We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Average - Not Quite Very Good”
Review of Best Western Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Having been to Redwood City on previous occasions, I was a little concerned when we arrived at this hotel. This hotel is not in the central business district, but more in a residential neighborhood on the outskirts of town. We arrived late in the afternoon around 6:00 p.m., and I was informed that my room was not ready. The clerk stated that they were short handed on housekeeping staff that day. The clerk made a phone call and we were given a room within 10 minutes. I do have to say that the staff was friendly and helpful even while dealing with this issue. The room was a pleasant surprise and included a mini fridge, complimentary water, marble flooring & countertop, and a nice sofa in addition to the beds. The room was clean and in very good order. The included breakfast was very minimal, but it did the job. The breakfast consisted of cereal, breads, yogurt, and a waffle maker (good coffee also). The problem is that the breakfast area literally seats 4-5 people at a time, and is extremely small. You're better off taking your breakfast to the room. There is a grocery store across the street, a fast food restaurant and gas station next door, and a great little Mexican restaurant in the strip mall next door - La Roca Mexican Restaurant. The clerk recommended this restaurant and it was a big hit with our group. While not in the best part of town, I never felt this was an unsafe area. I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel and would consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artwrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 213 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 7 night while in the area for work. The area is nice and has a safe feel about the neighborhood. The hotel is quiet and the staff is very nice. The room is clean although there were a few maintenance items that needed fixing. The toilet was loose on the floor and moved when you sit down (no big deal) and the refrigerator stopped working at the end of my stay. This was not a big concern as most hotels do not provide a refrigerator. This hotel has a large parking lot for bigger vehicles as we parked 2 large rental trucks with plenty of room for the other guests. Lots of food places in the area with many walking distance. The rooms are all open to the outside so no stuffy hallways to deal with. They have a nice pool that almost every room faces but do not have a spa. Overall worth the money and had a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: All room look good at this hotel and face away from the street-very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The service was very accommodating. The hotel employee at the front desk went out of his way to bring us water bottles late at night, and did not even want us to pay him or tip him. There is ample parking. The continental breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at this motel for 4 days/3 nights, just this last weekend. We were visiting family in the area and it was very close to where they live. I was a bit disappointed at the shabby condition of the room, but the location made up for it. Rioght on El Camino and very close to 101, plus downtown Redwood City shopping.
The room itself had the necessities for a short stay, except it was odd that there wasn't a clock or radio in it. I couldn't help noticing wallpaper peeling at the seams, a large painted-over rectangle on the ceiling where there must have been water damage, a greasy looking stain on the desk and a hole in the wall behind the toilet. There was a small frig, microwave and coffee maker, but we never used them.
The best part was that "Stacks" breakfast restaurant was next door. Since BW's continental free breakfast was lacking, it helped to have a quality meal so close.
If I didn't get a discount with AARP/Expedia, this would have been over-priced for what they offer.

Room Tip: Try not to get something near the parking lot, end rooms, as the traffic noise is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VOgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Best deal in the area, & believe me I've looked. Older motel but well maintained, very clean, nice staff. Has a pool (I've never used it though). Great location -- can walk to Starbucks and a couple of restaurants ( Stacks breakfast & lunch place is right next door). Right by Whipple, 5 min to 101, & straight back through the neighborhood to Edgewood & 280. The train tracks are nearby, but that's the case for many of the peninsula hotels along El Camino, and I don't notice the train noise myself. This is my favorite (discount) place to stay between Palo Alto & San Francisco.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hibachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This hotel was quite nice. I was in the area for business and was glad I stayed here.
The property looked nice and rooms were clean. Staff went out of there way to help and that made my stay that much better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We arrived at nite, very nice crew working here, good price, room was VERY, very clean. The hotel was close to Sequoia Hospital. The hotel really did have a good location. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: The king size bed we had was located at the back of the building overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Redwood City hotels
0.8 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
33 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,463 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#4 of 17 in Redwood City
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Redwood City
Courtyard Redwood City
#11 of 17 in Redwood City
28 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Suites
1.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Inn

Address: 316 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94062-1724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Price Range: $113 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the peaceful environment of Redwood City. Twenty-five minutes from downtown San Francisco, this pleasant community lies on the Bay Area's West Peninsula, adjacent to Stanford University and Silicon Valley. Redwood City is home to the pine forest of Huddart Park, a mountainous preserve which offers visitors a relaxing and picturesque setting for hiking and picnicking. Walking down Redwood City's cobblestone Main Street, one is able to get a taste of San Francisco style, while actually being in a quaint and small town. Cafes, novelty shops, and fine restaurants coupled with beautiful natural surroundings are the elements of charming Redwood City that will truly enhance your stay here. Your stay at the BEST WESTERN Inn is sure to be a memorable one in this picturesque setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Redwood City
Best Western Redwood City
Redwood City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing