We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”
Review of Alana's Cafe

Alana's Cafe
Ranked #12 of 284 Restaurants in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Fresh, local, house made comfort food in a unique Victorian house & garden. There are four dining rooms offering cozy seating while the patio offers pleasant outdoor dining. Serving breakfast and lunch daily we are also an ideal location for personal and business related affairs such as weddings, rehearsal dinners, birthdays and company Holiday parties.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Good food, beautiful outdoor area--except when the wind blows the tree stuff on to your table, good bistro food. The inside is an old Victorian with small rooms. Their quiches and salads are very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 5150rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“oatmeal pancake”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A beautiful setting in a converted old house with many rooms that is setup to accommodate families with children as well as couples. The food has the authentic home cooked taste and look and portions are very generous. The coffee for a drip style is surprisingly good and the service is very friendly and punctual. If you are planning a late breakfast on Saturday or Sunday, allow a good 20-45 minute wait. Oh did I mention the oatmeal pancake!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimiYek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chowchilla, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This restaurant was such a unique experience. We ate on the front lawn of a house that served such a wonderful breakfast! Scones were amazing, as well as the omelet options. Loved the overall experience. Service was a little on the slow side, but it gave us time to soak in the sun and enjoy our morning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ixjc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique restaurant”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I have loved this restaurant since the first time I have eaten here. Being a local of Redwood City there is rarely a wait to be seated. I love setting outside when the weather is good. They serve breakfast and lunch only.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizsnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Great food, wonderful pancakes, too dog friendly”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Service is excellent and food is fresh with good portions. We ate on the patio next to a dog that was shedding hair all over and several members of the wait staff came over to pet him, sending more dog hair into the air around us. Everyone is friendly and the location is peaceful, but we'll eat inside next time!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve_0850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alana's Cafe also viewed

Redwood City, CA
Redwood City, CA
 
Redwood City, CA
 

Been to Alana's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing