We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value, excellent service, A++”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent value, excellent service, A++”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

After reading through many reviews on bay area hotels I was trying to find a place to stay for a couple nights which is under $100, is clean, has good service, good amenities, and in a decent location.
This place exceeded my expectations for so many reasons. First, for $68 same day booking, there is no hotel even remotely close (in terms of price) that has all of the following.
King Size bed
free wifi
very clean +++
mini fridge and microwave
free cable tv
ac
a bathroom with no problems
room wasn't smelly
plenty of parking
outstanding customer service +++++++


I highly recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIRICHMOND, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Peter D,

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are absolutely thrilled to hear your feedback. Your feedback validates our approach: Provide the cleanest, comfortable room, at a great value.

Best Regards,

Anil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
7
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wales, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My family and I were planning a trip to San Fransisco, and when we were looking for hotel accommodations, we couldn't find anything in the city for less than $200 a night, which was a lot more than what we were willing to pay. I looked a bit further out and found America's Best Value Inn in Richmond, just a few miles past the Bay Bridge and I am so glad we did.
It is a short drive into San Fransisco, with easy access to the freeway, and is located in a quiet residential area, with grocery shopping nearby. The room was very clean and comfortable (with mini-fridge & microwave), there was ample parking, and front desk staff was very friendly and helpful in recommending some of the sites not to be missed in the city.
We paid about a quarter of what I would have cost to stay in San Fransisco (not to mention the cost of overnight parking there) and teh extra money allowed us to do a whole lot more during our visit!
Highly recommended and will stay there again on our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIRICHMOND, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Jason,
Thanks for taking time to write a review. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Bay Area. Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable room at a great value. Your review validates our approach.

Thank you

Regards,

Anil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

When we stay away from home its America Best Value Inn Richmond,Ca. It's home away from home! The staff is always excellent n always greets us with a smile. Their Service is also excellent and Reliable. Something you appreciate when you stay away from home. I give this establishment a serious THUMBSUP! A GREAT PLACE TO STAY.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelvin z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIRICHMOND, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Kelvin,

We appreciate the kind words. We take great pride in providing a clean, comfortable room for a great price. We appreciate you taking time to write the review.

Thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best Regards,

Anil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinoi
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a two star hotel so we were not expecting the Ritz (and did not get it.) But our room was large (two double beds with room to walk around), clean and quiet. We were supplied with shampoo and conditioner and hair dryer. Our room had a little refrigerator--we didn't need it, but it was there. Down the walkway I saw a vending machine for candy or soda. The girl at the front desk was very nice.

The number one rated hotel in the area would have cost $150 and this cost $67. Need I say more? I don't think I'd like to stay here for a week, but it was perfect for a short stay. Richmond is not the Bay Area's nicest town and has a terrible reputation, tho;ugh it has some nice areas. The hotel is right off the freeway and in a decent looking residential area. There were a few seedy looking characters in the hotel parking lot, so I imagine that on a weekend you might have some of the problems mentioned by other reviewers, but we were there on a Thursday night and all was quiet and fine.

There's no coffee pot or breakfast room, and no restaurant within walking distance, so you have to have a car. But there are plenty of good places a short drive away. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet, perhaps because it was recessed and not right off the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharonov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIRICHMOND, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Sharonov, thanks for the feedback. Our goal is to provide the best value without compromising quality. Our staff takes great pride in providing a clean and comfortable place to stay. In addition the amenities you mentioned, we are upgrading the rooms to add coffee maker and new bed covering in Jan 2012. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write a review. We look forwarding to seeing you.

Best Regards,

Anil Kumar
General Manager
Americas Best Value Inn Richmond Ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed last Friday and the place looks like it s meant for gang members. Yes the hotel is cheap but be wary that there are signs that say " Please lock your door". Yes the neighborhood looks like you are sleeping in the slums and you worry constantly if you car is going to get jacked. The room had to VERY VERY HARD BEDS and there is no give to the concrete floor. Its very hard. There is a window that seperates you from the counter clerk and I couldn't understand a word that she said. I will never come back because of the constant threat of gangs and being robbed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenkarenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIRICHMOND, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Hi Karen. Thanks for taking time out to post a review. We appreciate and welcome all feedback. I am disappointed you characterized the hotel as if it was meant for 'gang members.' I don't know what a gang member place looks like. I do know that even the most prestigious places usually have a sign that reminds guests to lock your car. Crime can occur anywhere. That said, we do take the safety and comfort of our guests seriously. During our last renovation, we replaced the beds in 50% of our rooms. We are planning on replacing the other 50% in 2012. As for security, we have not had any break in to any of our guest cars or have had property stolen from any of our guests in the 5 years that I have managed the hotel. Because of Richmond's reputation, we take added precaution in ensuring our guests safety is NEVER compromised. We have a great relationship with the city of Richmond and the officers assigned to our neighborhood beat. As a matter of routine, the police make at least one visit each night to serve as deterrent and to reassure the community. We also have 16 cameras that records all activity. You mentioned the constant threat of gangs and being robbed but you don't cite any specific incident or activity that would lead someone to think there is gang activity. I am sorry you felt different but respect your opinion. It's hurtful that you described the property as if it was meant for 'gang members.' I know of too many guests that would not agree with that description.

Best Regards,

Anil Kumar
GM - Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond Ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I was visiting my friends at San Francisco bay area for the last summer weekend. And I was looking for an affordable stay not too far away from San Francisco City. All the hotel properties in downtown SF were really expensive so I have to look out for something outside the city within the bay. I had couple of pleasant experiences with ABVI properties in California hence I decided to take a chance with ABVI Richmond. I was quite skeptical about the quality of rooms and services owing to the great prices they have. To my pleasant surprise my experience was extremely delightful. The rooms were clean and tidy, the housekeeping was prompt and good, the neighborhood was quite and the management staff was really helpful. Bed was clean, mattresses were of good quality, shower was clean. Upon request they also allowed me a late check out with no extra charge. Moreover its right of interstate 80 so is readily accesible. I liked this place so much that I decided to stay for couple more days and decided to comute 50 miles instead of trying a different hotel. Right now I am back in the bay area once again visiting a friend but regretfully the property was sold out so could not check into the same one again.


Bottom Line: Highly recommended if you are looking for a affordable accommodation with superior service and good quality rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalpesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The room I stayed was clean... The sheets and pillows were comfortable as well as the bed... The bathroom was up to date and clean, with plenty of new towels... Air conditioning worked well. And, the room had two chairs with a desk... Plenty of hangers and a dresser... The bed was firm with extra padding... The staff was pleasant and were knowledgable of the area with suggestions for food around the area...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keenroadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mira Vista
Hotel Mira Vista
#1 of 5 in El Cerrito
234 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#8 of 20 in Berkeley
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco
Address: 1598 Carlson Blvd, Richmond, CA 94804-5029
Location: United States > California > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing