We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget/Economical with Minuses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed September 2, 2011

If price and location near Berkeley is most important this may be a good buy.

PLUSES: 1) Low daily price, 2) Just off I-80 and 8 blocks from San Pablo Ave, 3) Just north of Berkeley city line on San Pablo Ave, 3) Staff reasonably friendly and helpful 4) Good parking. 4) Mattresses firm and quite good for a budget motel.


MINUSES: 1) No amenities, coffee, fridge, microwave; 2) One bed side light permanently inoperative, 3) Ceiling fire alarm hanging, 4) Most rooms on noisy Carlson Blvd a freeway off-ramp road, 5) Only one hand towel for two people when we checked in;
BETTER CHOICE. SLIGHTLY MORE EXPENSIVE AND SOMETIMES FULL: Best Value Golden Bear Inn, Berkeley at San Pablo and Cedar Ave.

Room Tip: A room on the second level may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BudgetTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 46 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

Husband & I stayed two nights here. We were not expecting a high quality room but even at the lower cost, we felt the following issues to be unacceptable: 1) The carpet next to the bathroom was wet & squishy in about a square yard area. Perhaps the moisture comes from having to constantly push the shower curtain out of the way when bathing. It is hung so close that it continuously attempts to wrap you like a mummy. 2) There is no fan in the bathroom so the window has to be opened to allow ventilation. 3) Privacy is then an issue because the stairs to the upper level allows viewing access. 4) The fridge in our room did not ever get cool and we had to throw out our food. 5) We had to request TWICE to have the porn channel blocked. The management blocked it after our first request but as soon as midnight rolled around, it was back on. That's offensive.

On the positive side (although not canceling out the negative), housekeeping delivered extra towels promptly on request and remembered to do the same the following day. The location was close to the freeway and to the home of our daughter whom we were visiting.

I would rather spend a little extra money and have real value. Spending less does not always equal value. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theidealist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIRICHMOND, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

I apologize for the issues you encountered. I am aware that we do have an issue with shower curtains. We have since replaced the shower curtains with magnets on the bottom. The curtains should keep the water in the tub area. In addition, we have also added splash guards to prevent water from overflowing. The bathroom does not have a fan, but a window screen ensures your privacy should the window need to be opened for ventilation.

We appreciate the feedback. It's an opportunity for us to improve our product and service.

Best Regards,

Anil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

It's possible that I've stayed in a drearier hotel, but not likely. Some paintings, such as the one over the bed and elsewhere had been removed leaving only the hooks; one of the lights next to the bed was broken; furniture was chipped. The place looked like it hadn't been refurbished for 30 years. In fairness, though, it did have a functioning microwave, free internet and small refrigerator, and the housekeeper did clean the room and replace used towels, cups, etc. Don't stay here if you're looking for anything but a cheap rate and a basic, dreary experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sampry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIRICHMOND, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

I apologize for the condition of the room. At the time of guest stay, we were in the process of remodeling all the rooms. The room in question was not completed. The furniture needed to be replaced and new pictures were not hung. However, we are pleased to say that the remodeling is complete and we hope you give us another chance. We believe we have an unbeatable combination of value, quality, and convenience. Feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns. Thanks for your feedback. We will continue to strive to make all your stays a great experience.
Anil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

So basically I stayed here for 5 days (4 nights). The outside location was very safe. It is I'd say a 25 minute walk to El Cerrito Bart. The service staff was some of the nicest I've experienced ever and I've been in many hotels.

The inside was much nicer than I had anticipated. No problems with anything and the overall decor was such that one would think they were staying in a high end hotel.

Room had a microwave/big screen TV/ fridge and FREE Wireless Internet which was awesome.

I left the hotel overall very impresssed and would reccomend it to anyone looking for an affordable quality stay in the Richmond area. This is a Richmond hotel where you will not be afraid to stay in and I can't say that for many of them in the area.

-J

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaden374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
330
Reviewed August 7, 2005

I have just returned from staying at this place and it was an absolute nightmare. A few months ago I spent almost 2 weeks at the NE Portland location and really enjoyed my stay, so I did not hesitate to book another Best Value Inn for this trip. Both the one in Portland and this one received Best Value Inn's 4-star rating, the highest they offer, and I can't figure out how that is possible. I should have known when I walked into the lobby and there was glass between me and the woman checking me in. But, I let it go, cities are dangerous, perhaps it was just a precaution. But it got worse from there. I had booked a king bed and when I got to my room it was a queen. I went back to the desk and was informed rather rudely that that room WAS a king (as though I were either blind or stupid) and I basically could accept it or leave. As my husband and I had an appointment in less than an hour, we had no time to argue. A few minutes later we got a call offering to move us to a new room. This time we got a king. The room (both rooms) smelled awful and the carpets were stained. There were unsavoury characters (by which I mean strongly resembling drug dealers and prostitutes) hanging out in the parking lot, coming in and out of rooms, and blaring music from their cars.

When we returned from our appointment to have some dinner and go to bed, we were treated to loud music and voices as well as the sound of glass breaking in the parking lot where a group of people were hanging out. After a call to the front desk things quieted down for a time and we went to sleep. All night we were awakened by doors slamming, cars peeling in and out of the lot, loud voices and loud music. At 4 am we were awakened by a woman screaming loudly on the phone, and it went on for half an hour and two calls to the front desk, before whoever she was arguing with arrived and they argued in person, finally slamming the door several times and leaving. My husband and I hardly slept between the noise and the fear someone was going to break into our car (someone did, in fact, slam their car door into ours and leave a mark). Not to mention the bedsprings in our backs. The pillowcases didn't even fit the pillows!!!

We had to drive home to Portland the next day and were exhausted all the way. I have never had such a bad experience at a hotel. We tried to save some money on this trip (altough with tax we still paid $75 for this horrendous place, WAY too much in any city) and we have learned our lesson. Never again. Avoid this place!!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank maria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clasolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mira Vista
Hotel Mira Vista
#1 of 5 in El Cerrito
239 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo
5.5 mi away
Days Inn Pinole Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
2.2 mi away
Economy Inn Richmond
Economy Inn Richmond
#3 of 6 in Richmond
18 reviews
2.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#18 of 20 in Berkeley
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco

Address: 1598 Carlson Blvd, Richmond, CA 94804-5029
Location: United States > California > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $108 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of Richmond, CA conveniently located within 20 minutes of both San Francisco and the city of Oakland. We are positioned just off I-80 for easy on and off highway access. This 2-story, exterior design Inn offers 40 nicely furnished guest rooms featuring satellite TV with HBO, free high-speed wireless Internet access, complimentary morning coffee and more. Our numerous parks and natural preserves offer a wide variety for hiking, biking, camping, and horseback riding. A short ride from all of the Bay Area's major attractions offering you the best of what California's coast has to offer. Come and enjoy the beauty and allure of the Bay Area at the Americas Best Value Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing