We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasently surpized” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Buellton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasently surpized”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here to explore the Trona Pinnicles and Walker Pass/PCT (highly recommended for mild winter activity). I was pleasently surprized given some of the negative ratings I had seen earlier. The room was clean though dated and everything worked well. The heater seemed weak. That was not a problem because the room was warm and we had plenty of blankets that wern't needed. Breakfast was ok with cereals, pastries, OJ, milk. Coffee was ok. Price was lower than most and the family that ran the motel were very friendly and helpful. They wanted to charge $10 more than our prepaid price for the dog though the Hotels.com guy assured me that pets stayed for free. They let Clover stay for free.. I think our good experience was due to the low occupancy in February.

Room Tip: Go during low occupancy times. The family that runs it could get overwelmed by a crowd. Try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryBuellton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    41
    23
    14
    14
See reviews for
13
44
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were "walk ins" ~ 6pm after catching the Trona Pinnacles at sunset (highly recommended). Not many others there. Friendly folks at the desk. Nice pizza place in walking distance. Nice breakfast. Quiet (mid-week). Great price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerPaul18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

As one person put it; this place needs an overhaul. Furniture and dingy drapes were circa 1970 and the walls, ceiling (a couple dust bunnies in the stucco) are just screaming for a new paint job. My king size bed was so damn uncomfortable because you lay trenches, especially in the spot directly in front of the TV. Knob on air console was broke. Whole over all atmosphere was like a "no tell motel". I guess it's OK if one isn't overly picky, but I won't stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkfreud62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ridgecrest hotels

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I guess the first thing to say is that I have visited this motel in the height of the summer months for long stretches of time. I always stay here. The motel is definitely outdated but then the price was right. I cannot speak to some of the other reviewers experiences but mine were always good. The rooms were relatively clean, it had a nice mixture of mini-fridge, flat screen (sometimes), etc. It has cable and internet which both worked perfectly.

Yes the furniture is old - I've seen a lot of those in a lot of motels. And I have to admit that things aren't sparkling clean outside... again.... I've seen a lot of those in motels. What made me really like this place was that I really enjoyed the service. It is obviously family run and they do their best to see to your needs. I don't know what people mean when they say "foreign run" but given the warm welcome I received each time I came - I'd say let them all be foreign run.

Let me also say that one has to judge the place you stay by the price and the places around it. I realize that not everyone is going to see it my way - but I really enjoyed this place but perhaps that is because I enjoyed the family/staff. Either way - I always felt safe and the air condition always worked.

Room Tip: The closer you are to the office - the better internet works. Also - the hot water always works, som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was an awful motel. It needs a complete overall. It needs paint. It had a huge crack in the vanity, the drain the the sink was broken. Stains in the bathtub and cigarette burns on the furniture. Very limited hot water. The last straw was when my husband had to kill the cockroach. The bed , however, was comfortable. We would never stay here again and would think twice about staying at a travelodge!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibeabanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I definitely agree with all the other negative reviews~ This place was terrible for a supposenly nice mid quality motel chain! It doesn't even deserve a "Travelodge" name! Another foreign run motel that's outdated and run down (inside and out)! The temp. was 100 when we got there and the room felt about the same! The old air conditioner barely worked. The "high/low" control was broke off so you couldn't adjust it. Had to stuff the bottom of the drapes in the window sill so air would blow in. Room did not cool off for hours!!! The bathtub was stained. The shower was built for a 3-4 foot tall person and the ridiculous water faucet knobs were a joke that could not hardly be adjusted to get warm water. Coffee maker was badly stained but worked if you wanted "Arabica" coffee only! Group of Young adults in the next room were loud and noicey!! I relunctedly gave this place one star only because the bed was halfway comfortable. It should have been half that! ......Should have known by the low price it wasn't going to be good, but just assumed prices were lower in Ridgecrest because of the location! Boy was I wrong!.......(ps: don't go by what you see in the pic's of this old place on the internet either)!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this place!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amronmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ridgecrest hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Ridgecrest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Ridgecrest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN China Lake Inn
BEST WESTERN China Lake Inn
#2 of 12 in Ridgecrest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Ridgecrest
Clarion Inn Ridgecrest
#5 of 12 in Ridgecrest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ridgecrest
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ridgecrest
SpringHill Suites Ridgecrest
#3 of 12 in Ridgecrest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Property: Travel Inn
Address: 131 W Upjohn Ave, Ridgecrest, CA 93555-5020 (Formerly Travelodge Ridgecrest)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Ridgecrest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel Inn Ridgecrest is newly remolded Economy hotel which offers lots of amenities including, Free Continental Breakfast, Free High speed internet, Flat Screen TV with premium Channels, Corporate and exclusive 10th Night Free program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridgecrest Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Ridgecrest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing