We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Place !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atherton Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redwood City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atherton Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Redwood City B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

I`ve stayed in many B&B`s over the years ---This one is by far THE BEST! -- BEAUTIFUL BIG rooms--very comfortable bed---wonderful host--super breakfast---nice,quiet courtyard---close to Stanford, Palo Alto etc.---you are gonna LUV it------bigjohnq1@msn.com from Boulder , Colo

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjohnq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
26
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Nevadas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

The Atherton is a beautifully built and maintained inn, about 35 minutes from the heart of San Francisco. The neighborhood is quiet, and the grounds are cool, green, and beautiful, with decks and patios for the guests. Both the guestrooms and the day rooms are spacious and comfortable. We really enjoyed the place, but the innkeepers, Tricia and Jim, made our visit really special.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaShaSierraNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

If you want to enjoy some real R and R and R---this is the place. The Innkeepers are a quiet pleasure---they make you feel welcome however, they don't follow you around. The fresh squeezed orange juice is a real treat for those of us who live in Chicago. The bed so comfortable, we actually bought one and it is on the way to us. What can I say? Just a beautiful setting and ideal place to rest your head. Oh, by the by, the breakfast----the best.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillyartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
296 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

Spacious rooms that are designed for comfort and relaxation. Attentive owners and excellent chef contribute to home like feel. Convenient to main highways but in quiet residential area. Everyone very interested in sharing experiences and suggestions for local activities.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

My Husband and I stayed at the Atherton Inn in order for him to visit his doctor at Stanford. On two previous occasions we stayed in cookie cutter establishments that left us cold.
What a difference staying at the Atherton made. It is just perfect. A real Inn with owners on hand to make sure everything is perfect. Don't stay here if you are expecting a bed and breakfast with lacy curtains, lumpy beds and that certain musty smell. Just check out the photos on their web site and what you see is what you get along with a great breakfast.
Our only regret was that we could only stay one night.
Thank you Tricia and JIm

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ACambrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

My wife and I live in Hong Kong and spent three weeks at the Atherton Inn as I recuperated from hip surgery. Innkeepers Tricia and Jim were wonderfully friendly and supportive and could not have been more helpful. We saw them similarly accommodating to all guests. The rooms and facilities are first-rate: spacious with comfortable beds and all amenities. We enjoyed the Chardonnay Room because it was bright and sunny all day. Breakfasts are cooked to order and will last you through the day. There was always an interesting, eclectic group of other guests at the breakfast table each morning. There are treats and drinks available all day. While there isn't a formal business center, Tricia and Jim were more than willing to help with faxes, etc. The location of the Inn is perfect for anyone visiting Palo Alto, Menlo Park, Atherton or anywhere on the Peninsula up to San Francisco. Five stars, easily!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HongKongTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

We chose the Atherton because we wanted somewhere close to where our daugther was working and somewhere that was more warm and friendly than large chain hotels.Wow what a good choice. The owners and staff not only made us feel welcome but invited us to see the Inn as our temporary home from home. The rooms were very clean, well furnished and of a high standard. Nothing was too much. Most things were available, from a complete medicine cabinet to access to the contents of the fridge and invitations to join them watching TV when we were at a loose end. When we spoke to other guests they were all regulars and I can understand why. We would definitely stay here again and that is most unusual for me as I am very fussy. Excellent.

  • Liked — friendly
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Oakhurst01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
2.0 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#10 of 17 in Redwood City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
#8 of 17 in Redwood City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Cottage Inn
Red Cottage Inn
#6 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton Inn

Property: Atherton Inn
Address: 1201 W Selby Ln, Redwood City, CA 94061-3524
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Redwood City
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing