We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes the staff is very nice, but otherwise...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
Moorpark, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Yes the staff is very nice, but otherwise...”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

When I saw the other reviews I had to double-check the address to be sure it was the same hotel. Yes, full credit to the staff. Otherwise...

True, it's 10 minutes or so from Stanford University. I was visiting a business in Palo Alto and my GPS got completely confused (which others told me is not unusual, so go with good directions.) El Camino Real is a very busy street with heavy traffic pretty much all day and no shortage of signals. At this time there's also road construction, so driving is not a pleasant experience.

The hotel is motel-style, with all rooms opening to outside corridors. It made me nervous about leaving my blackout curtains open, with people walking past my front window. It is however surprisingly quiet. The workspace is pretty good. Internet is free, fast and reliable though it forces you to log on every time. The small fridge and microwave tucked into a corner are very useful.

The bathroom has a shower and toilet area separate from the vanity. It closes with a heavy door and I found it a little claustrophobic. Bathroom amenities include soap, shampoo. conditioner, lotion, and bath gel.

The breakfast includes a good assortment of hot options as well as the famous cinnamon rolls. Oatmeal is instant and the only fruit is bananas. Coffee and granola bars are always available.

The fitness center is the lowlight of the facility, badly in need of updating with two ancient treadmills and a couple of rickety weight machines, barely usable.

The area is run down, though it feels perfectly safe. I found dining options quite scarce unless you want to brave the traffic on El Camino Real again. There is a "room service" delivery menu. I ended up buying food at the Target down the street.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbiesOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear DebbiesOnTheRoad,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortfall you have experienced. I appreciate you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    53
    24
    11
    12
See reviews for
54
18
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis,TN
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Had a Business trip for a few days in Redwood City and this Hotel fit the bill perfectly - Convenient, decent sized rooms, wif-fi ,breakfast, parking etc. Staff was very helpful with recommendations for sightseeing/restaurants etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pae_cyberdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at this hotel which is very near our son and his family. It was very clean and had a great breakfast. Only downside was ice machine was broke and lights on the balcony at night which shine in the window but despite that wee will surely stay here again. Restaurants and shopping are close by and not far to Stanford and Stanford Mall.

Room Tip: Away from the street as it is a little busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaVacation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I never thought I would say that a hotel was a "bargain" at $200 a night, but considering the location (Redwood City near Palo Alto), I guess this hotel fits the bill - at least when compared to the $500 "business" rate at the Four Seasons where my business meeting was.

So short and sweet is is the pros and cons of this place:

PROS
- Good for business travelers - free WiFi, simple breakfast, newspaper - a lot like Hampton Inn; makes me cringe that the Four Seasons charges $15 for WiFi on TOP of $500 a night
- Nice clean room, desk space, plugs, lighting, flat screen TV, towels not paper thin; full set of toiletries (shampoo, soap, etc.)
- Room had a little "welcome" packet with water, popcorn for microwave, candy and granola bar; probably a personal touch from the franchise owner and not a standard a HIE
- A short distance from Palo Alto (for anyone visiting Stanford or nearby business), generally for less money
- only 30 minutes from SFO during non rush-hour peak

CONS
- Walls a THINNER than paper thin - room next door had a snorer and it sounded like he was in the room
- Motel style exterior entrance to rooms vs. central hallway - tends to make street noise and hallway noise more apparent
- Not much in the way of dining in short walking distance; there is another HIE closer in to Redwood City central with food and grocery within walking distance; though it did not look as nice as this HIE
- For $200, though it may be relatively cheap for the area, I'm expecting an environment closer to Marriott Courtyard or Hyatt Place vs. Hampton Inn; cheaper but still not a great value

Bottom line, would I stay here again? Probably if I had to but might consider one closer into Redwood City or Palo Alto vs. in between.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daddy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear daddy00,

Thank you for your considerate review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We understand the importance of a good nights sleep and I am sorry for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay with us.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

About 5 mins drive away from 101 in a nice quiet location (even though it's along El Camino Real) with many dining places around. Room is clean and spacious. Bed is very comfortable. 10 mins to Stanford Shopping Centre, 2-3 mins away from other malls.

They used to have a recreation room with a large jacuzzi and steam room but it has been unavailable for a while, a long while it seems. I hope they bring it back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clubhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here and found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and well appointed. And the complimentary water bottle and treat bag accentuated the friendly atmosphere. The breakfast buffet included eggs and fresh, hot pancakes. I would definitely recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was expecting the usual "bland" experience that I have had in the past with "chain" lodges. I am happy to report that is was pleasant surprise!
The staff was very friendly and accommodating not the usual "indifferent" service. The rooms were VERY clean, which is usually an area of concern for me. The room was large with a sofa, and a working desk for my computer. Nice appointments and good linens and fabrics, not the usual "cheap" furnishings. The lighting was great, not the usual florescent overheads. It was quiet and I spelt great. There were nice amenities in the room, and the complimentary breakfast was very nice. Plenty of different options for all tastes, and awesome cinnamon rolls!
This was very good value for the price! I will definately stay here again!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redwood City hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
201 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,394 reviews
1.4 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#9 of 17 in Redwood City
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Suites
1.3 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
#7 of 17 in Redwood City
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City

Property: Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City
Address: 2834 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94061-4002 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atherton Park Inn & Suites is an extended-stay hotel in Redwood City, California for business travellers and family vacation with spacious guest rooms, onsite restaurants, fitness centre, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and easy access to Stanford University, Stanford Medical Centre & Downtown Palo Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Redwood City Hotel Redwood City
Holiday Inn Redwood City
Redwood City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing