is open 24 hours. The check out also went smoothly. Enjoyed reading the USA Today newspaper that is provided to the guests. Overall, I would rate this hotel an 8 out of 10.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that is far away from China Lake Boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhout, the Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff at the reception desk.
The room was very clean.
Breakfast was better than we expected.
Stayed one night on our trip from Las Vegas to Sacremento.

Room Tip: no helpful tips ... sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

What else ya gonna do? There was a smattering of mystery hairs and the comforter duvet looked like it'd never been washed. But it's Ridgecrest. Not too many options.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ifurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK - South West
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Great location for a visit of the Death Valley, but the hotel is old and tired. There was an unpleasant smell in our room and the bedding smelled cigarette smoke although we were in a non smoking room and are non smokers. The room was also very small compared with other Best Western Hotel we stayed at. It looked more like a motel than a hotel. Breakfast was OK but limited...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

A very small room with too much furniture that was too big; standard Best Western expanded continental breakfast, friendly staff
Stayed as a stop over heading to San Diego

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ridgecrest hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ridgecrest
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 13 in Ridgecrest
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ridgecrest
SpringHill Suites Ridgecrest
#3 of 13 in Ridgecrest
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Ridgecrest
Clarion Inn Ridgecrest
#5 of 13 in Ridgecrest
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Ridgecrest
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Ridgecrest
Super 8 Ridgecrest
#8 of 13 in Ridgecrest
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN China Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN China Lake Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN China Lake Inn
Address: 400 S China Lake Blvd, Ridgecrest, CA 93555-4610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Ridgecrest
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN China Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN China Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus China Lake Hotel Ridgecrest
Best Western Ridgecrest
Ridgecrest Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing