We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lousy Iced Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We chose to stay at Sofitel because it was between the holidays of Christmas and New Years, and they were running a very good special. The hotel was nearly empty. It was a very quiet spot, very near the airport, and only twenty minutes from downtown San Francisco. Parking was ample and close to the hotel. The staff was very courteous and the choice of snacks in the snackbar was above average. There were plenty of computers to use in the lobby which I loved.

Our room was clean and well appointed, however a bit dated with it's popcorn ceilings and old furniture and nineties color scheme. The beds were comfortable however, with a nice comforter and great pillows. We had a great TV too. I didn't really like the handicap railings in the bathroom. I think they gave us the handicap room since we got such a great deal on the room.

The restaurant had a nice selection of food however it was over priced. The bread was really delicious, but the iced tea was probably the worst I have ever had, and I love iced tea. Lunch was better than breakfast, and again it was over priced for the location. I have had cheaper and better meals in fancier restaurants in the city.

Overall it was a nice quiet pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,173 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2008

Like many large hotels, the lobby is nice, the staff is courteous and helpful but the rooms look like an 80's motel! I had a "junior suite" which was a large, odd shaped room divided by a half wall. It did have great views of the lagoon from three large windows. The furniture and carpets are old and worn as are the TVs. I didn't sit on the sofa in the living room because it looked really nasty. Speaking of nasty, the hot water in the bathroom sink ran very brown for a long time! On the plus side, towels and linens were nice quality and the bed was very comfortable and parking is free. Perhaps the strangest thing was that the bedside lights are controlled by a switch in the entry which also controls the entry light!!

Next time I'll stay at one of the "budget" hotels nearby because, honestly, the rooms aren't that different but the price is!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dcm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

Rather than drive home after a holiday dinner, my husband and I elected to remain on the Penninsula. We chose Sofitel based on its fine reputation as well as proximity to our relatives. We felt we were in the hands of gracious hosts and our surroundings were gentle and lovely. Room service was perfect. The bar was excellent. Our room cozy and warm. A more than delightful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tru_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2008

The Hotel's location is OK if your plan is to visit Redwood City, but a little to far from San Francisco itself. The staff was good. The room of a nice size, the bedding excellent. Observation: the carpet of our room needed to be changed, as it was worn as well as dirty. I did not expect this from a Sofitel Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Letsgoblues1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

As I travel to Redwood a lot for business I've tried most of the local hotels, and have found Sofitel to be my favourite.
The big downside is the location, other than convenience for local businesses I can't see any reason I'd want to stay there and I move out for weekends.
But if you need to be in the area the Sofitel offers good facilities, a nice restaurant (just don't expect to get breakfast in a hurry), and comfortable rooms. The staff are courteous and helpful.
The hotel puts in some French touches such as calling me Monsieur which I find rather bizarre, but I'd happily recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

I stayed here for a week for work and found the hotel above average, but not spectacular. The room was a little bit dated, but of good size and comfortable. I wouldn't stay here for a holiday, but it was just fine for a work trip. There is plenty of parking, the service at the hotel was fine, the location was perfect for me. The only downside to staying here is that there is absolutely NOTHING to do in the evening time without a car. I'll stay here again as I think its the best hotel in the area for work, but I wouldn't stay here for a holiday.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank TCP-GDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

I am writing this review as a business traveler (which I think is true for most individuals who stay in this hotel given its location). I work for one of the large companies near the Sofitel.

The room was large, clean, and very comfortable. I really enjoyed the view overlooking the lake. Bottled water was included, which I thought was a nice touch. There was no refrigerator or mini bar, though. The bed was very comfortable. My room was next to the elevator shaft, which made it somewhat noisy, so avoid this if you can. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

Since I was at a conference, my party and I spent some time in the lounge talking business. Since a number of us were from different locations around the world, we all needed to pay our tabs separately for corporate billing purposes. Our waitress rudely refused to do this and told us it was too much work for her. We were left to work it out for ourselves. It was, I felt, unprofessional.

Since I was traveling on business, I called my wife each night. I wish I had Skype or something because the hotel charged $10 a minute for each call, even if I only got to her voicemail! Avoid using the phone in this hotel. The rates are ridiculous.

I made these comments on my comment card at the end of my stay and they emailed a response to me promptly telling me they were looking into my concerns. I did email them back a few days later to see if they were going to refund the money for my phone calls or even apologize for the rude service in the bar. I never did hear back, so I am going to assume my company's business is not all that important to them.

Other than the two concerns noted above, objectively speaking it was a decent hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Devo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
207 reviews
0.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Redwood City
Courtyard Redwood City
#11 of 17 in Redwood City
27 reviews
3.2 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
30 reviews
11.1 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman San Francisco Bay

Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Dr, Redwood City, CA 94065-1414 (Formerly Sofitel San Francisco Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range: $117 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pullman San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing