We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for an upscale dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Bentley's

John Bentley's
Reserve with OpenTable
John Bentley's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 282 Restaurants in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Selby Ln.
Transit: AC Transit
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
400 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good place for an upscale dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Had driven by the restaurant several times and was very pleased with our experience. The entree's were cooked to perfection and the service was impecible. Really liked the bar set up. City is lacking in a place to meet for business meetings and this will be a new choice. Very pleased.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1GiantsMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    24
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Snobby and Treated Badly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the El Camino, Redwood City location I'm reviewing. We'd heard great things about JB's so decided to give it a try. My husband and I arrived at 5:35 pm on a weekday. There were no customers there. We were asked if we had reservations; no we did not. We were told there was a large group expected at 6:30 and they would not be able to accommodate us. I said, "Well, that is 55 minutes from now, we can order something that doesn't take long to prepare, even just some appetizers and be out long before the group is set to arrive." She said no, maybe if we had made reservations, but "maybe come back some other time." Did I mention there was NO ONE THERE! My answer to her was, "Not in this lifetime." Good customer service and goodwill should dictate that you cater to the customer to the very best degree you can. We would have even sat at the bar (also empty) to eat. I just felt like she was looking down her nose at us. I had just gotten off of work, so we both were dressed nicely. Apparently we weren't important enough to eat there. So obviously I can't speak to the food, but I won't go back - ever! We left and went next door to Chantilly. Always wonderful food, service and they make you feel welcome, even in jeans.

Helpful?
Thank Notorious-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Definitely not worth a detour”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I don't understand how this restaurant gets such great reviews. Contemporary cuisine it is not, it's much more of a meat and potatoes type of place.
Very standard American fare, with few choices for vegetarians, we won't be going back.
The ambience is dark and there is really nothing crisp or contemporary about it. We were really disappointed because we trust tripadvisor so much and there were so many positive reviews here. I would recommend going down to the Middlefield road restaurant Donato where you might get a more authentic dining experience.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sherlock1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have been going to John Bentley's for years. The food is great, and the service is always professional & friendly. For lunch, I love the Chinese Chicken Salad - light but filling. For dinner, the grilled quail & fois gras starters are delicious. The scallops are really good, and they used to have a rack of lamb that was my favorite. I really wish they'd bring it back! The only negative is that portions in the fish dishes could be little more generous; they tend to be on the small side. For dessert, the Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake is a must!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlquestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you want something special,and not too pricey,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

The food was excellent, the service was good, and the choices on the menu was very good. 6 of my friends got the veal cannelloni, and all 6 liked it, , the Chinese chicken salad was good also.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbaralee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Bentley's also viewed

 
Redwood City, CA
Redwood City, CA
 

Been to John Bentley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing