We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Welcome stop after a day in Death Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Ridgecrest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Ridgecrest
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Certificate of Excellence
Senlis, France
Level Contributor
208 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Welcome stop after a day in Death Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

After much map-studying, I landed on Ridgecrest as a good choice to stop between Las Vegas and San Luis Obispo. My family had spent the entire day visiting Death Valley up and down and all around. We left no rock unturned. We arrived in Ridgecrest, ready to collapse. The reception people were extremely friendly, and the cookies offered were a welcome treat. The room was clean and very large, more than ample to accommodate a family of 2 adults/2 children. The bedding was comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was good, with its hot waffles and oatmeal. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marciebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    84
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
131
110
19
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a newer Hampton Inn and is located in a perfect position for a morning trip into Death Valley and other parks east of Ridgecrest. This Hampton is clean, well maintained with a friendly staff. Reasonable room rates.

Rooms are nicely furnished with reasonable space.

Not much going on in Ridgecrest, so this facility is almost like a little Oasis.

Room Tip: The trip to Death Valley is still 2+ hours from this location, but there is no other place to stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbern1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here on the way to Death Valley. This was truly one of the best Hamptons and the best hotels we stayed at. Excellent in all categories, and we travel a lot and are very discerning. We would stay here again anytime!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank BJnTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoast
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We frequently stay at Hampton Inn hotels. They are, for the most part, very reliable alternative to the luxury chains, typically upgraded, clean and quietly situated. In the big cities, we go after more amenities but, when on the road in need of overnight stay, you can't generally go better than Hampton Inn and the Ridgecrest Hampton is not an exception.
On our long journey from Yosemite, we wanted to find a place that is close to the Death Valley National park entrance. Ridgecrest is the ideal place if you are looking for great accommodation at a reasonable price. The hotel is about 40-50 minutes from the Rt-190 entrance to the park leading to the Father Crowley Vista. The road to the park is a national treasure in itself (see some of the photos here).
Location: in the center of a small city. There are few grocery stores around including Albertsons where you should definitely stock up on water and sandwiches/snacks for the road to the park. Very quiet, great night sleep, plenty of free parking.
Rooms: spacious, very clean, sinks separated from the toilet/bathtub, queen size beds and queen size sofa bed that does not sink in, beds and bedding is more comfortable and clean than in some Fairmont hotels.
Service: courteous, swift, subtle.
Breakfast: plenty of sitting spaces in the lobby, replenished assortment of typical Hampton Inn hot breakfast variety.
Would definitely stay here again on the way to the national parks. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovePlanAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I travel quite frequently and make a habit to stay in Hampton Inns or within the Hilto chain and this facility os by far one of the best Hampton Inns I have ever stayed in. Every facet of the hotel met or exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend this location to anyone staying in the Ridgecrest or China Lake area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It was nice to find a high quality place to stay in the desert. We stayed here on the way to Death Valley, again on the way back, and two days we stayed in the park. The price and quality of accommodations were much better than what we could find in the park. We recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay within a couple hours of Death Valley National Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here as the Death Valley hotels were booked, and were pleasantly surprised; much better than most of what DV has to offer in terms of lodging. I'm a big fan of Hampton Inn's, and this hotel did not disappoint, fresh, new feeling, comfortable clean rooms and comfy beds as usual. It is about 90 minutes from Death Valley National Park. There were dining options nearby; some great mexican food closest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ridgecrest hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Ridgecrest
SpringHill Suites Ridgecrest
#3 of 13 in Ridgecrest
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN China Lake Inn
BEST WESTERN China Lake Inn
#2 of 13 in Ridgecrest
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Ridgecrest
Clarion Inn Ridgecrest
#5 of 13 in Ridgecrest
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 13 in Ridgecrest
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Ridgecrest
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Ridgecrest North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Ridgecrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Ridgecrest

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Ridgecrest
Address: 104 E Sydnor Ave, Ridgecrest, CA 93555-5555
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Ridgecrest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ridgecrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Ridgecrest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Ridgecrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing