We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great stay ata Sofitel San Francisco/Redwood City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    486
    206
    93
    43
See reviews for
256
298
115
586
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I usually visit this place once a month as its very convenient to my HQ office. The rooms are a really good size, and staff are always very friendly and attentive. I once got a room next to the elevator (pretty noisy during the night), and complained - they moved me straight away and since then I am always situated as far away from the elevator as possible (very good CRM!). Bar is small but again staff are great. Restaurant is good although menu doesnt change frequently which becomes a little annoying if you travel alot! Even has a nice sized pool. Great stop over place although if you are using as a base to get to the city it is a little far away. For a 4* hotel I think this offers great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask if you are near the elevator, can be noisy during the night so as long as you are 3 rooms away i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Bonjour!
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you are enjoyed the service, the ambience of the hotel and to see the staff has been efficient and gave you another room to have a quiet stay with us.
I won’t forget to give your feedback to the Chef regarding the suggestions on the menu and the frequency of the changes.
I will share your comments with the rest of the team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The staff here are true professionals, they know what they are doing and they do it well. We stayed here for a week for my husband's work and this hotel is very clean, modern, well equipped and is run very well to make it easy for guests to get on with their day. It is a little isolated but the front desk offered to organize a rental car and Enterprise dropped the car off for me and picked it up a week later - no problems at all. All the meals we had were very good and the wait staff were friendly, the prices are a little high but it's a hotel so it's not a surprise.
We always stay in a room with a safe but due to the recent renovations the regular rooms don't have safes yet so we had to upgrade to a suite, it was nice to have the extra space and they didn't charge much for it so we were happy.
We will stay here again, it's nice to stay in a hotel that is so well run.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank VKinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Bonjour!
The entire Sofitel San Francisco Bay team would like to THANK YOU for your lovely message and great compliments.
It is really a great reward for all of us to see how deeply you enjoyed staying with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxury service. I am glad to see you could enjoy the our Front Desk Services. If you have the opportunity to come back to the Sofitel San Francisco Bay, we will do our best to fulfill any request that you may have.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for choosing us and for taking time to share your experience. We hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Sofitel San Francisco Bay.
Sincerely,
John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights while working in San Mateo. I was very pleased with the service and helpfulness of the staff. The only downside is that the standard rooms do not have safes at present. So if you want a safe in your room you have to upgrade to a suite or wait until September when apparently they are being installed. Very quiet location to chill out, but no external restaurants nearby. A car is a wise choice if you are here for any length of time and can be organized through the front reception. Will come back.

Room Tip: Further away from the elevators is more quiet and where they put the cabin crews who stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Bonjour!

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Regarding the safes indeed we are working on it but we have also some safes available at the front desk for guests are staying in regular rooms.
For your next stay if you would like to rent a car the Concierge or the Front Desk can rent it for you. The rental car's company who is working with us can deliver the car directly to the hotel and they can come to pick it up.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar General Manager Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed there on two different occasions (business trips), and have found the guest rooms consistently very restful. My most recent stay was mid July this year.

The lobby and the bar/lounge areas are very echo-ey, and having dinner in the adjacent area was not as relaxing as it should be. Not for people looking to have a quiet dinner at the end of a long day at work or those wanting to have intimate meals. Our waiter was excellent, though, and that was consistent with the Sofitel quality we have come to expect.

The vegetarian dinner was pricy enough, but nothing special. I would have expected this dining room to outdo what I would make at home. Perhaps the chef skimped on one of the special ingredients that made the item alluring on the menu page in pursuit of "subtlety"???? The veges were overcooked and one-dimensional. I didn't make an issue of it because I was tired and needed to finish dinner and get to sleep. I did appreciate the offer of a couple of vegetarian options.

I had trouble with room wifi on the second night - and the hotel staff provided the timely help I needed. I had no problem the first night, but on the second day when I selected the hotel wifi my laptop was showing good signal strength, but the Internet heading on my laptop was showing "no Internet access" and I was not able to even get to the hotel website. The guest services sent for help and the staff came up to my room to help, but seeing what was going on called the provider and got them to rectify things from their end. It was timely and efficient help. That was just the second day and I never had the same issue again.

This is a professionally run hotel, on the whole excellent for business travelers with professional expense accounts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naoko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Bonjour!

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay.
It is always a pleasure to receive feedback in order to help us to improve our service. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I will not only share your comment, with our Chef, regarding to our vegetarian menu but I will also make sure it is up to Sofitel’s food standards. Moreover, please accept my sincerely apologies for the troubles you encountered with the Wi-Fi connection in your guest room. I am thrilled to hear that the front desk was efficient enough to fulfill your needs. We hope you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, we hope you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#4 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman San Francisco Bay

Property: Pullman San Francisco Bay
Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Dr, Redwood City, CA 94065-1414 (Formerly Sofitel San Francisco Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pullman San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing