We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for business” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman San Francisco Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Concord, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location for business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We go to the Bay Area for business a couple if times a year and the Sofitel is a great location to be able to access San Francisco and the Valley. The hotel is easy to get to and when you get there, you will be delighted.

For a reasonable rate, the rooms are great, the food is very good (breakfast was delicious AND low calorie) and the service is excellent. The bar area is a great place to meet for a small bite or a drink.

Best of all, if there is any issue, it is quickly taken care of with a smile. I got a room that was very hot.........the engineer came to try to fix it, but told me it would take a while to cool down, so offered me a new room. No questions asked, just very pleasant.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    481
    203
    89
    43
See reviews for
252
293
114
581
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Willits, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the sofitel as part
Of a convention. We were greeted by the most charming
Front
Desk clerk and made to feel very welcome. Room was clean and very comfortable. Unfortunately did not
Get
To really enjoy the property because of
Being
Busy with convention but I would
Certainly stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Dear Rodrigues,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
142 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I've stayed in a number of Sofitel properties in the US and Europe and this one lacks the special atmosphere I've found elsewhere. Front desk greeting was not the usual "bonjour" French hospitality. Rooms are just OK, but a bit on the tired side as are hallways and public spaces. The bed needed a new mattress and for the price point I expected more. Location is very handy for local tech companies.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevator or plan on using ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winwolf56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

If you would like to further discuss your experience with us please feel free to e-mail us at H0922@sofitel.com

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had to call down to the front desk or stop in multiple times to try and rectify the disappointments on our stay here. Within minutes of checking into our room we had to call and request a move as the room reeked of smoke and gave me an asthma attack. The hotel offered an air cleaner initially and finally when told that this was affecting my health switched our room. The refrigerator ordered weeks in advance was unavailable to accommodate supplies we needed to have refrigerated. We finally received it on our last night. The group room rate we booked with was often $30 a night more than their best quoted daily rate on their website. The parking fee was exhorbitant. We had to ask 3 times for our room to be cleaned and it was finally partially cleaned at 8pm on that day. The day before they didn't replenish our in room coffee supplies. They shorted us inroom supplies the day before. In addition we emailed the manager to which we had no response. When we finally talked to a manager on duty in person we were offered a discount of our cheapest night which in effect for the entire bill only saved us $50. Upon checkout we were not asked how our stay was or greeted with any warmth despite being very pleasant and polite for each one of our complaints. The hotel is nice to look at and a ritzy French vibe but you won't find warmth and professional competent attention here. Next time I will stay at a moderate hotel where they work harder to keep my business and are more consistent with the very basics of hotel accommodation. We are very disappointed with our stay here and the lack of responsiveness from the staff.

Room Tip: if you choose to stay here anyway (and don't), request a room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writemeariver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

If you would like to further discuss your experience with us please feel free to e-mail us at H0922@sofitel.com

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

There is only one reason why you would stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay: you are on business trip and your company has an office located in Redwood City. If it's not the case and you wish to enjoy what San Francisco has to offer, this hotel isn't for you: located too far away from the city, with absolutely nothing within walking distance, this is a business hotel with a lot of comfort and a nice bar, but it stops there.

Sadly, as with many hotels in the USA, the internet access is really slow, which doesn't help when you're trying to work over there. Besides that, it is a good business hotel, not over-delivering but still comfortable.

Green Features: No recycling in the room, no real proof that the hotel is actually doing anything environmentally-friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowyBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

If you would like to further discuss your experience with us please feel free to e-mail us at H0922@sofitel.com

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, KS
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel for the price. The bay view is amazing (request a view of the bay; otherwise you get a view of the office complex).

The room featured a very nice view (5th floor) and was modern, clean and lovely. There was no fridge in the room, although there was a Keurig. We did have trouble with a movie we ordered, but the hotel made it right. Housekeeping did a wonderful job, right down to the folded points on the toilet paper.

We did not swim in the pool because of the outside temperature while we were there, but it looks very nice and there is a nice view from the pool area.

We did not eat at the restaurant, although it looked nice. (On the day we planned to eat breakfast there the fire alarms went off and the entire hotel had to be evacuated for about an hour. Turns out a bride hung her wedding dress on a sprinkler head which caused the sprinklers to go off on the entire wing. Bad news for the hotel...and her wedding.) There is a coffee shop in the hotel which makes a very good latte and has some great pastries. My advice is to stop there on your way out because there is no other place anywhere nearby to get coffee!!

We LOVED this location, although we did have our own rental car because we wanted to visit other areas besides downtown SF. It is in the same complex as the Oracle headquarters just off the highway (but very, very quiet). It does cost $20 per day (NON valet) to park in the hotel's garage, but it was worth it to have our own car.

Incidentally, we were impressed at how well the staff handled the evacuation/smoke alarm issue. They were apologetic, friendly and professional. We learned later that the issue was actually on our own floor but we didn't know it until we left. To me, this means they handled the situation discreetly with minimal disruption to the other guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay on an upper level for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I frequently visit the San Francisco bay area and this hotel is always our favorite. We bring our pet, who is welcomed by all the staff and treated well. We went to Half Moon Bay which is only a 20 minute drive from the hotel and enjoyed a pleasant day at the only leash free beach from South San Francisco all the way to Santa Cruz. Also within minutes are many class restaurants and easy access to Hwy 101. An additional feature at the Sofitel is the walkways along the waterways of the San Francisco Bay. The only downside on this trip was the power was shut down one day from 9 am to 4 pm, and without the air ventilation the room became very stuffy and we had to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms facing east get sunny and warm quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Bonjour

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#4 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
0.8 mi away
HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman San Francisco Bay

Property: Pullman San Francisco Bay
Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Dr, Redwood City, CA 94065-1414 (Formerly Sofitel San Francisco Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pullman San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing