We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb breakfast”
Review of Bay 223

Bay 223
Ranked #24 of 300 Restaurants in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shoreline Blvd.
Description: Bay 223 displays a warm and vibrant decor featuring contemporary Bay Area French cuisine. The chef's specialties at Bay 223 offer an exquisite blend of local ingredients and flavors. The menu is known for its creative and balanced selection carrying French and Californian influences. The relaxed neighborhood feeling is enhanced by a magnificent vista of the lagoon. For that special occasion, be sure to reserve the exclusive private dining room accommodating up to 14 people.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great selection, many healthy options, stellar service. Breakfast at Bay 223 was one of the few highlights of my stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay hotel.

Thank speechino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Bay 223, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Bonjour!

The entire Sofitel San Francisco Bay team would like to THANK YOU for your lovely message and great compliments.

It is really a great reward for all of us to see how deeply you enjoyed breakfast at Bay 223. We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxury service with French flair.

Thank you again for choosing us and for taking time to share your experience. We hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Sofitel San Francisco Bay.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 69 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place is located in a nice Sofitel hotel, beautiful bay views. I ate there twice and the experience was completely opposite both times. So first time on 1/23/2013 went for breakfast the experience was amazing, great food, great staff and served well. Then decided to have breakfast on 2/1 and this time complete opposite. Waited 18 minutes before a server showed up asking "Are you ready to order"? Her attitude was in no way friendly anyway asked for Juice and coffee which took another 5 minutes without asking what type of juice I want and when i asked her that I do not want orange juice her response was so what do you want. Just completely opposite of what a Luxury place can offer......

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank trl_pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at Bay 223, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderfully delicious meal that was unique, flavorful, perfect portions with a great wine list. The service was fantastic. The menu choices were plentiful and expensive, but well worth the price. The one negative is that the lobby bar is adjacent to the restaurant and very loud, often making it difficult to hear conversations at our table. Perhaps a non Business evening will be more quiet? Well worth a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pastalisious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Bay 223, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Bonjour!

The entire Sofitel San Francisco Bay team would like to THANK YOU for your lovely message and great compliments.

It is really a great reward for all of us to see how deeply you enjoyed your meal and experience at Bay 223. We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxury service with French flair.

Thank you again for choosing us and for taking time to share your experience. We hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Sofitel San Francisco Bay.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a very nice restaurant/bar for the hotel. Expected prices to be high so not a surprise. Wild recommend eating here if your company is footing the bill.

Thank CHRIS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Bay 223, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your food experience at Bay 223. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Price was reasonable for what we got... French press coffee, 2 eggs benedict, side of bacon, fresh squeezed orange juice, chocolate croissants all came to about $46. Service was a bit slow but extremely attentive (probably slow due to very full restaurant).

Thank RumRunner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Bay 223, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your experience at Bay 223. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay 223 also viewed

Redwood City, CA
Redwood City, CA
 
Redwood City, CA
 

Been to Bay 223? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing