We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice renovated rooms, pleasent helpful staff, no complaints” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Richmond Berkeley

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
England UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice renovated rooms, pleasent helpful staff, no complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Lovely newly refurbed rooms. Great bed and free wi-fi, which could have been better. Got a very early check-in, which was very useful to us and the staff were great. Had a great view from the window of the north bay and no noise from the freeway which was a couple of hundred yards away. Overall no adverse comments, would return.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ABritEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    66
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
40
31
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nipomo
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is another typical Courtyard. Or what you should expect from a Courtyard anyway. The staff was very friendly and check in was fine. As a Platinum Premier I was given a very nice suite. Some Marriotts still havent figured that out yet. There is plenty to eat in the neighborhood and a large mall within walking distance. Its located just off the freeway and easy to find but I didnt hear the freeway noise. I would stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for four nights while in town on business. The hotel was very nice. The rooms were comfortable, and offered a small refrigerator and free WiFi. The rooms can be noisy with the Intersate close by. The staff was friendly and always available to assist.

There is a pool and hot tub, and a place in the lobby to get breakfast and dinner. Overall it was a good stay at a nice hotel.

CONS: Qthe area around the hotel is not the best. If you are unfamiliar with the area I would recommend not venturing out to far at night, especially on foot. This of course is not any reflection on the hotel, only life in a larger metropolitan are.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SouthFLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Being a Marriott Rewards Gold member, i see many different properties of theirs over time, and am staying mostly in full-serve Marriotts or in Courtyards. They usually have rather uniformly positive appearance, but there were several aspects of this hotel that gave me a rather negative impression.

For the positives: the location is rather convenient, which considering the name and reputation of the city, is somewhat surprising. The hotel is 1-2 min from I-80, from where you can reach much of the East Bay and even SF; at least if you stay away from rush hour, as traffic can be pretty bad especially as you get nearer to the Bay Bridge. There is a reasonably nice Mexican restaurant just across the street, with the only problem of at times slow service. We also liked a Japanese restaurant in a strip mall 200 yards to the west.

Now the negatives: the location is also close to a large mall - but read the reviews of this place first before expecting to go there. It is said to be going downhill very quickly, although being called Hilltop Mall, and has WalMart as one of their anchor stores, believe it or not. Many people rate it as the worst mall they know. About the hotel itself, despite renovations, it is showing its age. The windows are quite poor, especially since they let in a lot of noise, which is abundant regardless what direction you try to pick your room (we tried two). The bedding is not up to normal Marriott or Courtyard standards, they are hard and the blankets are not ample.

But the very worst must be the heating/AC unit. When it is on, it is incredibly noisy (seems the fan can only be on full) and really interferes with sleep, or even just talking to whoever else is in the room. It also produces an enormous volume of air flow, to the point that you risk (and we got) a cold because other than the bathroom, there's nowhere to hide from the strong draft. And yet, the air that comes out is very chilly - perhaps too high speed for the number of heating watts. But then, the thing has to cycle on and off to maintain temperature, and this really wakes you up at night. The energy saving bathroom light is also something to get used to, when you first turn it on it only has the power of a night light, the point we thought it's broken and has to be replaced. But we were told this is normal, we should just turn it on 15 minutes ahead of time - what?!?!?!?!? you have to time your bathroom break?

My final gripe is not with this hotel in particular, but with what Marriott is doing to their Courtyard chain. For many years I had loved them as a reasonably priced and very efficient business hotel. But their new design creates just one impression - cheap, cheap, cheap! The check in counters are now just little booths, with an imitation wood paneling that immediately screams at you "I am fake". Then there is silly plastic grass everywhere the fakeness, of which is really annoying. Can't we just have our original silk flower decorations back? Finally they have some kind of fast food bar, which is mostly overpriced and has poor selection - every real restaurant is much better, which wasn't the case earlier. Overall, the whole Courtyard experience reminds a lot of what's happening to the airline industry - save money wherever you can and jeopardize simple comforts. What's so sad about the Courtyard, though, is that it would not be necessary - the efficient elegance of the earlier design is likely not more expensive to maintain. The net effect is that it moves this earlier revered hotel chain dangerously close to the likes of Red Roof Inn or Comfort Inn. I commented about this to the bartender, and he said that he thinks so too, and so do the overwhelming fraction of guests. Sad sad sad.

Room Tip: High up on western side, facing SF bay - but it's noisy everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LeoPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

On the plus side, they have security in the parking lot overnight. This is required in this part of California! And the property is attractive, close to the mall, some decent restaurants around, not too far from Oakland, Berkeley, San Francisco, etc.
If you are a non-smoker, prepare to be disappointed. The cigarette receptacle is adjacent to the back door, leading to the pool and rear parking. It is not often cleaned, so the odor is overwhelming, particularly on a warm day. Guests and hotel staff like to congregate right at the door, forcing guests to walk through a wall of smoke just to enter the lobby.
The on-site mine-restaurant is nice, but very high priced! The staff is usually quite friendly. The selection on the menu gives some choices, so it is nice to have the chance for a snack late at night. Breakfast does not start until 6:00 am, don't even ask for something before then!
Housekeeping is usually good, but can be forgetful. They miss leaving fresh coffee if you make a pot. And they don't leave facial tissues if you happen to use up the supply tucked under the sink.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the bay have nice view - if you can get one. Rooms in back face the freeway, so ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed in a room with King bed and sofa. Very clean. Nice crisp sheets. Comfortable and quiet. Nice room to relax in having the sofa and coffee table. Staff was friendly. Newly renovated lobby into a bar/cafe was inviting. Starbucks coffee for those who enjoy their coffee. Happy hour wine is $6.25/glass. Great treadmills in the workout room. My only complaint was the desk promoted the new Starbucks ($), but never mention they have free coffee, too. It is hidden along a wall. Look for it - it's good. We always eat elsewhere because I feel their prices are always too high. I did see other guests enjoying drinks and food.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelsaloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Recently renovated, the rooms are nice - they put up new wallpaper, replaced the furniture, beds, carpets and televisions. The renovations appear to be ongoing - the lobby had the somewhat dizzying aroma of VOCs this morning. Yuck.

Upsides - Nice rooms, friendly staff, not crowded, lots of chain restaurants and mall stores nearby if that's your thing.

Downsides for me - While the wireless signal is strong and there is an Ethernet jack in the room, they make you go to a login page every time your device connects - for an iPhone or laptop, that's every time you wake it up. The connection speed is throttled to 50 kbps - about half the speed of a low-end DSL connection and only a few percent the speed of a cable modem. C'mon, folks. Get a $150/month Comcast business line, ditch the login page for a signature at checkin and let us have a decent internet connection!

Also, for some odd reason, the new televisions seem to specialize in obscure sports channels at the expense of ones like MSNBC, Comedy Central, and other basic cable channels. I guess the owner likes car racing... So between the throttled internet connection that won't do video and a television that won't do basic cable, you may be a bit wanting for entertainment here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rapbonelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
3.9 mi away
Hotel Mira Vista
Hotel Mira Vista
#1 of 5 in El Cerrito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Pinole Berkeley
9.7 mi away
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
10.0 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Richmond Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Richmond Berkeley

Property: Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
Address: 3150 Garrity Way, Richmond, CA 94806-1983 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Richmond/Berkeley)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Richmond Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Richmond Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Richmond/Berkeley Hotel Richmond
Courtyard Richmond
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Courtyard
Courtyard Oakland Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing