We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had a very nice experience in this hotel, the area is beautiful, very quiet and relaxing. Staff is very friendly, cafe in the lobby in fantastic-a lot of healthy choices there.Very well maintained and clean, nice ambience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Bonjour!

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am thrilled to read you have enjoyed our suggestions at the Market, some of them are french, so a kind of exceptions in the Bay Area.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
John Hutar
General Manager Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for Pullman San Francisco Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

I am staying here for a week for a -solo- flash work related trip (this is day 2 of 7). The service is OK, place is nice but the restaurant menu... the most boring and pretentious menu I've seen in a while. I am struggling not to order a burger or a new york steak, the rest of the menu consists in salads and though I haven't tried the sea food yet at this point I doubt it will worth my time (there is no pasta at the menu either). I am from Spain, the waiter suggested paella... really? paella? - the most annoying waiter ever - kept coming back to the table every 5 minutes to check if I needed something, PLEASE LET ME EAT IN PEACE. So far the experience hasn't been great, I feel ripped off and I am not even paying (the company I work for does). And the new york steak isn't great either so I am running out of options pretty quick, I'll keep hitting the menu all week long until I find something I'll enjoy eating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whereToNextNext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding night. I reserved the room with a special request of "it's our wedding night!". When we showed up, the room was made up for us with a tray of chocolate dipped strawberries that had "Congratulations!" written in chocolate. The Sofitel staff treated us really well and made our special night even better. The lounge and bar here is always top notch. If you want an upscale place to stay on the peninsula, Sofitel is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank dbdbdbdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. A wedding is a special day, we just wanted to make a special stay ! Congratulations on your wedding!

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We're huge Sofitel fans and often stay at this one when we want to have a nice date night out of the city.

Its clearly a business hotel but still has all of the typical Sofitel perks. The bar is great and all the food is wonderful in the morning, including the grab-and-go cafe in the lobby.

Every time we've stayed there the people at the front desk have been helpful and pleasant, although the bar staff can sometimes be a bit low key.

They also allow pets (if you care about that sort of thing).

Recently they have stared to charge for parking, which is absurd given the location and the prices they're charging.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank SirStick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you are a loyal Sofitel guest.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel - well maintained both inside and outside, and located along a scenic lagoon. This stay was for a single night only as I attended a conference at the Oracle office, but upon arrival I was given drink tickets, and had a snack waiting in my room - excellent after a long day of flying.

The only problem I had was that I'd placed my boss's reservation under my name as well - and he arrived two hours before me. As it was under my name, they didn't let him check in - understandable and actually a good safety measure!

My only recommendation is to have a car when you visit - there isn't much nearby to eat or shop at nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are stern on the safety measure but please accept my sincerly apologies for your boss because we know it's never pleasant to wait for check-in.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My impression from reading other information was that this would be a good hotel near the airport. There's nothing really wrong with the hotel but it didn't have the same level of comfort that we had come to expect from Sofitels in Asia. The elements were there but not the ambiance or cohesiveness of the overall experience. That being said, the details. You have to call for the airport shuttle after you arrive at the airport. It runs only once an hour leaving the hotel on the hour. We watched all of the other shuttles for hotels I had considered cycle through (some twice) before ours arrived. Unless you are just going back to the airport, you will need a car. The hotel does not provide transportation to the local train station. When I inquired about taking BART to San Francisco, the concierge told me that for two people, renting a car would be a cheaper alternative as a one way ticket was $18 per person and a taxi to the station would be $10-12. Unfortunately the concierge didn't have any info on renting cars although she said Enterprise delivered to the hotel. Self-parking at the hotel is $20 per night which is a little offensive since the parking garage is only for guests, there are no other transportation options and the location is not in an area where parking is unheard of. The shuttle driver, when he came to the airport, was very nice and offered us bottles of water.

Our international flight came in at 10 pm. By the time we checked in at the hotel, it was close to midnight. Apparently all outside food deliveries cease at 11 pm on weeknights. We finally opted for room service. The late night menu was limited but the veggie sandwich was surprisingly good for that time of night. Room service breakfast the next morning as also very tasty. We had both eggs and pancakes with no complaints.

The room was VERY quiet and the bedding very comfortable. The room had a complimentary coffee maker. The bathroom could use some renovation. There were black parts of the grouting and the tub looked old. The two shower head options were very nice as was the water temperature. There was an empty standalone refrigerator and nice bathrobes. We found the complimentary internet sufficient for email, internet browsing and whatever online game my son was playing.

After renting a car to go to the city, I found the hotel easy to find on the return. There are small eateries, a grocery store and a drug store within a mile but not on the way to the hotel. My impression is that the hotel is located in a business area. To get the hotel from highway 101, you turn right at the Oracle building.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEAPexplorer012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Sadly, I was only here for one night with my newlywed husband. Our room was huge - foyer, living room with Keurig coffee maker, big bathroom with separate bathtub and shower, and king bed with the softest mattress, pillows and comfortable imaginable. There is a lovely view of the lake from the patio area, where the pool is also located. The location is isolated, which is good or bad depending on what your looking for. (Good for relaxation, bad if you are looking for tourist attractions.) At $145/night, I thought it was well worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sabrina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Bonjour!

The entire Sofitel San Francisco Bay team would like to THANK YOU for your lovely message and great compliments.

It is really a great reward for all of us to see how deeply you enjoyed staying with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxury service with French flair.

Thank you again for choosing us and for taking time to share your experience. We hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Sofitel San Francisco Bay.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Redwood City
Courtyard Redwood City
#11 of 17 in Redwood City
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
0.8 mi away
HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores
2.5 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#4 of 17 in Redwood City
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman San Francisco Bay

Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Dr, Redwood City, CA 94065-1414 (Formerly Sofitel San Francisco Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range: $145 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pullman San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing