We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, no frills, nice amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Reviewed August 1, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 2 months this summer on an extended contract while we were working in the area.

Good:
- Great staff, extremely helpful with a wide range of requests.
- Beautiful bird sanctuary wetland right behind the hotel with nice jogging, walking trails.
- Excellent location for Oracle, EA, etc.
- Cookies everyday!
- Pet friendly! (And the maids were nice to our 2 cats.)
- Starbucks coffee & mixed complimentary continental breakfast
- Free highspeed and wireless internet.
- Good price.
- Mini-kichen
- Walking distance to grocery store, 6 resturants, gym, bank, etc.
- Excellent access to the 101 Freeway, SFO airport, San Jose, etc.
- Did I mention that the staff deserves an extra gold star for treating us so well on many occasions this trip? They do.
- Good reward points program.
- Free parking.


Bad:
- The area is a bit dead. Not the hotel's fault, just very far from an exciting place to stay. For biz travellers only, really.
- Workout facility is a B- at best. New equipment, but tiny, no weight machines, etc. Better off walking on the wetland paths.
- Nothing elegant or opulant about it.
- No pool.

A few further comments:
- As noted by others, yes, there is a tiny airport next door, but it's for little Piper planes and the like, and was never an irritation to us.(Occasionally cool to watch the planes take off from so close.)

- The wetlands walk seems to attract a few sketchy characters at night. A few homeless and men seeking men, I suspect. Might want to avoid late night solo walks down there... Unless you're seeking, I suppose.


-tf

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank tf_texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 111 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2008

My husband, our two small children and I enjoyed our four-day stay at this hotel. We loved having a kitchen to store our snacks and picnic lunches, as well as being able to use the plates and silverware.

Our room was located right next the San Carlos airport, but we did not have any issues with airplane noise. The small planes don't make that much noise. The kids loved looking out the window at the airplanes.

The hotel sent me an e-mail during the week prior to our stay informing me that the hotel was under construction. The only way the construction affected us was that the breakfast was served in a smaller room with only three tables. We needed luck and strategy to get a table for the four of us. (We didn't think the business travelers would enjoy sharing a table with us when our two-and-a-half-year-old was eating yogurt. It's messy.)

The other problem we experienced - and I'm not sure whether this was due to the construction or not - was that the water in the shower / bathtub took an excessively long time to warm up, and never really got that warm. It's a waste of water to run the water for 5 minutes or more just to get it warmed up.

We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful, and they were really nice to our kids (a good way to get the parents on your side!).

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank elilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the hotel while he was in the area for an intensive 3 week training course. We've never stayed in a hotel that left me with such mixed feelings. As other reviewers have said, the location of the hotel is great with respect to access to highways, within walking distance of a shopping center with a supermarket and at least 5 places to eat including a sandwich place, Mexican fast food, excellent Chinese restaurant, good Italian food, etc., and even conveniently located for local bus service and a Caltrain station.

However, it is also located right next to San Carlos Airport, a local commuter airport with small planes taking off and landing all day. And the first week we were there, they were doing maintenance on a part of the airfield closest to the hotel so since I was in the room in the mornings I was greeted with a serenade of jackhammers and other construction equipment. Even just the noise of the airport was a pain until we had our room changed. The part of the hotel we were in consisted of 1 bedroom suites while most of the rest of the hotel had studio suites. If the 1 bedroom hadn't been a necessity for us, it would have been no problem getting away from the noise earlier and the hotel management did there best to accommodate us as soon as there was a better room available.

In the time we were there I found every staff member I dealt with from maids to managers to be friendly, helpful and generally interesting in trying to improve our stay. Still, putting a hotel right next to a commuter airport without adequate sound insulation is a problem.

As I said we were in two different one bedroom suites during our stay with slightly different configurations. The 1st suite had a decent sized bedroom with a sliding door closet, two nightstands with table lamps, a 4 drawer hutch, a 27" TV on a TV stand with an open shelf and an addition drawer for storage. Our main complaint was about the bed. We generally prefer a firm mattress and this one was definitely not. Still we adjusted with the help of bed risers we use to raise the head of the bed. That made it at least bearable. Mostly we didn't hear too much noise from the other rooms.

The main room had an attached kitchen with a full refrigerator/freezer, stove, microwave, dishwasher and an ample supply of dishes, pans and utensils. The living room area had a desk w/chair, a couch and chair, a 27" TV on the same stand as the one in the bedroom, 3 table lamps on two end tables in the living room and on the desk. There were overhead lights in the entry way, over the dining table, and in the kitchen. The bathroom was a nice size with a good shower/tub combo, adequate lighting and electrical outlets, and drawers in the cabinet under the sink. Although the living area was a little small, it was a very functional design and everything was in pretty good condition. Both the living room area and the bedroom had separate temperature controls that guests could adjust as needed and windows that actually opened which was a blessing given the fabulous weather we had. There was also a sliding door closet in the entry way with an ironing board, iron, as well as an extra blanket, sheets and pillow cases. I assume the extra linens were for making up the sofa bed in the living room, but since we didn't use it I never looked for it.

The main difference in the second suite was that the bedroom was more cramped and the living area was larger. Given that we spent more time in the living area the extra space was definitely appreciated. It was also farther into the hotel and thus a greater distance from the airport which made a big difference.

So I would definitely recommend this hotel if it weren't for it's proximity to the airport. However, if you are booking a studio suite you have more options in the part of the hotel farther away from the airport and that would be fine. If I were coming back to the area, which I plan on doing because I just fell in love with it, I would either make sure I could get a 1 bedroom suite away from the airport or else book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Audra631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

I was offered a complimentary stay here by their sales department, since I was considering a long-term stay. The location was a little inconvenient for where I was working, but it would be very convenient for a lot of high tech companies. It's practically across the street from Oracle.

This is a really nice TownePlace suites. The rooms are nice, the beds are comfortable, it's got a good selection of CATV channels, the hotel is close to the bay and to 101, and there is a grocery store, Bank of America, Starbucks, GNC and spa less than a half a mile away. If it had been convenient to my project, I would have given it serious consideration.

I was most impressed with the staff as well. Although I didn't choose this location for my project, it was a great hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marihelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

Extremely convenient to the area -- easy to get to businesses or the highway. Shopping plaza with grocery, Starbucks, casual dining just around the corner. Easy to get to SFO airport.

Clean throughout and consistent, friendly service.

There's a great pond/miniature lake with paved greenbelt out back to take a brisk walk around. Very nice feature.

Generally quiet, since most of the guests seem to be business travelers.

Continental breakfast has all the usual items -- yogurt, cereal, fruit, bagels, etc. There is a good selection for those who are heart-healthy, like the lowfat yogurts and the healthier cereals.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank iminsarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

My husband stays at this property for extended business trips, and sometimes I accompany him. It has its good and bad points. Good points: the rooms are clean and set up as studio apartments with mini-kitchens; the hotel is conveniently located to the 101, but not too close -- it's right on an inlet with walking path - so you can get a sense of being near nature; they have continental breakfasts in the a.m. and cookies in the afternoon - with coffee in the lobby at all hours; free wireless; there's a little workout room and spa - nothing fancy; price is closer to the budget end if you're staying for an extended period.

Bad points: the rooms are not well insulated for sound - if there are neighbors in the room next door or upstairs you will definitely know it ; the beds are not comfortable; no fancy amenities such as room service or fluffy robes or spa like toiletries or morning papers, etc.; the staff is hit or miss - more friendly than not, but a definite lack of consistency with customer service.

the noise and uncomfortable beds are the worst problems - especially if you're staying more than a couple of nights. no amount of cookies is going to make up for a poor night's sleep. I'd recommend going elsewhere in the area - Summerfield Suites in Belmont is a nicer place overall.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky_636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
0.8 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,446 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
207 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Redwood City
Courtyard Redwood City
#11 of 17 in Redwood City
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
30 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
1.9 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#4 of 17 in Redwood City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores

Address: 1000 Twin Dolphin Dr, Redwood City, CA 94065-1133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range: $130 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott and Hotwire so you can book your TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores Hotel Redwood City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing