We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I needed a convenient place to stay, nothing too fancy. The Comfort Inn was perfect. Friendly staff. Room in good order. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfnutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    17
    8
    12
See reviews for
21
8
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twain Harte, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had to check into this hotel around 1 am, and had to make the online reservation (using points from Choice Hotels) at the last minute, and this hotel was wonderful! Small lobby with locked door where you check in that late at night, but the manager was johnny on the spot, right there to open the door and check us in immediately after we arrived. I didn't even have to ring the bell to notify them I was there! Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The beds were soft and luxurious! All in all, we had a wonderful experience here and would definitely stay at this hotel when on business in the area again!

Room Tip: No tips to add - we stayed on third floor - it was quiet and more than adequate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meleani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwahnee, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Heater in room did not work and it took over an hour to take care of. It went out a second time and never got fixed. We also left our camera, by accident, in the room. We called later to be told that it was turned in and in the office. When we went to pick it up they couldn't find it. They promised to get to the bottom of it, but 6 weeks later after a promise to reimburse us and not returning phone calls we have given up on a good-faith solution.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Redwood City hotels

San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Not a horrible place to stay if one has business down on the peninsula and doesn't feel like driving back into The City. Positive item is that it's in a great location there on El Camino. Another plus is that the staff are helpful, especially Rema.

As for the facility, it's pretty worn and on the rough side. Not dirty really... just old. Rooms are of a good size and the linens and towels are decent in shape and quality. What this property requires is a complete renovation to bring it into the 21st century.

At the end of the day though it's perfectly fine for a limited time and they will toss you a decent rate.

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel seems to have the same noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WangCung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Redwood City for a one night stay last week and it's adequate for what you pay for.
Check in was good, but computer troubles seemed to befuddle the clerk, the beds were comfortable and it seemed quiet enough except for music blaring from somewhere in or perhaps near the hotel.
The pool is located near the back of the parking lot and wasn't all that inviting frankly, but there was a sauna which was nice and the Wi-Fi strength was good.
The breakfast room is located beside the main lobby and was spartan but good, hash brown patties, eggs, yogurt, toast etc, no complaints there.
However the hotel is in the middle of a renovation and I was dismayed at the amount of debris in the stairways, hallways and in the parking lot. If I had known about the extent of the renos and the construction noise early the next morning, along with the loud yet kinda catchy Mexican pop tunes, I would have demanded a better rate.
Truth is the renos are needed as the hallways are horribly dated.
Overall a tentative thumbs up.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisNeophite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Bay, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

overall this probably used to be a decent place to stay for business; there appeared to be an effort to upgrade the room I was assigned, but overall, the hotel in rundown and needs a refresh.
Hallway carpets were worn, walls need paint, rooms are very dated. everything in here looks to not have been updated since the day it was installed.
Thankfully, no bedbugs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoonCruzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Room was very nice, clean and fresh with fridge, microwave and TV. Comfy beds! The pool area was nice as it was fenced off from the carpark with plants and shrubs around. Dry Sauna was also nice. Continental breakfast served, waffles, bread, pastries, cereal, juice and coffee.
Free WiFi.
Our flight home was 6.30pm so the night before we asked if we could have a late checkout. We had to pay $20 due the time that we wanted to stay until, but it was worth it.
Hotel is situated well, 10 miles ish from Half moon bay, 15 miles from SFO and it only took us about 30 mins to Downtown San Francisco. Also nice restaurants & shops within walking distance. All round good place to stay - even the 13 year old liked it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bighan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redwood City hotels
0.6 mi away
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
#8 of 17 in Redwood City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#10 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#5 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1818 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94063-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Redwood City
Redwood City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing